We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Average Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Location, Average Room”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The best part about this hotel were the amazing views from the room and the fresh air that blows through lobby and hallways. Located on the northern tip of the island it would be nearly impossible to got get a room with an ocean or water view. One entire side of the hotel is a safe and shallow swimming/beach area that is kid or adult friendly with soft sand and crystal clear water. You would have to go out over 100 yards to reach deeper waters. This area is also very near the downtown area of Isla Mujeres where the majority of restaurants, bars, and shopping areas are. We walked every night to the downtown area and never were scared or felt unsafe. The only complaint I have about this hotel are the small, poorly lit rooms. There were only 2 of us with suitcases and there was barely enough room to move around, more than 2 people would have been challenging. There was no alarm clock and niether of the bedside lamps were fuctioning.

Room Tip: Ask for new section of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeachMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    710
    334
    190
    198
See reviews for
457
959
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had seen the hotel from the bay last year and made it a goal to come back-it is too bad that the incredible location is spoiled by such a gross hotel. The rooms were sad, lights not functioning, a/c unit a roaring behemoth in the corner. No reading lights, our "mattress" was actually the box springs of the next room's bed.
The wait staff focuses on gimmicks rather than service-the waiter bringing morning juice with the glass on his head was funny the first time but when we didn't tip enough(15%?) we got the post-tip snub. If you like Las Vegas style buffets full of cheap food, this place is for you. We couldn't get poolside service.
The very worst part was the activities director ruining what could have been a peaceful day with incessant music, singing into the microphone over the music and banal commentary. We asked to have the speakers turned down at least a dozen times and were met with hatefullness.
Our second night we tried to escape the noise by going across the bay to the lovely NaBalom hotel for dinner and the disco crap from the Avalon could be heard even there. So sad.
I *thought* Playa Norte was THE place to be on Isla, but we rented a golf cart one day and found that the rest of the island has many good sites. I would not recommend the hotel Avalon at any price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nmsewell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Mobile, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My family and I spent 2 weeks at the Avalon Reef May 14th-28th, 2011. It was wonderful for all. Scuba and snorkeling could be done from the property. From the time we arrived until departure, we were made to feel very comfortable. The staff was very
accommodating and was ready to assist whenever you need it.. The facial smiles and friendliness were plentiful. There is a fine group of employees working at The Reef, including housekeeping, restaurant servers, bar tenders, front desk staff, gardeners, supervisors, etc. If anyone disagrees with this statement, they have an attitude problem.
I cannot speak Spanish and some of the staff speak very little English, but we had fun with different ways of communication.
The food was delicious and the Pico de gallo and quacomole was the best on the island. There breakfast was outstanding having a large variety of food to select from.

The studios, suites, etc., were plainly decorated but they were clean and given fresh linens each day. There are no signs in the rooms asking you to reuse your towels or sleep on the same sheets. I sure hated to leave as always, but I intend to return within the year. My favorite place for a vacation.

Room Tip: The ocean view Villas give you spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1marya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My group consisted of my boyfriend, his sister, and her husband. Their family had traded their timeshare at the Maui Westin to book a week's vacation at the Avalon Reef.
During the morning of our flight I checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor...I wish we had done this sooner. I can't believe people gave this hotel even 2 stars.
Upon arrival (and after hearing multiple guests complain before us) we were given a room with an adjoining living room. This wouldn't have been so bad except we had specifically asked for two king size beds AND the living room had a love seat...that didn't miraculously transform into a bed. The staff member who came to assist us didn't really understand that there was NO way 4 people could be accomodated in this room.
Eventually we were taken to 2 king size rooms. They were just as disgusting as the first.
We were so disappointed we left after not even 24 hours.
I took pictures of how disgusting, unkempt, and rundown the rooms were. 15 years ago, these hotel rooms MIGHT have been decent. But rumour has it that the owner got caught by the American gov. for Ponzi schemes and the gov. has NOT kept up this resort.
The location is beautiful and we really were looking forward to putting around on scooters all over the island. But bright and early the next morning we were transferred to a hotel on mainland Cancun.
The beds were hard, mold was prevalent, stains decorated the walls/ceiling, and the air conditioning didn't turn off...ever.
I wouldn't put my worst enemy here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgsoccer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I had a wonderful time at Avalon Reef Resort, the staff was Fabulous, Diana was so helpful always tring to make the stay as comfortable as posible. Housekeeping was
great with any extra needs. The wait staff and resturant managers Alejandro, Joel and
all the help were fantastic. Diana even assisted when the transportation for the departure was mixed up. They made my stay seamless. The resort location is great, the ocean is
beautiful, an islet of the Island...perfect. I cannot wait to go back in September.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubafan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I stayed at the Avalon twice this year, once in Feb 2011 with my significant other and returned again in April to celebrate a friend's birthday. My son and his fiancee also were there at the same time in April. Both trips were just great and all of us agreed the Avalon is the best place to stay on the island. The location just can't be beat. You have the privacy of the resort and the easy access to the town which I think is the best of both worlds. I loved having the snorkeling right out your door in the lagoon and the King's Bath. We stayed in the villas which I think were quite comfortable. We requested a few missing items for our room on arrival (bedside reading light, microwave and additional chair for the balcony) and these were all cheerfully delivered on request. The breakfast buffet is very good and the other food/drinks we had there were also good and reasonably priced. In Feb. we signed up for their Valentine's Day Dinner special and I would have to say it was one of the most well prepared and well presented meals I have ever had. It included 4 courses, wine and was served at a table by the water. I even asked to thank the chef personally I was so impressed. The price was about $25 per person and I even got a rose. I have been coming to Isla for a number of years and have always enjoyed my stay at the Avalon. I think they have worked hard to maintain this place and I believe it has improved in the past few years. I think that the Avalon may not meet the standards of some who are needing more amenities but that's fine because they should stay somewhere else. I think it is important to remember that EVERYTHING on this island needs to be transported in by boat! This is Mexico and I love the experience that I always have when I come here. I am already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The Avalon Reef is tolerable only if you stay in a "villa," which isn't what it sounds like but is like a studio apartment in a 2-level building consisting of 4 such units.

I booked this hotel through Travelocity, which was charging $20 more per night to book a villa rather than the tower. I thought, "it can't be much better for only $20" and figured I'd just upgrade when I got there if the room was unbearable. Well, of course it was -- and when I told the front desk that I'd like to move to a villa, I was told that it would cost another $50 per night. "Online is different," I was told. Which I understand, but that's a big margin. I got them down to $40/night and made the switch. The villa featured ants, a hairy shower and a non-functioning microwave, but it was 20 times better than the tower room. As much as I don't go on vacation to hang out in my hotel room, the tower room was just awful and depressing.

Anyway, learn from my mistake: book the villa before you go. The villa didn't really enhance my vacation, but the tower room would have ruined it.

A tip I would give to the hotel's management is to just give guests wireless internet access for free, already. It's 2011. It's a small thing you could do that would make a big, big difference in how we perceive and remember your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puppimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Property: Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing