We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in a friendly atmosphere”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxation in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent three nights at Villa la Bella in one of the Palapa suites. The whole experience was excellent and incredibly relaxing. This was in addition to the excellent individuals we me during out stay, something that is made easy given the welcoming and friendly atmosphere at VLB (not to mention the excellent bar).

The room itself is truly unique. The windows have no glass and the room has no air conditioning, instead a constant breeze provides just the right amount of natural cooling. This also means that you go to sleep and wake up listening to the sound of the waves hitting the beach below the villa.

The villa is in an excellent neighbourhood for local food, with many excellent restaurants within walking distance. It is, however, likely that you will feel the need to eat much after the incredible breakfast cooked every morning. It is made with fresh ingredients and the volume of food is simply staggering, amounting to roughly three courses. All of this is complemented by excellent teas and coffee, whilst later in the day the bartenders serve up some of the best cocktails in Mexico.

Finally, last but not least, Curtis and Ashley (unfortunately we only had the chance to communicate with Ashley over email) are excellent hosts. They are fountains of local information and go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable, relaxing and tailored as possible, seemingly without ever breaking a sweat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
513
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This 6 room B&B on Isla Mujeres is a wonderful place to enjoy the Island. The owners, Curtis and Ashley welcome you in like you're family. The hotel is located on the Caribbean side of the isle. Fantastic views of the beautiful Caribbean can be seen from the patio of the hotel. The decor is warm and welcome. Just wait for breakfast, gourmet in a word. The staff is friendly and helpful and the drinks are all made from scratch. Rent a golf cart and enjoy this 4.5 mile island.
If you're going to Isla Mujeres, this is where you want to stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs are cool suites with hanging beds and a wonderous breeze off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Villa La Bella provided us the most amazing Isla trip ever! We stayed in the pool bungalow room #1' very comfy, large bathroom, and the conch shell shower head will literally message you into total relaxation! Curtis and Ashley have really created a special place here and their character shows everywhere you look. I could go on and on with their positive qualities but I'll leave that to the reader's curiosity!
Here's my likes, obviously the location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown was very calming to us! Breakfast was to die for (served around 8:30 to 9am), didn't have to eat again till early dinner. Openness of the entire property provided extra area to chill while we prepared for the days activities. The pool is very nice closed to the public. The staff was most accommodating and spoke very good English. In short, each time we left this property, we couldn't wait to get back, just like coming home!
Hats off to Curtis and Ashley and staff for their hard work and commitment. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome. The palapa rooms may be our next choice if booked in May or earlier, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WKC_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been blessed to have discovered this little slice of paradise that Curtis and Ashley have built about 6 years ago and have a hard time adding to my previous posts about VLB. Every time I return, it is like coming home-only to a much cooler place than my own home!
When I decided to get married on Isla Mujeres this May, I put all my wedding guests in another one of my favorite place on Isla but chose to stay at VLB; "away from the maddening crowds"-ie: my wedding guests. After all, one should not have their honeymoon with ones family! Ashely and Curtis went out of their way to insure that we have a peaceful stay and Ashley was able to help me with some minor issues regarding my wedding as well.
God bless you both Ashley and Curtis. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After a brutal winter in NYC and a 16 day stay in the hospital I decided I needed a place of calm where I could swim, sip, sup, snorkel, sun and decompress. Villa La Bella was the answer!! Visually it is enriching in its style, color and vibrancy, only matched by the matchless Ashley and Curtis, our hosts and owners. No attention to detail was too great. From the beautifully appointed rooms, to the breakfasts (tasty!) garnished with flowers, to the hibiscus pinned in your hair every morning by the beautiful Ashley. Everywhere there is a feast for the eye and rest for the soul. A particularly lovely touch was my son had called the Villa and asked that a bottle of white wine be left for me for Mother's Day. Not only was that done but was lovingly accompanied by a handwritten card in the shape of a shell with my son's message. On the card was a colorful post-it that said "look in the fridge!". In addition, there was a small shell as paper weight and two Mexican wine glasses!! A lovely presentation of my son's thoughtfulness. Thank you Ashley for making that gesture all the more special.

The pool is welcoming; the surf is loud, as is the fountain but with our sliding glass door closed poolside, you could have heard a pin drop. We slept long and hard every night.

Not enough can be said about Ashley and Curtis. They are warmth and graciousness personified. All details of our trip were ironed out before arrival and beyond that they made golf cart and taxi reservations and recommended local eateries much to our liking.

If you need a spot to relax, enjoy the view, slow to the island's pace and reconnect with a loved one. This is the place!!!

Room Tip: I had heard so much about the palapa rooms but one was not available for all our nights so we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I, after a hard winter, were looking for a place to recover and relax. We certainly found it. The rooms were so comfortable and quiet, the setting was amazing and our hosts provide such a wonderful atmosphere as well as delicious and inventive multi-course breakfasts. The pool with its hot tub and fountain were just what we needed. There was a beach as well but though the weather was almost perfect there was a breeze that made it a little too rough to do more than just admire. The beers were as advertised so cold they hurt your teeth and the Margaritas in coconut shells marvelous. They even provide a rainbow over the ocean on the day before we left.

The location was great as it was very much away from the bustle of downtown, but with a golf cart they helped us rent, cabs and pleasant walks we were within 10 minutes of everything on the island. Ashley and Curtis were very helpful recommending restaurants. Most were very relaxed, good food and often beautiful views of sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danchel465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen, NH
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ashley and Curtis have created a wonderful, away from the noise, spot. The palapa rooms are a treat, the grounds and surroundings are terrific, and they make, what has to be, the best Pina Colada on earth. Great location - central to everything on Isla.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanteGlen_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing