We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got back......had a blast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just got back......had a blast!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My daughter and I just got back from the Avalon and we had a BLAST! Great location and the resort grounds (pool, beach, etc.) are amazing!! It is true it is not a superior resort and could use some updating but worth every penny I paid and more. Can't comment on the food, ate in town the entire stay. Drinks at the bar a little pricey. Customer service top notch........had a room in the tower. Beds were very hard so they brought up bed toppers which were great. We ended up with NO hot water/pressure so went to front desk, they immediately sent up a bellman and moved us to a villa, which was beautiful with great hot water/pressure. Loved our trip and would stay at the Avalon again!! One thing I wish they would change would be only giving one free water bottle at the beginning of your stay, water should be given everyday.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTolerGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback! We will take your comments real serious and work your suggestions to get better for next time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    678
    321
    189
    194
See reviews for
437
906
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Have read earlier revues, and yes the hotel sometimes have problem with the hot water.
And yes, they charge a lot for using wi-fi. And yes the air-con is everything but silent.
But exept for that we kind of liked this hotel.
Rooms are better than expected. The view from our room was superb and the hotel is spotted perfectly on the beach, and just a short walk from the main street with all the restaurantes etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
1 Thank Lykkeliten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comments, you can trust that this review its really helpfull for us, so thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Last year for New Years 2010 me and my boyfriend traveled to Isla Mujeres and stayed at the Avalon Reef for 7 nights and we were extremely happy with our stay! The hotel is located on its own island which gives you this romantic castaway feel!

Keep in mind that if you plan on staying at the Avalon Reef upgrade to a villa!! We stayed in one facing the kings bath and it was amazing! the sound of the waves at night is the best feeling and a great way to fall asleep! Also, do not do the all-inclusive, the island has a wide variety of restaurants (and cheap, but good food!).

So if you want to go to Cancun and want to truly experience the Mexican Caribbean we recommend you stay here and not the 5 star Americanized hotels!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslieg1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Dear guest,
thank yo for your comments, we are happy you had a good experience at the Reef. Its good to read how much you liked our little hideaway, please let us know when you plan your next vacation, so we can have you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I have been very confused about reading many of the reviews here about the Avalon Reef hotel. We stayed for 6 days in December/January and didn't have a single thing to complain about. Location is perfect as many acknowledge. We stayed in a tower, had a nice and clean room and nothing to complain. Water pressure and hot water wasn't like at home but no major problems with it either.

I would recommend this to anyone who is not a pampered one and with normal and rational expectations you won't be disappointed. If you expect for 5-star service in everything go somewhere else. If you are a traveller who is not disturbed by every single little thing, don't be afraid to choose Avalon Reef.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pekkapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for being so kind to us. Please let us know if you come back to Avalon Reef.
It would be our pleasure to have you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

For a hotel to have no hot water and no ability (or concern) to restore it, is unbelievable in this day and age ! Food service can only be characterized as sub par. How "Trip Advisor" could evaluate this facilityas "superior" remains a mystery!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Rooms in the tower are dark, dingy, smelly and NOT as advertised. We checked in to our room and immediately requested a new room. The second wasn't smelly, but the toilet leaked a puddle on the floor the whole time. There was no shower curtain. We had just one towel on check-in. There was a dead cockroach at the end of the bed. The window was bolted so that it could only be opened an inch. There was just an ice bucket (no fridge) and you had to leave the hotel via elevator, go through the lobby and outside to the bar/restaurant with your bucket to get ice from the reluctant staff. A pain in a hot climate when you need water to stay hydrated. Coffee/tea maker in room as advertised but had to PAY for coffee. No clock/radio as advertised. Room was noisy because there was a fan or something outside that buzzed constantly. The "American meal plan" we paid for was confusing. Staff told us we could only have ONE thing for 7 days. had to wear wristbands that labelled us as non-all-inclusive and thus we were virtually ignored by staff. Not once did we get beach service when sitting in the chaise lounges at the hotel. The location is beautiful but the room is terrible. It's not what is promised, which is what makes it so disappointing. If I knew I was booking a 1-star, then it would be appropriate, but not for what was paid. We were mislead and ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raincoast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, please be certain that we will look into this. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We just returned from 1 4-night stay at the Avalon Reef, and enjoyed it immensely. I have been to Isla on 3 occasions but this was our first time at this resort. We loved it!

I would give only 4 words of advice to anyone going there: Upgrade to a suite! The rooms in the main building are so-so at best; our first night was spent in a 15 x 15 foot bare-bones room above noisy A/C equipment with a window that opened 6 inches. Even the view to the sea was hindered by some kind of plastic window treatment (?)
The next day we moved to a suite ($50/night more but well worth it). Absolutely beautiful!
Huge room and bath complete with kitchenette, deck with a breathtaking view of the sea crashing upon the coral reefs, and absolute privacy. A world of difference from the rooms.

The staff was friendly and helpful and went out oftheir way to accomodate us in any way they could. There were minor problems with the water at times (shut off at 3:00 AM once) but hey, that's Mexico. The beautiful surroundings and serene atmosphere more than made up for this small inconvenience.

We will certainly return; Isla M is a wonderful place to visit, and the Avalon Reef was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#10 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Property: Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing