We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in Paradise and SOO Much More!”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Paradise and SOO Much More!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from Isla Mujeres and the spectacular Villa La Bella B & B By the Sea. We had never been to Mexico before and Ashley,our hostess with the mostest, answered every one of my many questions prior to arrival. With Ashley's advice, we arranged our CARM private transport from the airport to the ferry, learned how to purchase ferry tickets to the island, and waited to get pesos at the ATM and exchange them quickly, easily, and economically at the bank across from the ferry at Isla Mujeres. We were prepared for the taxi ride to VLB(60 pesos w/luggage inc.tip) and arrived quickly and easily to start our fabulous vacation! Ashley and Curtis were right there at the coconut decorated front door to meet us and take our bags right up the spiral staircase to our room- the "Honeymoon Suite", which was prepared for us before their 2 PM check-in time and waiting to greet us at 1:30 when we arrived with bright and cheery tropical colors, skylights, 2 patios with fabulous pool and ocean views, a hammock, banquette seating with table and another fabulous ocean view, and complete with a conch shell showerhead in the bathroom. Best of all- no TV or alarm clock! We were on island time now, baby and didn't need anything but the complimentary internet access to let our kids know we had made it to Paradise! We made a beeline straight to the private bar after checking out our room and partook of their fabulous frozen mojitos and pina coladas courtesy of their excellent bar staff. We did not want to leave VLB after our long trip from Omaha, NE, so the bar staff was able to order take-out for us from one of several restaurants that deliver delicious food to their premises. The pool had a beautiful coral rock and shell waterfall cascading into it that is lit up at night. There was plenty of seating near the pool area inc. hammocks and large lounge beds. There is ocean access from VLB to a rocky shoreline where you can collect shells and investigate tidal pools. They do have a bar open to the public separated from the pool and private bar areas by a low wall which the public patrons were not allowed to cross to disturb the guests of the B & B. The bar had swing seating and plenty of tables and loungers so the bar patrons could relax and also sun and enjoy the fabulous ocean view. We were never bothered by the bar patrons and enjoyed making friends with the other guests of VLB. So much so, we are all making plans for a return visit together in 2 years! There are only 5 other rooms for the 18 and older set at VLB and Ashley and Curtis maintain absolute quiet hours between 11 PM and 8:30 AM, so we all got a tranquil night's sleep and only woke up to the birds. There was some traffic noise, as our room was situated closest to the road up front, but the other rooms are set back further if that is a concern. The bed was firm and extremely comfortable and I slept better than I do at home. Chef Curtis serves up a 3 course gourmet breakfast every morning except Monday. Ashley presented the ladies with a hibiscus flower for their hair every morning and checked to make sure all was well and if we needed anything arranged such as taxis, golf cart rental, excursions or restaurant reservations. She got us rock star seating at Villa Rolandi for Valentine's Day dinner, where we had a fabulous meal and watched the sunset from our table bayside. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at VLB! We were treated like invited friends in their home, which it truly is as they live upstairs across from the Honeymoon suite and are always available to handle any concern you might have on-site. We visited the North Side in our rented golf cart with the famous and beautiful Playa Norte beach, but with all the hustle and bustle, day trippers from Cancun and party atmosphere on that side of the island in the downtown area, we were happy to return to our laid back and peaceful VLB and had no regrets about staying in the central island Caribbean side of Isla Mujeres. We can't wait to return to VLB by the Sea!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonicaL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
510
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

VLB is officially mine and my husband's go to place. Ashley and Curtis are simply the most welcoming and sweetest people we have met. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we could not be more pleased. So many places make you feel as customers where as Ashley and Curtis make you their guest, they make you feel like family. We stayed in one of the bungalows for 4 nights and were very satisfied with it. We look forward to coming back and trying out the rest of the rooms! The location is magical and the place is just perfect. Curtis makes the most delicious breakfasts. Ashley spoiled all the women to fresh flowers in our hair every morning. When we got back I asked me husband where my flower was! My husband asked me where his breakfast was. Point being, we couldn't get enough. They recommended amazing places to eat and although we didn't get to try them all, we look forward to having some new ones for the next time. It is not a big party location and my husband and I loved that. It is relaxing and breathtaking. Yet a very good time. The staff was very good and we have absolutely no cons. We highly recommend Villa la Bella!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute long weekend and Ashley could not have been any more helpful! Her B and B is immaculate, perfect location, cold beer, tasty drinks and wonderful accommodations. Breakfast every day was delicious and filling! I felt right at home and enjoyed every minute at VLB!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I spent 9 nights at Villa La Bella in January. We had a chance to try all the rooms. We can't decide if we like the palapas or the honeymoon suite better. We were looking for a quiet vacation where there was little to do but sit, read and enjoy the beautiful views. We found that and more. The breakfasts were wonderful and we were able to walk them off by either walking to the south or the north end of the island. Curtis and Ashley offered wonderful food recommendations - our only regret is that we couldn't eat at all of them. There was a wonderful mix of people. We enjoyed hearing other's stories and comparing travel experiences. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crocushill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I visited Villa La Bella in Mexico for a few days in December. It was a wonderful bed and breakfast. The hosts made us feel welcome, and we loved our stay. Its a very safe area and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for fun, relaxation, and great food. We took a golf cart around the small island, and found the people very friendly. It's an island feel and the resort is right on the beach. If you are looking for nice weather, and a great getaway, here is your place! Ashley and Curtis were amazing!!! They make their guests feel like family!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms at Villa, and each one is great. It's cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

So glad my husband happened upon this B&B when looking for places to stay in Isla! The owners, Ashley & Curtis, have created a relaxing, adult wonderland on the east side of the island. Every detail - including those you would never think of on your own - has been covered. They provide beach bags for you, blankets to take to the beach for star gazing, mats next to each side of the bed so you don't get sand in the sheets, beach towels, amazing breakfasts every morning and insanely scrumptious drinks (frozen mojitos to DIE for!). When we arrived, they ordered a lunch for us & served it poolside. The second day they arranged for in-room facials and massages (insanely cheap & top quality) for us. The third day they arranged for a golf cart delivery. The staff also arranged for a dinner delivery one night & our taxi back to the ferry. Just ask - they'll get it for you! Binders full of places to go and see are provided in your room and the restaurant recommendations are spot on!

Make sure to go to Monchi's and find out what the nightly specials are... It doesn't look like much, but my husband swears the tuna steak was the best he has had anywhere. You would pay double or triple for the same cuisine back in the states - and if you go twice, don't be surprised if you get a drink on the house. Great people watching here too - you'll be amazed by how much (or many) the people of Isla can get on one scooter! For the record - five people & groceries....

We also had a late night dinner at Villa Rolandi (arranged by Ashley) which was pretty spectacular - and we found out first-hand that the staff will quickly move your table if a late night torrential downpour just happens to hit while you are dining at the front of the open air restaurant AND follow you out to your golf cart to wipe it down after the dinner.

Speaking of golf carts - renting a golf cart is a must. There is so much to see and do on the island and while it would be possible to walk it all, it would be a long & hot trek.

Lastly, the people of Isla are so kind and caring. Unlike the major resort towns where you are mostly treated as commerce, the people of Isla sincerely seem concerned with providing good service and making you feel comfortable. The staff at VLB was exceptionally gracious - they wouldn't let you lift a finger.

Right down to the moment we left - when Ashley handed us a pen so we had something to fill out the Customs paperwork with on the plane - I felt pampered & cared for. My husband remarked that he felt like we were leaving family, not a hotel. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Villa la Bella, owners Ashley and Curtis and the entire staff are wonderful. The rooms and grounds are spotless, the breakfasts very good and filling and the clientele that fill the 6 rooms are friendly and enjoyable. 2 miles from the crowded north end and facing the blue-green water that is the Caribbean, it is a quiet, yet accessible get away. I very, very seldom repeat a vacation, but this is one place I would make an exception to that rule.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank husie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing