We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere, average hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poc-Na Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poc-Na Hostel
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, average hostel”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Poc Na for one night in a six room dorm. The hostel itself is very average. No A/C, rooms are not very clean, bathrooms even worse, beds were terrible, although I saw smaller and more private rooms that looked better. With all that, the hostel has the best atmosphere for travelers and backpackers on the island. It has a private beach area with hammocks, cheap food and drinks, discounts for activities all over the island, and a chill beach party every night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    215
    84
    52
    47
See reviews for
12
142
161
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is what a hostel should be like, great atmosphere and setting. Beach front location, hammocks and places to lounge; bar and good showers and bathrooms, even a dive shop! The rooms were okay, and colourful murals brighten up the place. Breakfast included and upgrades on your meal available. Friendly staff! Had free yoga sessions on the beach, and bands at night... my only reason not a 5 star is the noisy music late at night, but that may have been due to the holiday season. Will be back!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Badbushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

As far as hostels go you don't have much choice on Isla Mujeres. If you're wanting to party all night then you'll probably enjoy it here but for us it was a bit too over the top. There is (very loud) live music every night at the hostel bar from 9pm-2/3am. We are all for a bit of music and late nights and know that that's what you get at hostels, however every night was a little bit draining. It was also bit disappointing that you're not allowed to bring in any alcohol and there's no kitchen or fridge if you're wanting to do your own cooking. We also had bed bugs. Obviously that doesn't mean every bed has them but we were unlucky. We did have air con in our room (private $450mx per night) which was one really great feature and it was a modern unit that ran quietly. If you are looking at staying here and can fork out a bit extra I would recommend doing that as it's super hot and the dorms looked pretty heaty. All that said, it's really close to the beach and that's basically where you spent most of your time. There's an amazing restaurant near by called Olivia which has delicious food too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fritha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You can not get any better than this.... Poc Na is not just home away from home... It is home. It is amazing especially for backpackers traveling alone. I went in alone and came out with a family! They are great at making sure everyone is welcomed, and they have a great set-up. Movies at night or a magician, then a live band plays on the stage, and then you walk out back for the beach party and so much dancing! The dive instructors are really wonderful & I just can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here in a private room which was super basic, toilet smelt a little weird - but we had air con, and to be honest on Isla Mujeres you are out of your room all day enjoying the beautiful beaches! Poc na has great prices on drinks and reasonable food on the menu (due to their restaurant you cannot bring your own food or drinks in here). The bands each night were pretty good, and it's super sociable. If you go to Isla make sure you hire a golf cart and head off exploring! So much fun!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily_SmithNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place has bed bugs. I notified the staff, but they were so indifferent to any request I had that I doubt they did anything about it. I didn't like this hostel bc it was more expensive, but without the perks that most hostels have. For example, you have to make your own bed and then clean it as well. They have a live band every night, so don't expect to go to sleep before 10:30. The advantages though were that it was really close to the beach. However, this was not worth it compared to the amount of bed bug bites I had afterwards. I gladly would have avoided that experience. Bed bugs are not fun. For me I got all these huge welts on my body. I'm sure that they're bed bugs because the bites resembled them exactly, and I didn't see a single mosquito the whole time I was there. Also, when I first got there they have you put your sheets on the bed, so I was able to see on the mattress that there were these little black specks around the rim of the mattress that former research informed me to be an indicator of bed bugs. I didn't want to be too paranoid so I just ignored it. Sure enough the next day I had bites alllll over my body. And they were super, super itchy. Uff definitely avoid if you can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First of all, concerning bad reviews, you have to take some leave some. I never stayed in a hostel in my life and was a bit "concerned" the first time I stay there, but we had a good time. I was surprised by the cleanliness of the room, and public restrooms/showers area. I'm not fussy as to where I stay when I travel, as long as it's clean. And it was. Went to Isla mujeres plenty of times after but since I was travelling with my then boyfriend, we used to stay at Rocamar hotel near by, which is worth about 100 usd a night. But this time, me and a girlfriend decided to go, and have some fun on a budget, so I thought I might as well go back to Poc-Na and we both enjoyed it. It is true that the reception staff are not friendly, borderline rude, but hey, I didn't deal with them much anyway, only check in and check out, so that was not a problem to me. As for the dorm, we stayed in a 6 bunks dorm, it had it's private bathroom and shower and it cost us 165 pesos. Can't complain about that! You have big lockers, but they don't provide locks, you need to bring your own, and it needs to be a small one if not, it won't fit.They have plenty of hot water too, which is awesome, was not thinking to have that "luxury" in a hostel especially since this area is know to lack hot water, It was Easter weekend, so the place was full with people mostly from Europe. Me met all kind of people, it was really nice. We just sat there and people were coming over to chat, which was pretty cool as I can be a bit on the shy side if I don't know people. We chilled in the restaurant-bar area until 11, then headed to the beach bar where we danced the night away and met more people from all over. Party goes on until 3 then usually a bunch of people stay there and chat, which is cool. The next morning, we missed breakfast that stops at 10:30 because of our late night partying, but stroll down the street where that have loads of breakfast place for cheap. We spent the day at Playa Norte, that's about 5 minutes walking from the hostel. Overall, I was satisfied with my stay, already booked the end of May with some friends and looking forward to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-Na Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Hostel

Property: Poc-Na Hostel
Address: Av. Matamoros | Esquina c/ Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poc-Na Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing