We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa La Bella: Paradise In a Nut- I mean Conch shell”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Villa La Bella is a one-of-a-kind gem, set on a pristine locale with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Proprieters, Ashley and Curtis, along with their staff go above and beyond to make sure your welcome is friendly and your stay is comfortable and relaxed, from the moment you are met upon arrival to their final waves as you depart in your taxi.

We stayed in a Contemporary Bungalow in mid-May for $120 and vacationed worry-free with ammeneties such as A/C, ceiling fan, mini fridge, hot shower (with seashell showerhead fixture!), daily maid service, in-room safe, and a gorgeous, round window with wooden shutters to let in the beautiful sunlight and view of the sandy relaxation area -- complete with sunbeds and hammocks-- right outside. The pool was about two steps from our front door and the open-air bar and breakfast area maybe another ten. Not a bad life!

One thing that may appeal to the B & B connoisseurs: all of the decor at Villa La Bella is handmade. From the seashell-inlaid tables in the bar area to the inventive windchimes and array of unique sculptures and statues winking at you from odd corners, you are surrounded by a creative world of truly original design that evokes a cozy and inviting feel amid the already utopian setting.

Another nice factor about Villa La Bella is that there are quiet hours from around 11:00 PM until about 8:00 AM. This ensures that your late evening and sleep hours are serene and uninterrupted. Arriving home after dinner, it's a luxury to relax in one of the swings at the bar and indulge in the sound of waves as you enjoy a nightcap before retiring to your room. It's definitely a place to get some beautiful rest.

Our stay was all-in-all too short, but next time will certainly be longer. Kudos to Ashley & Curtis and their staff!

P.S. The Pina Coladas are outstanding!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Richele24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed at this tranquil B&B for a few night in early March 2008. It was great. Ashley made our trip easy, as her work behind the scenes with good communication before our arrival. Upon our arrival, we were greated by Curtis who set us at ease with drinks and a tour.

Our room was quite picturesque. Very colourful, beautiful clean bathroom, big round window from our pool side room overlooking the ocean.

The only downside is that there is no beach - the B&B is on the ocean but too rocky to go in. That said, after spending the previous 5 nights on a beach front hotel with all the crowds, this quiet, tranquil, private place was pleasure.

Thanks very much,
Joda and Meaghan

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank skijchrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

The moment we walked in, I knew we had picked the right place to spend our vacation. We were promptly greeted by Ashley & Curtis and offered a cold drink as we listened to Jimmy Buffet music at the bar. They truly do have the best pina coladas ever! The hospitality all week was phenomenal. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquil setting. Curtis & Ashley were eager to answer our questions about the island and make fabulous suggestions for dinner. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, stress free vacation, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boatsnbroncos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Ok, Ok , I was supposed to write this back in February after our stay. Guess what, island time was gone and reality set back in. YUCK.
Well, i am writing this now as i just completed reservations for our 6th year in a row for next February. I guess you could say we love this place and the owners as well. i told my wife one morning as we were waking up with a gentle breeze flowing thru the room that it reminded me of the best summer day as a kid.
No cares or worries and a delightful day of relaxing in quiet of Villa La Bella.

TRY-IT..............YOU'LL LIKE IT

Garry & Sheri

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ONTHEBEACHKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at VLB. Being away from the downtown area really lent to the escape and endless relaxation we enjoyed here.

Ashley and Curtis were great, breakfast was always amazing, and they even helped save a dolphin along the shoreline with the locals during our stay. The staff is great, couldn't be nicer and also very helpful.

We will definitely be coming back to enjoy floating around in the pool, lounging in the sun, and collecting shells and sea glass from the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank monkeybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We just returned from a week's vacation at Villa la Bella. Ashley and Curtis made our vacation perfect. My husband Jim had one comment. AAHHH!

We relaxed while enjoying all the comforts of home. Breakfast every morning was delicious, Curtis loves to cook and it shows. Ashley takes a personal interest in making you feel welcome in their home.

We dragged ourselves away long enough to go shopping or for lunch or dinner but rarely strayed from the villa. When we were at Villa la Bella Jim visited with Curtis and I got to read and relax by the pool. I so rarely get to read more than a page a day at home, I actually read 2 books on vacation. Fabulous!

The pool area was always clean as were the grounds. We stayed in a poolside bungalow with a/c but never had to turn it on, the constant breeze was enough to stay cool. The service was excellent, the rooms are cleaned daily and the bartenders were extremely helpful.

This was the best vacation we ever had and we will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Our stay at Villa La Bella could not have been better. Ashley and Curtis were the greatest hostess and host. The staff did a great job and were very accomodating. The location of Villa La Bella was very nice, because it was quietly situated away from the hustle and bustle of the center of town. Listening to the waves crashing against the rocky coast line was such a comforting sound for me, especially at night while sleeping. Our accomodations were quite comfortable and what a great shower to enjoy after a long day. Waking up to a the smell of Curtis cooking breakfast for us was a great treat and incredibly tasty. Our next visit to Isla Mujeres would not be complete if we did not stay at Villa La Bella. We are so looking forward to next year or maybe sooner for a visit to Isla and Villa La Bella.
Thanks Ashley and Curtis for a wonderful stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tequila111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £83 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing