We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WorldMark Isla Mujeres
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Very difficult to relax and get a decent night of sleep if other guests are noisy . Felt like I was sharing my room with the person below me - you could hear everything - building structure exceedly poor. Not as bad if you are staying next to a suite (excellent if you are staying in the suite) but still is noisy if other guests are inconsiderate. Villa Vera looks nice, but a bad place to go for relaxation (unless you luck out and get respectful neighbours) and forget the mind-blowing sex unless you want to entertain your neighbours.

Staff woke me up in the middle of the night for service that I did not request. Called me in the middle of the night for a wake up call I did not request.

Bikes poorly maintained and not available when they say they are.

There is a disgusting difference between how they treat people staying in the suites and the rooms.

I changed rooms because of noisy guests in a suite - the room was in poor condition and my feet were dirty from walking on the floor. They ignored my request to clean the room, although they said they would.

I did meet some nice people there, including some staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelAviv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

I loved this little, relaxing resort. They only have 26 units, so you will never feel like you're being overrun with fellow travelers. They delivered a beautiful welcome bowl of fruit and chocolate to our room when we arrived. The room had a king-sized bed, jacuzzi, television (not the greatest picture on the tv, but we never watch much tv while on vacation), a little refrigerator/honor bar that we filled up with our own personal purchases, a small dining table with two chairs, a couch (great place for a nap, if you didn't care to nap on the hammock hanging outside the door). There was a nice little covered patio in front of the room with the hammock and two chairs, and every unit is just steps from the pool.

The resort has free mountain bikes, so we took advantage of those one day and took a three-hour bike ride to explore the island.

There is no beach at the resort since it is located on a marina. I would guess it's about a half-mile walk to the opposite side of the island to watch the breakers rolling in to a coral and shell-covered beach. For sandy beach it's a little longer trip north or south.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We spent a week at Villa Vera on Isla Mujeres in January, our first trip to the island.

The hotel was terrific, with a great pool and large, very comfortable, very clean rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We spent much of our time just lazing around the pool. A very relaxing week.

Nearby on the main road, about two or three blocks away, is a little, blue, hole-in-the-wall-type take-out eatery that, on Friday and Saturday nights, serves up some great tamales. We brought some back to our room two times during our week and enjoyed tamales and a couple of ice-cold beers (which we bought in the little store just across the street from the tamale place) in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

This is the second time I have stayed here. The last time was ten years ago and nothing has changed and that is a good thing. This is a small 28 Villa Yacht Club & Resort. It is in the middle of the island away from the action of downtown. There is no beach with the hotel(one nearby) but you have a gorgeous pool with a fabulous outdoor dining area and pool bar. The service is very laid back. We would wake up every day and enjoy a very leisurely breakfast. The food was good and very reasonable, you could order off the menu they are very flexible. The nice thing about this place is it is not a family style resort. There aren't alot of people fighting for lounge chairs. By the end of the week you feel as if you have met the other guests and have enjoyed conversations about where they have been on the island and so on. If you want a beach it is just a short drive 30 - 50 pesos depending on the cab driver and your negotiating skills. There is a public beach but the one I liked was Zama. These two beaches are just around the bend from Villa Vera. Zama was a spectacular beach that hosts private parties at night for a lot of celebrities. It has exceptional food as well. This beach is owned by the same people that own Villa Vera. We didn't charge our food to the room but I think we could. It also has two pools you can enjoy. There is no cover charge to use the beach and the cushy lounge chairs they just except you to buy drinks and food. NO Problem!! So if you are ruling our Villa Vera because there is no beach right there think again. The rooms are very nice with hammocks on the front porch area. Jacuzzi tubs. Plenty of room with table and pull out sofa. Stocked honor bar and refrigerator. Also rooms are euipped with safes, but they are the old key lock type. We had the hotel make arrangements to pick us up from the airport. It was alittle more expensive than getting there by taxi and ferry but well worth it. We got off the plane and into the airport you get overwhelmed by helpful Mexicans trying to get you to get to take their transportation. It was nice to see the guy holding a sign with our name o n it and then he toook us to La Playa Linda in Cancun were we boarded a boat just for us. No waiting or sharing. The boat pulled right up to the front desk of Villa Vera and we were promptly registered and given our accomodations. Fabulous trip Great Hotel / Timeshare.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We stayed at Villa Vera in late November 2009, and were highly satisfied with our choice. The hotel is in excellent condition and actively maintained. The rooms were spacious and bright, with a nearly full wall of blinds opening up to the pool area. Outside most of the rooms are either wood lounge chairs and/or a hammock.

Inside the rooms, the king-size bed is firm but comfortable, and we found the pillows to be good (neither one of us likes very thick pillows); there were additional pillows and blanket in the closet. The rooms have two fans and an effective air conditioner. There is no kitchen unit, but the minibar refrigerator (just ask for the minibar key) has a fair bit of space for personal food supplies. The bathroom was spacious and clean; the shower water flow was not torrential, but probably better than the Caribbean average.

The location is at the end of a small (and short street), two minutes' walk from the main road. Is it walking distance to downtown? It depends on how much you like walking, and what your sun tolerance is. The distance is 2-3 km (1.5-2 miles) and an easy (if not interesting) walk. The hotel also has bicycles available (free of charge); the other options are scooter/golf cart rental and taxis.

Many people on TripAdvisor seem to recommend golf cart rentals, and they are certainly readily available. However, the cost of a 24H rental is about 450 pesos (scooters are only slightly cheaper), and driving to downtown also means having to find a parking spot. We chose instead to take the taxis, which are very plentiful. You can get one immediately on the main strip downtown (or near the supermarket), and within a few minutes on the main road outside Villa Vera. At 30 pesos (maybe 40 with tip) you would need to do five trips to town and back to get to the cost of a golf cart. And once you're downtown, there is little need to be driving anything.

Oh yes, some of the dive shops (including the excellent Carey's Dive Centre) will do a pickup from the Villa Vera jetty -- very convenient. The hotel officially doesn't have wireless Internet access i in the rooms, but the marina's network is free and has a strong signal.

Incidentally, at no time during the stay did anyone at Villa Vera try to sell us anything at all. Staff was very helpful, the only place where we ended up waiting a few times was the towel desk.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at Villa Vera for a week in August of 2009. It was definitely the low season on Isla, but it was beautiful and a great time to go. The hotel had a fantastic pool (although the temp was a bit too warm) but very clean and it was huge. The swim up bar was fun and drinks were well priced and good. We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times, but found it more fun to venture out to local restaurants and bars--easy to rent a golf cart and go all around. One note, the hotel is on the marina side of the Island and NOT on the beach--beach is easy to get to--again golf cart or taxi--or even walk if it's not too hot out!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank slen1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Trip with wife and two children (10 and 7) between 8/1/09 and 8/8/09. The property is well kept and the rooms nicely appointed. Staff was excellent and room was spotless. Only drawback was low water pressure in the shower. Close to town and other attractions, but helpful to rent a golfcart.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiverDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Isla Mujeres

Address: Puerto de Abrigo | Laguna Macax, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#6 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £138 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Isla Mujeres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded island of Isla Mujeres just a 20 minute ferry ride from Cancun. Relax in spacious suites with whirlpool tubs and enjoy the gorgeous views from balconies overlooking a tropical paradise. The resort offers marina access, an outdoor pool with swim-up bar and a children's pool, a restaurant and bar, golf cart rental, complimentary bicycle rental, 24 hour front desk, room service, laundry service, and a supervised children's activities program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WorldMark Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres
Resort Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing