We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Hitchcock's "The Birds"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WorldMark Isla Mujeres
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Think Hitchcock's "The Birds"”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Villa Vera is small, beautiful, and very clean. The villas are very large and well equipped. But know that this is an island property WITHOUT A BEACH. There's one (freezing) pool, one (cold) baby pool, and no hot tub. There are tennis courts on site.

Very loud birds congregate at Villa Vera, including a rooster that crows around 6 am. The birds seem to have a convention early in the morning, and if you're sleeping with the doors/windows open, the squawking will surely awaken you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    73
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
43
111
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I am NOT fussy about accomodations as long as they are clean and safe, which Villa Vera seems to be, but even for Mexico, the basics were disappointing considering it is part of the Raintree chain, which is responsible for the design, furnishing, amenities, etc. We had the "studio" with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Technically that could sleep 6, but only 4 is allowed and even 3 would be tight. The sofa bed is very uncomfortable to even sit on. There were only 2 captain's chairs and a tiny, cracked table. Our patio had 2 plastic chairs and no table. Only one bed had a reading lamp, and the only other decent light was in the bathroom. We asked for an additional flooor lamp and got a table lamp, which we put on the arm of the sofa. The good part about our unit on the end was that no one had to walk through our patio to get to our room. The bad part is that we had to walk through the others. A "freezer" is supposedly in the room--we assumed it would be a frig, which it is, with NO freezer section. There were LOTS of things not working in our room upon arrival, most involving the electrical system, which were taken care of/sort of. We had to ask about drinking the water and only after asking we were told it isn't recommended, but upon asking about the ice machine, were told that water is puified, so rather than buying their $2 bottles of water, just keep filling your ice bucket and coffee pot with ice from the machine and let it melt. We saw one guy fill his wastepaper basket with ice (it had a clean liner). The phones work spaoradically, I guess--I had a SCUBA trip scheduled and the DiveMaster couldn't get a hold of me. On the plus side--I had free WiFi in my room, although I was told I could only get it at the pool bar, so it may not work in all the rooms. The pool was nice for me, as I am a swimmer, but I think most people would find it too cold. It's about a one mile walk to town and there are free bicycles at the resort, but I am only 5'4" and used the biggest one there. We had to ask about the bikes, and pool towels, and WiFi and water and shopping--nothing was volunteered. The grounds are lovely, and well-cared for and QUIET. Just soft music at the pool which is welcome after staying at resorts where the pool area is inundated with loud music, bingo, volleyball, etc. It's a nice place, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefrog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

What? How can a hotel without a beach be perfect you may well ask.... How about a total of 30 lounger style chairs surrounding a meticulously maintained pool that apart from the odd visit from the previously mentioned tour boats,usually have maybe six being used?
As I am typing this I am one of four people next to the pool (10:30 am Sunday, hotel is full and the weather is perfect). If you enjoy being surrounded by crowds of people, a vibrant and busy atmosphere, being hassled by vendors and timeshare salespeople
while trying to relax or read a book, this is not the place to come.
If you want nightlife and pool activities, wrong hotel. Probably best described as a great place to do nothing. That said, a nice 25 minute walk or $5 cab ride and you are downtown, complete with all the hustle and festivities you could want.
Real pleasant surprise to find the food is good to excellent and unlike most hotels, priced quite reasonably. It is Mexico! so of course you never get exactly the same thing as yesterday though lol...
A kind of "secret" is that the hotel offers a private boat pick up service to and from Cancun. $50 for two with $11 per extra person one way. Takes you right to the dock 25ft from the hotel check in. Very nice 34ft enclosed, teak decks etc boat.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boatnutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We loved the Island and Villa Vera. The only thing I would change would be the location. Even though it was only a $3.00 cab ride away from town. I wish it was a little bit closer. We did walk one time, and that is possible, but not someyhing to do daily.
Our room was set up with the bed on one level and the sitting area down a few steps. the flat screen tv could be turned to watch in both areas. Not that you will want to watch much TV. The Bathroom was large with a 2person tub and lots of marble. The room had a very handy small bar frig that came in handy for drinks and snacks. There was a coffee pot and cups. Take your own coffee and filters.
We spent hours on our Patio that faced the pool. Both after we got up with coffee, and with a drink before bed time.
On other reviews. The Party Boat was mentioned. Yes it did come in for lunch and pool everyday for one hour. That was not the end of the world to us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Three years ago, we visited this resort for the first time and fell in love. When we returned last year, we were put in another hotel for a few days because they said there were plumbing issues with our room. However, we were told by someone that the resort had been overbooked and this was the solution (what a pain to be packing and unpacking on vacation). The place we were sent was nice but no where near as expensive as the Villa Vera and the solution was to give us a free breakfast.

Our most recent visit was laughable. On the first day, no one showed to clean the room. I finally went to the office and requested towels (they had only provided towels for two people and four were staying in the room). At 6 pm, the maid called to ask if they could clean the room. My husband told them no because the children were napping and what was the use so late in the day?

We loved the breakfast; however, when we asked for coffee refills, it never came. The menu indicated breakfast came with sweet rolls but did not. It also indicated that the fruit came with yogurt but did not. We ended up eating breakfast elsewhere after two days.

Every room had chairs outside on the patio except our room. We asked for chairs and were told "it would be looked into." We finally ended up taking chairs from another room that was under renovation.

The hot water lasted for a few minutes or was nonexistent. We asked for this to be corrected because the children didn't like cold showers. A man came up and messed with the shower for 30 minutes, told my husband it was as warm as he could get it, shrugged his shoulders and walked out but not before knocking down two washrags and a hand towel which he walked over and muddied up and just left laying in the floor.

The pool and grounds are beautiful. This place has so much potential. If it were run properly, no guest would want to leave. Alas, this is not the case.

Isla Mujeres is very laid back and has some great restaurants and its people are very friendly. We will be back but will probably find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meyouandtheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The service was great, but you need to speak at least a little spanish is you want to talk to more than a couple people. The majority only speak spanish, but hey, you are in Mexico. The hotel is gorgeous and there's a huge pool with a swim up bar. Everything is elgantly done. Keep in mind you are in the middle of the island and not near the beach, if that's important. You're on an island less than a mile wide so you obviously don't have far to walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at Villa Vera from Sept. 5 to 7 and enjoyed our time there much. I had called ahead to ask for a upstairs location and we got what they called the Honeymoon Suite on the third floor with a small cool water jacuzzi on the terrace. It was a very private, quiet location but the whole hotel felt quiet and private. We liked the location out of the busy north beach area on the beautiful Macax lagoon and yacht marina. There were truly some amazing yachts parked in front of the hotel.The service from check-in/out, waiters in restaurant and especially our sweet maid was very friendly. We have really nothing bad to say about this nice little hotel and would stay here again. We stayed through an RCI trade but met others that just booke it on line for a good price. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and realy good guacamole and chips at the swim-up bar. The drinks were good as well. Prices were decent and the breakfast was very good. We did not have a studio or 1 bedroom but our unit had everything needed. Flatscreen TV, music system with CD player (bring CD), umbrella in case it rains. On arrival we had a fruitplate decorated with flowers waiting and the first day the maide made us the cutes whale oru of towels. We had brought a stuffed Dr. Seus Whale and she matched it. So sweet of her. Our room and everything at the resort was very clean and we had nice bath products available. The maintenance and upkeep of the resort is ery good, pool crystal clear and the landscaping very nice. They even arrange rocks around each palm tree by hand we watched. The location worked out good for us as it was close we $3 taxi ride to get to north beach where all the action is or for $5-6 to Punta Sur, Castillo de Garafon (go and buy the fish food-tons of very friendly fish) and the stylish Zama's beach club. The conch ceviche and Mojito's at Zama's was great but towards mid day to many kids for our taste arrived on yachts and catamarans. Villa Vera had a beautiful large pool and it is very tranquil and relaxing there. The only negative is that once a day a catamaran arrives with about 20 people for lobster dinner and drinks in the pool. They stay about 2 hours in the afternoon and than it's tranquil again. We figured out the first day what time they are there and did things away from the resort during the day anyway. It was not a big deal for us if it helps them to make enough money to keep the resort so nice. I would definately refer this hotel to everyone I know for a stay on Isla Mujeres. Isla Mujeres is a very laid back and friendly Island and North Beach reminded us of Playa del Carmen 10 years agot before it got way to overbuilt. Restaurants we liked during our stay was Brisas Grill on the ocean's edge and Pizza Rolandi. A good place to get a few beers or other things is the upstairs Cervezeria on the road to the hotel. The sweet older lady that runs the store makes the best Flan ever and you can buy by the piece. We had one on two days. Walk out of the hotel to the main road (short walk) and get a taxi there as it is cheaper. Don't pay more than $3 to go from the Utramar Ferry dock to Villa Vera or to/from North Beach. Villa Vera is a great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,316 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Isla Mujeres

Property: WorldMark Isla Mujeres
Address: Puerto de Abrigo | Laguna Macax, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#6 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Isla Mujeres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded island of Isla Mujeres just a 20 minute ferry ride from Cancun. Relax in spacious suites with whirlpool tubs and enjoy the gorgeous views from balconies overlooking a tropical paradise. The resort offers marina access, an outdoor pool with swim-up bar and a children's pool, a restaurant and bar, golf cart rental, complimentary bicycle rental, 24 hour front desk, room service, laundry service, and a supervised children's activities program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WorldMark Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres
Resort Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing