We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one complaint!! Absolute paradise!!!”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 37 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not one complaint!! Absolute paradise!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2008

I cannot even explain how phenomenal this place is. If you are someone who likes very touristy resorts and cannot be disconnected from a laptop or blackberry, then maybe it’s not for you. This is a place to come to get away from it all. I can honestly say that I have never been to a place with such a friendly, relaxed and stress-free atmosphere. Isla Mujeres itself is a great little island to explore and the owners of Villa La Bella, Ashley and Curtis, can help you out with finding the right places, such as places to eat or get a drink. We also went snorkeling and swam with whale sharks, which was one of the greatest experiences of my life and I would highly recommend. Ashley and Curtis are extremely friendly, fun, helpful and easy to get along with. Any negative reviews of this place must have come from people who are very difficult to satisfy. We stayed in one of the Palapa suites. Although there isn’t air-conditioning, you surprisingly don’t need any. The open rooms have a constant cool breeze and I actually had to sleep under the covers at night. Even at the hottest point in the day, you are more than comfortable with this continuous breeze from the ocean. It is also nice at night to fall asleep to the sound of an island breeze and the ocean waves. Since it’s an open-air room, I was a little afraid about insects, but that problem was non-existent. I’m not one for hanging around the hotels we usually stay at but Villa La Bella is practically paradise. There are so many places to lounge around or nap outside that look out onto the ocean…plenty of shade and sun, and a nice big pool to cool off in. I would recommend getting up for breakfast, because it’s definitely not your typical cardboard continental breakfast….Curtis makes really good stuff! Lastly, I do not like pina coladas (usually way too much sugar and artificial flavoring), but I could not get enough of the pina coladas at Villa La Bella…they are made from scratch and I wish I had one right now! Margaritas are freshly made from scratch too and are just as awesome. After 10 days away, I thought I would be ready to get back home but I did not want to leave! Basically, I do not have one negative thing to say about this place, it was as perfect as a vacation can get!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennie0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
509
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Villa la Bella is AMAZING! From start to finish, our time there was just fantastic. Curtis and Ashely are the ultimate host and hostess. Somehow they manage to always be there when you need them providing just that certain something that really makes your vacation special.

So, when you first get there, of course you check in, which is a breeze. They will present you with a little binder with the house rules and a TON of super super helpful tips and suggestions. I cannot even begin to tell you how helpful this book was to us. It was our total Isla bible. Quite frankly, I don't know what we would have done without it. Oh well, actually I do--we'd have been clueless tourists getting overcharged for everything and we would have eaten awful food :) I'm telling you, this book is the best. This is just one of the special touches that helps to make your vacation effortless.

Staying there is really cool because it's small and quiet and a little off the beaten path. If you are looking to be right in the middle of everything, this is not the place for you, but if you don't mind grabbing a cab to town, this will be perfect. At first, I have to admit it didn't seem very private-we were in a poolside bungalow with a big sliding glass door and a HUGE circular window facing the ocean, but really...it is very private because there are so few other guests and all the windows made the room feel airy and open which is nice.

You will definitely be spoiled by Curtis and Ashley. Curtis makes awesome breakfasts (and yes, pina coladas too). Another of the special touches is that every morning at breakfast Ashley would come by with flowers for each of the female guests. Seriously...how nice is that?

As I mentioned before, this area is a little off the beaten path, but VLB is just a 20 peso cab ride to town, so you really are not too far from the action and cabs do come by (on the next street over) often enough. The town is cool-lots of the same tourist shops, but also some really good bars and restaurants and of course, the beach! Isla itself is just a really cool, laid back place and VLB helps to reinforce that vibe :)

I was really, really sad to leave, but now I know I have a great place to come back to. Believe me, I will definitely be back too. VLB is a special, special place and I really cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — Amazing Service
  • Disliked — NOTHING! It's awesome!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We absolutely loved this B&B and would definitely stay again. It was exactly what we were told. We stayed in one of the Palpaya Rooms and it was more than we even expected. The view of the ocean from our windows, the swinging bed, the sea shell shower, the fantastic breakfast and the thatched roof. This is exactly what we were looking for. I loved how quiet and relaxing it was there and how you truly felt you were away from it all. We also enjoyed the Margaritas at the outside bar area which was set up so 'Island like'. Curtis and Ashley were excellent hosts. We took cabs if we wanted to go into the main downtown area at the North end and that only cost us about $2.00US one way and took about 10 minutes. This island is truly being with the Mexicans and it is not like the large resorts in Cancun. The Beach at the North end is very beautiful with clear blue water and white fine sand. We look forward to coming back some day soon to this wonderful Island Paradise.

Kathy & Gerald Klassen
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandKEdmonton_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

After seeing the website and reading the reviews on here, my husband and I decided that we couldn't go wrong with this place. We went and stayed during the off season, October 9-13th and stayed in a poolside bungalow for the first 2 nights and the honeymoon suite the second two nights.
Ashley and Curtis were wonderful, down-to-earth, and extremely helpful. They helped any time we had questions and always led us in the right direction - Casa O's is fantastic! The rest of staff was very polite and helped us anytime we needed anything. The breakfast was awesome (chicken mole enchiladas) and different everyday. The coffee made each morning even better. We went shelling on the beach each morning before we ventured out.
The poolside bungalows were nicely equipped. They had a whole bunch of small things that made it even better such as the conch shell showers, in room hammock and book selection. A really nice couple from Penn left half way through our visit, so we upgraded to the honeymoon suite - it was SO worth it!! A big room with nice little perks!
Overall, our trip was so perfect because of Villa La Bella. We were forced to slow down and enjoy all of the little pleasures - the view, the pool, the pina coladas (tabs are dangerous - haha!), the hammocks, the massive geckos, Bella, Peekaboo and the other hidden kitty) and all of nature's wonders on the beach...
Don't even think about staying anywhere else on the island OR in Cancun - this is more than worth it! We will be returning. Thanks Curtis and Ashley!

  • Liked — The overall atmosphere - enjoying what should be enjoyed in life
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect! Leaving sucks..
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ash3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Villa la Bella and Isla Mujeres was my husband's favorite vacation.
We LOVED the colorful, peaceful, and beautiful bed and breakfast run by Ashley and Curtis. They were so friendly, helpful, and welcoming. We loved our room, The Sunshine Room with the big sun as a headboard. We had a huge circular window and saw the sunrise. We LOVED the conch shell showers!!! What fun! And the hammock IN the room was my husband's favorite past time. Although it pored raining one day, we loved not having TV, phones, internet. So we just read, slept, and drove our golf cart around the island. We had a blast and loved the local people, flea markets, and driving around site seeing. Breakfasts were wonderful at VLB and the Pina Colada's were the best. Thanks Ashley and Curtis!!!
Your place is beautiful. Thank you for going after your dream and sharing it with us! Stephen & Shelley

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachChigger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

I'll make this short because there are so many excellent reviews already posted.

This was the second time we have stayed at Villa La Bella, and have already booked another week for February 2009. We absolutely love staying here for so many reasons. Curtis and Ashley make you feel so at home, and treat you like kings and queens. Their staff is wonderful, and it is so easy to become friends will everyone there, including Bella! We especially enjoy the laid back atmosphere and all the amenities and special treatment. We first discovered Villa La Bella several years ago while touring the island. We noticed the "beer so cold it will make your teeth hurt" sign and stopped to check it out. We have been going back every year since and have introduced family and friends to this great place.

We have met some wonderful friends there, and this year, several of us from around the country will be there at the same time. It will be wonderful to spend time with friends again. We all share the same opinion about Villa La Bella.

It is difficult to write a review after viewing other reviews. It's all been said, but bears repeating!!

We have stayed in a palapa suite, which is wonderful, and this past February and next year we are in a poolside bungalow.

We enjoy touring the island, either on foot or with a golf cart. There is a great walking area around an inland lake just a few blocks from the Villa La Bella. We feel perfectly safe touring the island during the day and exploring restaurants and bars during the evening.

We would highly recommend this establishment. You won't be sorry. It is truely a paradise!!

  • Liked — Off the beaten path, not touristy, quiet, romantic, breakfast, no kids!
  • Disliked — departure day is sad
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IslaMujeresFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, BC. Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2008

This was our first time visiting the Yellow house by the sea.
We desired to experience the real Mexico & find a stress free haven away from most tourists. Villa La Bella provided all of that.
The local Mexican people were friendly & it was interesting to see this different culture. From the honeymoon suite we had an amazing view of the property & the Ocean. Our hosts Curtiz & Ashley are over the top. They made us feel part of there family. Amazing breakfasts prepared by Curtis. Ashley thanks for the flowers & positive comments every day. You both give us privacy when we needed it & were always available to give advice on where to visit & eat. Thanks for helping out when we were under the weather.
Hot weather, breezes to cool you down, a spotless pool & the swing bar what more do you wnat?
Ashley you make the most healthy Margeritas :)
If you watch carefully you might see Curtis creating another ecclectic art work. Has the head found a home yet?
This B& B was central to just about every thing on the Island but far enough away to be out of the hustle & bustle. We walked, used cabs & a golf cart to explore the Southern end of the island. Isla is a place where you need to look under the rocks to find the real treasures.
Thanks for your love guys
Ian & Linda
B.C. CANADA

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The noise of golf carts & scooters.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
702 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
848 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing