We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth paying for a taxi!”
Review of El Charco

El Charco
Ranked #42 of 210 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Isla Mujeres
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth paying for a taxi!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I own a hotel in Centro (downtown) Isla Mujeres, and when my guests want an "authentic" dining experience, I always send them out to Daysi and Raul. This is local Mexican food at it's best, served tasty and fresh with a large helping of hospitality and smiles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    24
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This place is all about the food, great tasting Mexican food. We had the empanadas, chicken fajitas and pork tacos. Delicious! You get to help yourself to complimentary sides (refrained beans, potatoes, salsa, hot sauces). Fantastic value for money. Don't expect frills from the place, it's basic, but like I said...this place is all about great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoisinDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST food on Isla”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I love the food at El Charco. Deysi and Raul are the owners and are so nice, so friendly to everyone who comes in. He is the chef, and everything he cooks is so good. I LOVE his caldo do pollo (chicken soup). I have lived here for a long time, and it is still my favorite place for good Mexican food. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isla mujeres
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“El Charco..the best authenic Mexican food on Isla Mujeres...”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I never fail to go away full & pleased. Raul is a master & Desyi the best..Chicken Fahitas are the tastiest I have ever had...
A great menu with a charming buffet of Desy's special papas & beans...In La Gloria...don't miss it if you visit Isla...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IslaMujeresMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic and Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I drove out to El Charco on one of the nights we'd rented a golf cart. As others have stated, it's in the La Gloria neighborhood and is super easy to find with the Mapchick Map. (Be sure and get one of these maps and you'll never have a problem finding all the great places to eat!!) We both ordered tacos. Once they arrive, the owner instructs you to come over near the kitchen to a counter that is filled with fresh toppings...everything you can think of from lime wedges, beans, rice, guacamole, pico de gallo, sauces, etc. Everything was homemade and so fresh. Simple meal, but very good! This was a fabulously priced meal at about $190 pesos ($15 USD) for two meals and two cokes. I think they opened at 7 and were not quite ready for us when we arrived around 6:45. So, we drove around the south end for a bit and came back. Friendly owners, clean restaurant and traditional food!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Charco also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Charco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing