We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutlely gracious host and hostess....”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2006

My husband and I stayed at Villa Las Brisas in July 2005 and couldn't wait to return. We returned on April of this year and it was even better than we remembered. The weather was a comfortable 80 degrees, the pool refreshing and warm... perfection.

Ashley and Curtiss are the BEST host and hostess I have ever experienced in a B&B. They are always available and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

We appreciate the no children policy. I saw several families stop in at the bar and always were asked to leave, very politely. THANK YOU CURTISS. I like kids, but I don't want to share my pool, solitude, breakfast or vacation with other people's kids. One of the many reasons we love Villa Las Brisas is because it is so peaceful and relaxing.

Breakfasts are always a pleasure. Ask Curtiss to make his fried plantain yummy dish. I can't remember the name of it, but we heard another couple talking about it, so we requested it. Curtiss spent an afternoon searching the island to find plantains that were the correct ripeness... the dish was to die for. Reminiscent of Bananas Foster that you might get in New Orleans. That was VERY kind of him and we enormously appreciated it.

My husband has a radar for arrogant and self absorbed people and he genuinely likes Curtiss. Because they are beautiful and live a lifestyle we all only dream about, a person would expect them to be full of themselves, but absolutley the opposite is true. Curtiss is full of anecdotes and entertaining stories. They are both gracious and helpful and ALSO somehow remain inobtrusive.

Plan to rent a golf cart. It was wonderful fun to just run 5 minutes to town and then back again. Factor it into the cost of your trip. We actually only rented one for two of our 6 days there. It was very handy. The B&B itself is an incredible deal so the additional cost for the golf cart was doable.

A lovely local woman offers facials at an amazing price. She spent about 1 1/2 hours doing lovely relaxing things to my face in the comfort of my airconditioned room. This would have been 3 times the cost in the states. Just ask Curtiss. He'll make all the arrangements.

I think some people think that they should be able to have their way, no matter what the establishment policy is. I think that is just RUDE RUDE RUDE.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Villa La Bella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2006

we come to the island for a day and we decided to come back the following day and stay for a night due to the fact that we felt in love with this bed and breakfast! what a GREAT choice! We are on an extended honeymoon (we've been travelling for over a year non stop now) so we are very critic with the places where we "live". We totally recommend this place, the owners and the people that work there are VERY nice and the place is paradise. 10 points! (if you can't stay at night, at least come to try the margaritas and pina coladas made from scratch! and see the amazing view and the cute decor), Paula & Mark

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morochaargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2006

My fiance and I stayed at this beautiful bed and breakfast for only a couple of nights, but we will definitely will be back! The details of the rooms and the establishment itself is what makes this bed and breakfast truly unique and a perfect getaway. The conch shell showerheads were so beautiful, I felt like I was in a tropical getaway. Ashley was such a wonderful hostess, she was very attentive and informative without being intrusive. She directed us in all of the great places to eat on the island. We especially loved baseball tacos!!! Francisco was especially kind and helpful, and we loved chatting with him at the bar.

Exploring Isla is a lot of fun, and staying outside of town was no problem at all. Actually, it worked to our advantage. We really felt like we were in Mexico. It was a perfect getaway and there was activities to do in town if you wanted or nothing to do at all (which we preferred).

We loved this place and will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happymama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2006

We just returned from six nights at Villa Las Brisas and cannot say enough about our wonderful experience. We were looking for a quiet place to kick back, relax, read a few books, and fall asleep listening to the ocean, and Villa Las Brisas provided just that.

If you're looking for a party place, this isn't it. It feels less like a hotel and more like a beautiful home. We were hoping to get one of the palapa rooms or even the honeymoon suite, but we booked last minute and got one of the poolside rooms, which turned out to be more than enough. (We might try to stay in one of the other rooms next time.) Good bed, good shower, lots of nice little details. But we spent most of our time outside, by the pool, watching the waves crash on the rocky beach below. I hadn't been looking for a place with a pool, but ended up going for a swim every day. Breakfasts are wonderful and the bar is open all day. There were a couple of days that we never left the property until it was time to get dinner. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly, but never intrusive, and gave us tons of good information about places to eat, things to do, etc.

There were crashing thunderstorms and horizontal rain one evening we were there, and Ashley (one of the owners) swung into action. There were only 4 guests at the hotel, so she brought us menus so we could all order pizza. (It was really too bad to go out.) Turned out the weather was so bad, the pizza place wasn't delivering, so she put some frozen pizzas in the oven and we all huddled by the bar and ate together. Her wonderful can-do attitude helped make it a fun evening to remember.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone looking for a quiet, relaxing, low-key environment. In general, Isla Mujeres was a little more touristy than we were looking for, but we agreed that we loved the hotel. The antidote to a busy life is to spend a few days just hanging out by the water, and Villa Las Brisas was the perfect spot.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

After much research, we chose to stay at Villa las Brisas (VLB) and we were not disappointed. The setting is gorgeous, the rooms are clean, and the location was perfect for an adult-only get away. Falling asleep to the sound of waves crashing on the rocks below was so relaxing and soothing. Waking up to the sunrise over the turquiose Caribbean was the perfect way to start the day...along with Curtis' tasty breakfasts! Request the Enchiladas Suizas or the smoked pork chops!

After a long day on the beach or snorkeling, it was a pleasure to return to VLB for a fantastic Pina Colada, a dip in the pool and some relaxation and reading in the comfy hammocks. The breeze is always blowing, so even when it got too hot elsewhere on the island, VLB was always breezy and cooler.

VLB is a wonderful choice in Isla Mujeres. Although it is a few minutes out of town, getting a taxi was always very easy.

The only thing (very minor) I would change is the continual loop of the same music...but as soon as we asked for something different, our request was granted.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Staceybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2006

Whatever you do, listen to Curtis when he tells you where to eat! He was never wrong. Our week at VLB was remarkable. It was so easy to realx in this beautiful location. The breakfasts were great, the Pina coladas amazing, the view lovely. We had so much fun climbing down to find shells, walking down through the neighborhood to "Baseball Tacos" and enjoying fresh seafood at Restaurant Velazquez in town. Curtis and Ashley were friendly, our room was clean, the showerhead was really neat. I particularly enjoyed the hammocks. It was chilly the week we were there so we only swam twice (us crazy Minnesotans!) but the pool was really nice. All in all, it was awesome, we will definetly try to get back!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KnowledgeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2006

We did not stay at the Villa Las Brisas. We did stop by however and I have to comment on what a wonderful little place it is.

First of all their reputation for having the best pina coladas on the island is well deserved. Second the hotel actually surpasses what I expected from the pictures on the website. I have traveled extensively and in my opinion that is a rarity. Curtis gave us a little tour and the pictures do not do the Palapa Suites justice at all. These rooms are beautiful especially if you are looking for unique true island experience.

Curtis and Ashley are both friendly and helpful as is the rest of the staff. The bar is very popular as a stop off on the way to Punta Sur or retrurning back to town. Curtis took the time out to give us a map and point out a few of his suggestions for restaurants and attractions.

The beach like the others on this side of the island is not swimmable, but the views are breathtaking. We returned again the next day because we enjoyed the pina coladas and the company so much. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £81 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing