We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill every year.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have been a timeshare owner here for 9 years and every year we go it gets worse and worse. We have tried to find out what is going on but we only hear rumors, tax problems. We just came back from our trip on Dec. 17th 2011 and it is so sad at how the place is deteriorating. We paid and still pay really good money for this place. I absolutely love the location but the managment is not putting any money back into the property and hasn't for years even though we were promised they would fix all the problems. Our Villa was over by the Kings Bath which is very cool but the air conditioner didn't work, the fan didn't work,no bedside lamps makes reading an issue, the members services bar hour have been cut, the beds are so flippin hard it isn't even funny , it's like sleeping on a box spring seriously. The staff is wonderful considering whats going on there. We are really considering selling the timeshare and just renting a different Hotel on the Island. There are many much better than the Avalon...as long as you are on the Island you will have a great time. The North Beach is the bast area and it is so safe on the Island....go but just don't stay at the Avalon. P.S, the Members Guest Services Lady Sara Torez is geat and when we had issues she helped...really helped. So good luck, hope this helps.

Room Tip: Get a Villa on the Kings Bath side of the Resort, you get the sounds of the waves and an Ocean Breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timberskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you are looking for a quiete vacation away from the hustle of Cancun, this is the place for you. Located just steps from the Isla Mujeres markets, shops and restaurants. Ideal for the snorkeling enthousiast who can swim along the peer or the small reef all around the hotel. Renting a golf cart or a scooter will get you around the Island in no time. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had good variety. We stayed in the small condos or suites which were spacious, comfortable and clean. The kitchenet and fridge came in handy for chilling foods and beverages and the balconie had a beautifull sunset view. The property was well kept and the staff was friendly and helpfull (yes we did get a reading lamp upon asking).
It's definitely off the touristic path and not the party town.

Room Tip: Book the "suite" or "condo" which are more private and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcschubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

How about a small fridge in the room if I would of known this I would NOT of booked this hotel..No night light we have never been to a resort with NO night light??? How about some benches and or chairs out back to sit and listen to the ocean during the day or evening ?

The beach all though beautiful and the small bay by the bridge very nice for snorkeling it will not last this is not the hotels fault but a problem for Isla,,,Every day we were there for 2 weeks hundreds of day trippers mostly locals, after 11 am till 3pm are dropped off near the Avalon and all walk in the water with bags of crackers and feed the fish..I would not even go in the water when all these people arrived I told the wife it was one big toilet then. Good thing there is a current to wash all this trash out after the hundreds of people have left..I found many of pieces of glass snorkeling here..
.
We bought the breakfast plan and thought it was a good deal it made for an easy start to the day but ate luch at the Na Balam across the bridge very nice food there at around $20.00 usd for 2 including 2 drinks and tip...And ate in town for dinner some very nice restarants there Picus being my favorite.

Nice beach chairs and umbellas on the property always felt safe and all employees were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were always very clean with new sheets and bedspread every day thank you to the maids who cleaned our room..

Bought some drinks at the resort store but found them way over priced...Resort Does Not include coffee in room or bottle water kinda cheap for the price we paid the management should look at some of these complaints serously..Also wi-fi is free all over the island but $15.00 a day?? here. Across the bridge at the Na Balam restarant where we ate for $20.00 usd a day for lunch free wi-fi so it basicly paid for a free lunch for us.

The resort gives out a paper and it's posted all over NO FOOD or Drinks Allowed at the pool or beach unless bought at the hotel..Small water 30 peso's ?? We bought a whole gallon just around the corner for 20 peso's..Come on if a customer is Paying $ 100.00 - $ 350.00 a day for a room let them chose where they will spend thier money.

Also NO Balcony's in standard rooms only in the very end units these are wonderful and I would stay in one of these any time..Nice kichen , jacuzzi on the balcony full living room these are beautiful.

We would and will return to Isla but not to this hotel until these issues are resolved.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for bungalows with balcony or end units in the main building...Standard room has no ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmy_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Avalon Reef is a dichotomy, but in the end its superior location is overcome by its incredibly poor guest management. We offer a fairly broad perspective as we rented four villa studio rooms for our extended family of eight.

The good. The small island connected to Isla Mujeres is beautiful. Surrounded by crystal-clear waters, with a constant refreshing breeze, it offers a bit of an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the nearby town, which is within easy walking distance. The main hotel and the villas create a strong foundation for an excellent resort. The opportunity is totally lost, however, by extremely poor management.

The bad. We had four rooms rented, so we were able to effectively compare everything that was missing and broken in each of the rooms. My son’s room was missing its refrigerator, microwave, blender, bed-side lamps and coffee machine. The safe was broken and the light bulbs for both the entryway and patio were burned out. Our room, which was next door, was missing its desk, side table, bedside lamps and the patio light bulb was burned out. The only lights that did work were two florescent bulbs that were literally screwed into bare sockets in the ceiling (no covers or shades), creating all the warmth of a laundromat. Our other two rooms were also missing various pieces of furniture, light bulbs, etc. All four rooms had only sheets on the beds, and only one of the rooms had a blanket in its closet. These villas are beautiful on the outside (except for the housekeeping cart that staff inexplicitly parked outside our villa’s front door for our entire 5-day stay), but the villas insides and their furnishings have all the charm of a small 1950s trailer home with missing and broken pieces. It’s mind-numbing that management tries to save a few dollars here and there and as a result turns a remarkable property into one that should be avoided. Frankly, I’ve never seen such contrasts in one location. Hopefully someday a new owner will invest a little money, hire decent management, and turn this place around. Until then, find someplace else to stay.

Side notes. The little town has many restaurants from which to choose. As a general rule, stay away from those in the hotels as you can get much better food at less cost elsewhere. An exception to this rule is Da Luisa in a hotel Casa Ixchel, which offered a fantastic meal and atmosphere. The restaurants on the town’s main drag (Hidalgo) are decent, but the barkers trying to “sell” you from the street are very annoying (we found the better places don’t need anyone trying to fast-talk potential customers). Olivia offered a great dinner and the Rooster was also very good, especially for breakfast. As for shopping, we didn’t see much of note on the island. A lot of tourist traps with t-shirts, etc. (once again with barkers doing their best to annoy everyone within shouting distance) but little of real value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BaxterK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The Avelon is like a beautiful sister who became a crack addict. Each year we return to see her more withered and less healthy.
As another reviewer said, they are now using sheets on the bed that are eight inches too short. We have a one bedroom timeshare there and now there are no longer bedside lamps. Web have large towels but no regular face towels or handtowels.
No longer is Tina there who was the membership director. The activities director is gone. One day they had no beach towels when the resort was only half filled, so they are short on help in the washing sept. The free drinks for members which used to go to 5:00 PM is now to 4:00 PM.
On the positive side it is still the nicest location on the Island. The staff is friendly and helpful. I believe it is as safe as anywhere on the Island.
If you can role with the punches and don't expect 4 or 5 star accommodations or service, it is a nice experience.
The downtown is but a 15 minute walk away with excellent food and experiences.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mnguy48Sartell_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We visited the Avalon Reef Club from 10-17 Dec 11 for the 9th time in 8 years. It continues to go down hill. I think as an owner, we deserve to understand what is going on with the place. We initially bought into the timeshare plus we pay ~$700/year in maintenance fees. Where's the maintenance? The following things were wrong with our studio villa upon our arrival: shower drain plugged; filthy around the sink faucet (I cleaned); TV with very poor picture quality; no bed-side lamps; ceiling fan wouldn't stay on unless the light stayed on; air conditioner didn't work very well; no clock; phone didn't work; no hangers in the closet; no microwave; no silverware; glass pane missing in table; and the toilet was plugged. We gave the front desk a very long list of things that were wrong, and they got most of them fixed in the first couple of days. Except we only received one shabby bed-side lamp and no clock was ever provided. What a hassle!!

Unfortunately, it is not a good way to start your vacation! Every year, we are told improvements will occur in the following year, and they are not. We don't understand why the place continues to fall in disrepair and what the plan is for the future. Is it in bankruptcy or what?

We wouldn't have purchased a timeshare 8 years ago if the Avalon Reef Club was in its current condition. We feel betrayed by the people who sold the timeshare to us. Our intent was to sell some of our weeks to try to recover some or all of our initial timeshare investment, but we can't now due to disappointing prospective vacationers.

We love the island and the Avalon Reef Club is in an ideal location. It has so much potential, and it saddens us to hear the rumors (not knowing which ones are true); hear other owners complain about their experiences at the Avalon Reef Club; and know that our investment has greatly deteriorated since we made our investment.

If the Kelly family is still involved, I wish they'd sell the Avalon Reef Club to a company who would give it the attention and money it needs to improve it to a place that you'd enjoy staying at without hassles.

I will say the staff did everything they could to try to improve the situation. You get the impression they are very limited as to what they can do to improve the facility. One hand tied behind their backs--limping along. I feel sorry for the staff because they get so many complaints!

If you have low expectations, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You can't beat the Villas for location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed two nights at the Avalon. We read the reviews before so the only surprise was that it was nicer than some who critiqued it. Yes, it is not a four star, but it was clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the island and this property is in a handy location to Hidalgo Street which is filled with restaurants. The room was large and it had a spectacular view.The king bed was hard, but we liked it that way. There was a bottle of water in the room, but bring some more water as there is a charge beyond this first bottle. The property and rooms were "tired" and in need of updating and paint, but we knew that. Our only complaint was the shower sprayed all over, but there was ample hot water. The beach was nice with lounge chairs. We found the staff to be very helpful. We did not eat at the restaurant as there are great restaurants within walking distance. Overall, it was satisfactory for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauracharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £159 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing