We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Vera Time Share has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WorldMark Isla Mujeres
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Brooksville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Villa Vera Time Share has seen better days”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The staff was delightfully helpful and kind. They upgraded our reservation to a two story suite. The outdoor jacuzzi did not work at all, no stopper. There was a 4 jet tub in the upstairs bathroom however. Whatever you do, do NOT eat at the resort. There is no restaurant, only a kitchen that closes at 5 PM. We ordered two cheeseburgers at the pool. They were red, raw inside. We asked to have them cooked more and they came back inedibly red again, so we just did not eat them. We had no trouble with the room but our neighbors had moved twice due to leaks, they finally just moved the bed to avoid the leak. Fortunately the drain stopped for the next few days so they were able to stay in the same room. On the plus side, the complex is centrally located on the island, a short cab ride from the action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the pool, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judymcsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    74
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
111
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife summed it up the best when she said, "I'd go back to Isla Mujeres, but only if I can stay at Villa Vera again." The reasons for her declaration are numerous. First of all the pool is magnificent. It is huge. It has warm water. It is four and a half feet deep all the way across. It has a swim-up bar. It was never crowded during the week we were there in October. We went to Isla Mujeres with the firm intention of spending a lot of time at one of the beaches or private beach clubs on the island, but the pool at Villa Vera was so nice, that we rarely made it to the beach. We had a "Suite" as opposed to a "Villa", which is much larger. Our suite contained a "King-sized" bed, two bedside tables, a writing desk and chair, a television, a dining table and two chairs, a stocked mini-bar, a coffee-maker, a mini-stereo system, a large sofa that doubled as a fold out bed, a toilet in an enclosed room, a large spa tub and shower in a different room, a large sink and makeup area, a hair-dryer, a two door closet, and an in-room safe. The decor had a lot of natural stone and wood. We felt that the Suite had a lot of room for just the two of us. The high-end finishes made us feel that we had gone somewhere special. The maids were phenomenal. They changed all of the linens and towels daily, and cleaned the suite with great care to small details. If you go make sure you leave them a good tip. The private patio was a great place to relax. All Suites and Villas overlook the pool, so there was no need to bring your belongings poolside. The patio was furnished with two wooden "Muskoka / Adirondack" chairs, a side-table, and a hammock. We found it a good place to relax out of the direct sun. Sun worshipers can pull up a lounge-chair beside the pool. The location of Villa Vera is mid-Island, at the entrance to "Laguna Makax" a sheltered boat harbor. The marina at Villa Vera is the largest one on the island and attracts some impressive private boats. It was easy for us to flag a cab just by walking out to the main street. We rarely had to wait more than half-a-minute for one to come by. Although the official taxi tariff downtown is 26 pesos, only one driver asked for this amount. Most wanted 40 pesos and a significant minority asked for 30. We felt 40 was fair. If we we asked for less than 40 pesos we gave the difference as a tip. When we were asked for 40 pesos we simply did not tip. A lot of people rented golf-carts to get around, but we couldn't justify the cost with taxi rides so cheap and easy to obtain. We also walked to both ends of the island, which allowed us to see the sights in greater detail than by riding in a golf-cart, but it was very hot so can't recommend it for everyone. There are also a large number of very good places to eat not far from Villa Vera. We particularity liked "Green/Vert" just across the main road, and had breakfast there each morning after discovering it. There are a few things that are annoying about Villa Vera, but please remember they did not deter us from wanting to return. The Pool Bar is run in a manner that is quite frankly inexplicable. The dining chairs and tables are set up each morning, but no one ate there when we were present and we were present a lot since we loved the pool. The morning after we arrived we asked to order breakfast and were told that we could only have room service. Not sure then why the chairs and tables were out. In general the bar purports to serve light breakfasts and snacks. The beer is 35 pesos. You can buy it at a corner store close to the hotel for 10 pesos. Likewise restaurants charged 20-30 pesos for a small bottle of water, but you can buy an easy to carry 4 liter bottle for 12 pesos at the grocery store. We used a portable ice chest to keep the beverages cold. Salsa and chips could be had for 30 pesos. The other comments you read about the bar on sites like "Trip Advisor" are all true in our experience. The barman does not like to be bothered. We couldn't get eye contact. We would have liked to have the use of the fridge, but it is set up as a mini-bar so don't count on it. The "Villas" have full size fridges. The coffee maker needed filters, but they were not supplied. We found them in a grocery store downtown. You must pay for Wi-Fi in the suite, but it is free in the office. The pillows are thin and get thinner as the night goes on. There are two ATM machines outside the back door of the office, but the charge to use them was $65 American during our visit. We found a Bank downtown which only charged $16. In summary, Villa Vera provided us with a wonderfully relaxing place to while away the hours on a holiday where we did very little, but didn't care that we weren't constantly on the move. Oh and remember, the locals pronounce "Villa" as "Vee-ya".

Room Tip: People can see into your room unless the shutters are closed, so the rooms farthest away from the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had to move rooms because the first floor room we were initially assigned, was full of ants & other unwelcome bugs. The third floor room we went to was nice & had a great balcony with a 'pool/tub' that they will fill for you if you like, with tap water. No chlorine or anything to make it a real pool or hot tub. We used the bikes on property one day, but you have to get to them first if you want to use them. They were helpful to get to Mango Cafe & grocery store. The pool at Villa Vera needs a deep cleaning to remove mold & rust on grout all around the pool, especially at swim up bar. It was gross. The ATM fees at hotel office are high, so go downtown to use a bank ATM. Took a long time to get hot water for shower & they do charge for bottled water in room- get your own elsewhere. Not walking distance to beach or restaurants so factor in cab fare ($4-$6 each way) or rent a golf cart ($50/day) into your vacation costs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Small quiet resort, mid-island. Only $4pesos from Ultramar ferry to the resort. Pick up your rental golf cart the next day; if you plan to explore the full Island, which is small. The staff is excellent, very attentative to all requests. The "restaurant" is located at the pool; open 9am to 6pm only, but the food is good. The beds are very comfortable, the housecleaning staff excellent. Don't forget to tip them on the last day.....at least $8 per day.

Room Tip: Villa Vera has suites which include full kitchen, other rooms has a microwave. My reservation was fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a wonderful resort off the beat and path but walking distance to many restaurants and even a grocery store. The staff has been totally amazing and the pool is beautiful. Currently there is not a full restaurant on location but the bar serves amazing food...so no complaints at all. I would absolutely stay here again. The rooms are clean and have a wonderful aroma in them. This is wonderful. It is not ocean view but a view of a marina.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dutka389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres in June for a week. The room was gigantic, and we didn't even stay in one of the upstairs suites with the dipping pool. It had a sitting area with a table and 2 chairs, couch, mini-fridge, coffeemaker; and then an elevated area with a big bed. The bathroom was very large, and one half had a full sized tub and counter with a huge mirror and sink, and closet. The toilet was separate from the other half of the bathroom and it had its own sink and mirror.

The pool at Villa Vera was stunning. There is a swim-up bar which we used once. The grounds and rooms are very well maintained, and the housekeeper set a different towel animal on our bed every day, which was a nice touch.

The grocery store, Chedraui, is only a 5 minute walk from Villa Vera. We stocked our mini-fridge with beer and sandwich fixings and then ate out for dinners.

The island is very safe and if you walk out of the Villa Vera complex to the main road you will have no problem getting a cab within a minute or two. My husband actually went for a run one day and got lost, ended up running in circles in a neighborhood and had no problems. I took a cab by myself to the other end of the island for a fitness class one morning.

If you speak Spanish (even rudimentary) you will have an easier time getting around. If you don't speak Spanish, you won't have any problems in the touristy area (North Beach/Hidalgo) but may run in to more problems in the center of the island (shops, restaurants, cabs) closer to Villa Vera. You can always have the hotel call you a cab but you will pay slightly more and it will take around 15 minutes, versus catching one in 3 minutes if you just walk out to the main road. You can rent a golf cart and use that to get around but we found it was easy and cheaper to just get a cab. We did rent a golf cart one day and took a self-guided tour of the island and it was great!

We highly recommend getting a chicken at Kash Keken Chuc for lunch. It's a pink building on the corner on the walk to Chedraui, about 2 blocks from Villa Vera. A whole or half grilled chicken served with tortillas, beans, veggie slaw and hot sauce, all for around $8 USD. The best chicken I've ever had!

Mango Cafe is incredible (chile relleno stuffed with scrambled eggs!) It's a 10 minute walk away and a must visit. We went twice.

I really loved being at Villa Vera not only for the incredible room and grounds, but for the location. It's away from the touristy area and since its in the middle of the island, it's really accessible to everywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lizamaniac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our second visit to Villa Vera, and we were more than a little disappointed. It is still a nice relaxing resort. The rooms are still clean and in good condition. The maid service was as good as any resort we have visited. What made the stay appreciable was Ernesto. He was friendly and helpful, and made great recommendations on restaurants and did a great job securing excursions. What made our stay not as expected was the bar service, or lack there of. On our first visit 7 years ago, the pool bar area was always busy, with an extensive menu including great breakfast. At check-in, they did mention that the bar does serve snacks, which we took to mean chips, sodas etc. I was able to locate a menu on our first evening there, and they appeared to serve bar food, and a limited choice of breakfast items. It seemed ok until we ordered our first drink and were met with a rather unfriendly bartender. My wife tried to order a cocktail (martini) and was told that he could not make one, or did not know how! When she asked what he could make, he replied that he could make anything she wanted, well obviously not. On our first morning, we went poolside to have coffee, but nothing seemed to be set up. When we asked to order a cup, we were again met with a very (why are you bothering me attitude). When we asked for milk or cream, we were told that they did not have any. We skipped the whole breakfast idea at the resort and chose to go to a local cantina, on the recommendation of Ernesto. It was a great choice as we ate there the next 3 mornings. Upon our return to the resort, we decided to have Bloody Mary's. Service was only marginally better, so for the remainder of our stay, we dined, drank, and swam at other locations away from the resort. We decided to visit the Zama Beach club (which Villa Vera once owned), and had much better service. Losing Zama Beach club is just another example of Raintree's cost cutting efforts, and pathetic track record of laziness and lack of service. Villa Vera used to provide a water taxi service (small fishing boat) to and from Zama across the lagoon. Zama is still a great day visit and a great example of what service should be. The next day, we spent our time at Garrafon park. Spending so much time at other locations really gave perspective of what Villa Vera is now lacking. We did spend our last evening at the Villa Vera resort pool. I noticed that the pool itself is showing a lot of wear, and contained a significant amount of algae on the tiles and swim up bar stools. I have since found out that Villa Vera no longer owns the property, and is currently leasing. The "owner" whoever that is, apparently employs the bar staff which probably explains the poor service. We are normally not that critical of resorts as we have stayed in our share of 5 star hotels and braved some of the more local and basic amenities in more countries than just Mexico. I suppose if I had not visited 7 years ago, I may have had a different perspective. We will probably never return to Villa Vera. Friendly and knowledgable service is one thing that should never be compromised. I would not recommend Villa Vera, even if you are a club Regina member and have the extra points as we did. There is a lot of competition for vacationers on the island. I am not sure how Villa Vera will be able to keep at least a decent rating if they continue to overlook details in service, or if they will be able to survive at all over the long haul.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Isla Mujeres

Property: WorldMark Isla Mujeres
Address: Puerto de Abrigo | Laguna Macax, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#6 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Isla Mujeres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded island of Isla Mujeres just a 20 minute ferry ride from Cancun. Relax in spacious suites with whirlpool tubs and enjoy the gorgeous views from balconies overlooking a tropical paradise. The resort offers marina access, an outdoor pool with swim-up bar and a children's pool, a restaurant and bar, golf cart rental, complimentary bicycle rental, 24 hour front desk, room service, laundry service, and a supervised children's activities program. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres
Resort Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing