We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four in a row”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Four in a row”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Year after year we find our time at VLB fun and relaxing. We are always treated well and meet the nicest people. Curtis is a master at breakfast and Ashley will make sure you have whatever you need. Luis, Francisco, Ernesto and Esteban are always willing to help with a bevrage or moving some chairs. Thanks to the housekeeping staff for keeping the place looking great. So if you are looking for a place to stay without children and like quiet after 11pm. This is the place for you. My big concern about wrighting these raving reviews is it may effect my ability to get a room. (the honeymoon siute is mine!!!) Thanks again VLB

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the Villa La Bella web site for the best room discriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
513
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wylie, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My partner and I spent 6 nights here and it was one of the most relaxing vacations I have experienced. Located just steps from the ocean, the design and layout of the villa creates a private oasis. There is plenty of room for sunbathing, either alone or in proximity of other guests. Great hammocks and quality lounge furniture are abundant. The areas enclosed by the roof provide shade for dining, drinks or reading. There is an area for free wifi that is sacred "quiet space". La Bella is not a place for those looking for a rowdy good time. It's geared to a more low key, "island time" theme as Ashley and Curtis, our hosts like to say. The hosts are a class act, charming, attentive and personable, without "hovering". Ashley is a natural when it comes to making guests feel welcome and entertained. Curtis works behind the scene, creating great breakfasts and ensuring everyone has whatever they need. The vibe there is best described as comfortably serene. It's not a luxery resort, its the kind of place where you immediately leave behind the stress of home and become one with the island. Our room was quite comfortable, although some folks voiced concern about our room's bed which is suspended by ropes from the ceiling, it was great for me. Sort of like sleeping on the ocean or a gigantic hammock with the rocking motion lulling you to sleep. We did not have ideal weather while there, a bit of unusually cool overcast and windy rainy days prevailed but for me, a natural sun worshipper, I didn't really mind. The villa and the island are so inviting that I was happy to read in my hammock with a blanket and catch the sun when it appeared or dine at one of the many great local restaurants. We met some very warm and interesting folks who were it seems, repeat visitors to Villa LaBella. I could understand why, this is the spot to unwind and get a feel for this delightful island without being overrun by crowds or noise. My only caution to others is, if you are a morning person like me, be prepared that there is no coffee until close to 8am. I tend to be up very early, usually by 5am even when vacationing and look forward to the peace of early morning. Waiting until close to 8 was a challenge for me but alas, "island time". Also, lighting is our room was minimal so, do bring a flashlight. If not for the app on my iPhone, I would have never found anything in my closet. We will be back, this is a special place!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms do not have AC, which I could imagine being an issue in warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villalabella, Owner at Villa La Bella, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We just wanted to let you guys know we appreciate your comments.

As of today Palapa 2's closet has 5 LED light fixtures in it. One in each compartment so you can see the safe and your stowed items a whole lot better.

Thanks again for the constructive thoughts and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Happy travels,
Curtis
VLB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Returning to Villa La Bella is like going to visit good friends. Ashley,Curtis, Francisco, Luis, Ernesto, Esteban and Wendy always have smiles on their faces and do all they can to make your time there relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the water hot in the fabulous shower and the breakfasts fresh, tasty and huge! There are lots of places to relax on the property including lounges,chairs, hammocks and day beds, all reserved for guests of the inn and off limits to the bar patrons. We appreciate the "quiet hours" between 11pm and 8:30am as it adds to the peacefulness. The "guys" are happy to order in food for you from one of the many menus they keep there for those nights when you just can't tear yourself away from the lovely lights. VLB is located mid island and we enjoyed walking everywhere, especially early morning walks in the colonias. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewaterdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We didn't stay here just went for beers (so cold your teeth will hurt) at Happy Hour. The sign says "No Yahoos" and I don't know how accurate that would be to describe the crowd we met there. Mostly older. Music, pizza nibbles and beer/magaritas etc. It's a distance from the Centro but with ample parking for golf carts. It's smack on the Caribbean with excellent views.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at VLB at the end of our 2 week vacation. This was our third time to the island. I would like to post my review as a list of pros and cons for trip advisor readers. The pros: very unique & well maintained property, larger pool, lots of nice outside seating, beautiful view of the ocean, delicious breakfasts & homemade drinks, attentive staff. It is very helpful that the owners speak English, especially if it is your first time to the island. In each guest room there is a helpful book that has useful information and wonderful restaurant recommendations.
Cons: Can be loud at times due to the bar traffic each day, lots of rules if you are a guest at the B & B, no coffee before a certain time, and we found 'quiet time' each morning to be a little restricting; as it seemed that speaking above a whisper was frowned upon. (Actually, we were "shusshed" on our last day when telling other guests goodbye using normal voice levels. We stayed in Papala #1 and found the room to be very dark with little lighting. While the room was charming in many ways, the bed linens need to be replaced and the mattress was thin and too firm. We were actually told that we were "expected" to tip VLB staff and what the amounts should be. Not that we have a problem with tipping... but, we traditionally tip according to the quality of service that we receive and not because we are told to do so. Would we recommend VLB as a B & B? Depends on what you are looking for in a vacation? We love the VLB drinks and bar!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has the best view and only private outside seating... but is priced accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villalabella, Owner at Villa La Bella, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We always appreciate getting constructive comments on our B & B. Some of these comments in this review do need to be clarified.

After their 6:30AM check out, we noticed the beach bag and bathroom soap dispenser were missing from the room they occupied. The rooms are all checked daily and the items simply weren't there. An InnKeeper can only assume at that point.

They were asked to "please, keep your voices down..." because it was
6:15 AM on a Sunday morning. These folks were not whispering. It was far above a normal level of conversation considering the time of day and it woke others up in the house. Quiet hours are stated upfront and were posted 15 feet away from where they were talking in a common area.

Coffee comes out at 7:45am and that is stated upfront, so that should be no surprise for guests.

Our bedding in the Palapas have new Tommy Bahama comforters and the linens are imported from the US and are also new from this past December. Their room mattress is the same thickness of a standard king size bed in the US. We sleep on the same brand and model of mattress as our guest rooms.

During check out... when it's apparent the guests aren't leaving a tip on their bar tab, I always ask if they "would like to leave a tip" for the guys. They work very hard. I never, never, ever once have told a guest that they are "expected" to leave a tip. The only time I tell people how much to tip is when they specifically ask me to do so. And if people don't tip at all... I will ask them if the service was OK?

One of our mottos is... "we're not right for everybody". This happens to be one of those cases.

Happy travels,
Curtis
VLB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We've just returned from our 10th straight year of blissful vacations in the Honeymoon Suite at Villa La Bella. Beautiful ocean, gracious hosts, fabulous breakfasts, new friends and the ultimate in relaxation make this place worth going back to again and again and again and again...

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had our second week-long stay at Villa la Bella at the end of January/early February. Here is my recent blog post about the wonders of breakfast, Villa la Bella style: http://meetthespooners.blogspot.com/2013/02/breakfast-done-right.html

Room Tip: Palapa Suite No. 1 is the best. You can lie on your pillow and see waves crashing out the window. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthenaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing