We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different place in touristic Isla Mujeres”
Review of Poc-Na Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poc-Na Hostel
Vilnius
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Different place in touristic Isla Mujeres”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was expected to spend a few quiet days in Isla Mujeres, but I was disappointed because this island is very very touristic. And this island is more american than mexican. But fortunately we discovered hostel Poc-Na - totaly different place, very cosy and quiet, with wonderful beach and hammocks, with many activities, with wonderful parties in the evenings, with best pina coladas, with surprises (especially when lithuanian greeting in the morning is on the Independence day). The room and shower were clean. The breakfast was good. Even I could spend few days in this island because of Poc-Na :) Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    223
    89
    53
    48
See reviews for
14
149
165
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palenque, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was so happy there, i did not want to leave!! We had a privat room, bis clean towels, two and two windows.
The food really good, fast and the drinks at bar were very good too. The beach is part of the youth hostel, during the day you can relax there in the hamocs looking at the palms and the bach. Actually you can swim there because of the currents, but the beautiful beach is just a 3 minutes walk away. The beachparty starts at 11 pm and from 9 pm there is live music. Two drinks 50 Pesos.
There is free yoga too, twice a day. Never done Yoga before, but I enjoyded lot. Can not
understandt the bad reviews.

Only manco: You can not there. But a meal is 60 Pesos and thats the average price at Riviera Maya.

Wish you a grat time there, whether you wanna join the parties or :D POC:NA!!

Room Tip: Stay at least three days and get a privat room! For two people it not so expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've heard so much good things about Poc'na before I got there. That it's was a really good place for party and meet people (most of them backpackers). Well, I was disapointed. In fact, it's more like an hotel than an hostel. The price are expensive, even for the dorms (And it was low season). I know it is Isla Mujeres and everything's expensive but for what we got, it was a lil bit ridiculous. Also, the fact we can't bring alcohol and food in the hostel and there's no acces to the kitchen was really not a good thing. The alcohol was more expensive there than buying it in the stores near it but we couldn't take beers from outside inside, we could only if we were sneaking by the beach. The staff was kinda cold with us. Not really into knowing their clients. Parties were a lil boring, but like I said it was low season. Sometimes there were just no one, but the music was really loud when everybody was in fact sleeping. BUT, the cleaning ladies were really nice and they were doing a really good job. The view from the hostel was quite beautiful and the hammocks place outside is juste so nice. I was probably disapointed after all the good reviews I had and read about Poc'na, but 3 days there was way too long for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camnado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I think I had a rather different experience to some travellers based on the other reviews I had read. When I stayed, the hostel was quite quiet (possibly due to stormy weather the previous week). This did not stop the music - there was live music from around 9-11pm every night and then a beach party from 11pm onwards. However, neither was particularly raucous - I managed to sleep fine.

Aside from the night-life, I did not find this hostel especially good or bad. Rooms were quite small and a bit shabby, but clean and comfortable enough. Breakfast was fairly meagre - just tea/coffee, toast and fruit.

Location is pretty good - close to the centre of town and on the beach (although hostel's land does not extend to the sea itself - there is a fence about 20m up the beach from the sea, with a gate which is open by day but locked at night. Also there is a sign warning not to swim in the sea there due to dangerous currents, so if you're desperate for somewhere where you can jump straight from your bed into the sea, maybe look elsewhere).

I found the reception staff perfectly nice and friendly and had no problems with them.

The lack of kitchen facilities for guests is a bit annoying for budget-minded travellers. The on-site restaurant is OK - slightly cheaper than most places in town, but the food isn't always great.

There is wifi but it seems a bit tempermental, and there are no computers available for guest use so you have to bring your own laptop or other device.

Has free yoga classes twice a day which I enjoyed - the instructor is a really friendly British guy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

PROS -
>great place to meet other backpackers...
>Perfectly located with ocean-view garden.
>Go there if you want to meet other people and be part of a group which changes every day +/- 15 people...
>Greg, the yoga teacher is an extraordinary friendly and lovely person...

CONS -
>The staff is not friendly, you wont be treated well unless you speak fluent spanish
(they look quite busy all the time, but a smile from time to time or interest in their guests wouldnt hurt, though!)
>The party goes all night long, so join it or leave the place
> The breakfast is a joke, its toasts with butter and jam only (besides some apples that look not too young)

Room Tip: If you are 2 people, you pay the same for a private as for a 6- ppl dorm (300 pesos)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is just like high school place. Don't stay in the room next to the restaurant it's too noisy. This is more like a Cancun hotel than a hostel. Stay in and spend all you money here! Its a party place and if you don't mind having people having sex in the dorm its ok. Otherwise avoid it. I had to wait for more than 3 times for the receptions to stop looking at computer, playing with the dog or whatever to get attention. They are not really friendly and welcoming. They have live music almost every day at the restaurant that finished early, and that's good. The problem is that then the beach bar opens and there is very loud music till 2-4 in the morning, which is good if your drunk, but not if you're sober, you will be up all night. Specially if you are going for the sharks tour very early, its not good.

Its very close to the beach and has a nice area of hammocks. Overall its over priced and not that clean.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the rooms next to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

BEDBUGS!! my boyfriend and I got severly attacked by bed bugs.
When I use to think 'bed bugs' id think a couple little mosquito size bites but no SO BADLY BITTEN ALL OVER OUR BODIES!
My boyfriend would of easily had a couple hundred bites THAT TURNT INTO WELTS/MOUNDS. Looking at him made me feel upset. We KNOW IT WAS BED BUGS because we didnt have a mark on us before sleeping and woke up absolutely slaughtered.
Told the staff who didn't care at all! She didn't even glance at our marked bodies and said 'we could change room if we wanted'.
So upset w how this was resolved :-(

We're not 5 star classy ppl either we're v appreciative and kind, I just dont want anyone else to have to go through w this.

Pros:
Good location
Cool hammock garden

Cons:
Cant swim at the beach its on there is a sign saying not allowed n isnt nice
Breakfast is only bread n jam
Staff are a bit careless

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-Na Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Hostel

Property: Poc-Na Hostel
Address: Av. Matamoros | Esquina c/ Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Poc-Na Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poc-Na Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing