We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ideal getaway”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“an ideal getaway”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

At VLB they welcomed us with open arms, then gave us lots of breathing room. We were happy in a poolside room our first night, then smitten when we moved to the honeymoon suite. Cheery surroundings, gorgeous views and you’re tucked away from the world…. Taxis are easy to find and affordable; we were happy to be mid-island. The pool is pristine, and you have the ocean right there, too. Food was easy, whether we wanted to flip-flop to the taco stand or go out for a sit down meal…. We’ve been home two weeks and are already scheming for our next visit. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SQTipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
513
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This review is long overdue but better late than never. My partner and I stayed here for a week over the New Year's holiday 09-10. We stayed in both the palapa suite and the honeymoon suite. It was a fantastic experience that I hope to repeat again and again. It lives up to the wealth of positive reviews I read here which prompted us to choose Villa la Bella.

The place is lovely and comfortable. The rooms are charming. Food is great and the people are warm. The location is nice - away from the bustle of downtown but with amenities nearby. I fell in love with Manolita's empanadas up the street. Taxi service was very convenient. Some guests rented golf carts but we opted for walking and taxis.

Even though they did have a plumbing problem with no running water for part of one day while we were staying there (just a fluke - I did not get the impression they have these problems often) the owners handled it with grace and generosity. They fixed the problem quickly and in the mean-time offered a reasonable alternative for a shower and drinks on the house in the bar. I think that sometimes what really shows the quality of a place is how they handle problems and they handled this problem beautifully.

Ashley and Curtis were great hosts and we look forward to future visits to Villa la Bella.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We got luck and stayed here without reservations. We had driven by this place many times, and thought it was very cute and attractive from the road. Then, when we actually thought we'd stay there, we got lucky (must have been low season, huh?).

Anyway, we got a wonderful room on the second floor with views of the ocean, and a hammock in the room. The very large bed was on a kind of hanging thing and was very romantic. The decor is fabulous. The shower has shells for water.

And breakfast is fabulous. The owner cooks up a beautiful breakfast every morning.

All we can say is that this is a must-stay-place.

And what we love about it.

No kids. Ever. Never.

So it's quiet. And fun. And when you want a fruity drink, you can drink it in peace and look at the ocean, or swim in the pool, or lounge with a good book, or whatever.

Love this place.

Oh, and the high speed wireless internet in the common area open living room is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raygay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We were very pleased with our choice of B&B. Ashley and Curtis were wonderful hosts and the setting is idyllic. Rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable. The bar/pool area is lovely and I particularly loved the swings around the bar. We ate take-away tacos both nights and it was lovely not to have to go out as we had been eating in restaurants for the 8 previous nights. There were just a couple of small negative points that prevented me from giving an excellent review. Firstly, I only really drink white wine, which is usually not too difficult to purchase. There was only half a bottle available on our first night at the b&b and none available on the second night. Secondly, I don't drink coffee and there didn't seem to be anything except water and bottled juice available as alternatives for breakfast. I would have loved to have been offered a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice or a cup of tea and did, in fact, ask but these weren't available. My partner thoroughly enjoyed Curtis' breakfasts but they were a little heavy for me and I would have liked to be offered a lighter alternative. Just small points which would have made the experience perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, MS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Villa la Bella was all that we anticipated and more. Ashley and Curtis were extremely helpful and easy to talk to. We loved getting to relax and just be. We stayed in one of the open air palapas - beautiful views of the ocean, and lots of room, and a constant breeze (absolutely no need for AC), and the swinging beds were lots of fun. We took advantage of the pool which was beautifully designed with multiple levels and a constant cool tempurature. The hammocks were great to take a snooze and/or sip a drink brought over by the 'guys'. The employees were all extremely nice and helpful. The decor was spot on. And, the atmosphere was perfect for a bluff overlooking the ocean. Not too many quests on the island or at the hotel. And, did I mention the breakfasts that Curtis comes up with? Absolutely amazing, and enough food to not need to eat again until supper. Do rent a golf cart to get around the island. And, definitely take their recommendations on food and entertainment, and tours. They can set you up for everything! Amazing 5 days - thanks, guys!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferSCarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We've stayed at Villa La Bella two years in a row and would not even consider staying anywhere else on the island. My wife and I swore we would go to a different place every time we went to Mexico and for the first three years we managed to do that. But on the third trip we found and fell in love with Villa La Bella and Isla Mujeres. This is the perfect place for adventurous, romance seeking couples. The first thing you notice is the painstaking attention to detail that owners Ashley and Curtis have put in to their place. Everywhere you look you see Mayan sculptures that were actually made by the owner, Curtis. As well as gorgeous sea shells, various and sundry marine paraphernalia and all of this overlooking one of the best views of the Caribbean on the island. The ambiance is worth the price of admission alone and the well stocked bar is a great place to sit and enjoy the afternoon breeze. Be sure to ask the owner's for a list of local restaurants...La Bruja tacos are absolutely phenomenal.

One thing everyone seems to agree on is the phenomenal breakfasts served up by Curtis and Luis. You're treated with absolutely delicious meals of fruits, pastries, egg and spinach quiche and french toast. Each day was more tasty than the previous and we were constantly surprised and pleased each morning. Please don't ask for custom made breakfasts...what they make is what you get but I promise you won't be disappointed. They are something not to be missed and on Monday when breakfast is not available, check out the Mango Cafe down the street. The food and staff are especially amazing but make sure you know the hours before planning on eating there.

Isla Mujeres is an exciting and very safe place to spend your vacation. You need to be a little independent to stay there so don't expect all-inclusive luxury hotels, all you can eat buffets and shuttle service. Villa La Bella is located pretty much in the exact middle of a 5 mile long island so you're looking at a 35 minute walk to downtown or around 40 minutes to Punta Sur. If you're not a hiker there are taxis that circle the island around the clock so getting to where you need to be is very simple. The ferry that you'll most likely come over on runs every 30 minutes so if you're going back over to Cancun you'll find a taxi driver right outside the gates.

Villa La Bella's rooms are just as beautifully decorated as the exterior with beach themes and very impressive sea-shell shower heads and enclosures. My wife and I both agree that we hesitate to mention how wonderful this place is for fear of it getting too popular and not being able to get a room. But at the same time, I have to admit that if a place can make you feel the way this did it's a crime not to let other people know. I would 100% recommend Villa La Bella for independent couples (no children allowed) who want a romantic getaway and have a broad sense of adventure.

I also want to mention is how wonderful and hard working the staff is at VLB. Luis, Francisco, Ernesto and Vicente are so amazing and nice; they keep the grounds immaculate and bring out what seems to be an endless supply of SOL, Tequila and sangrita -no complaints there! There's something very magical about the location of this place that makes you completely at ease, happy and content to never leave. We started planning our return before we even left and are counting down the days until we can get back. Curtis and Ashley have something very special to offer in both location and friendliness; as Ashley says, "Just another day in paradise". We now feel a deep affinity with Isla Mujeres and have even started making plans to move there down the road. The mental grip this place has on you is hard to shake and I promise it will haunt you for months after your visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaloKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I just returned from staying at VLB for 6 nights and all the reviews are true! Ashley and Curtis are the kindest, nicest hosts! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left(at 5am I must add)Ashley and Curtis were there to make sure all of our needs were met. The B&B is perfect because it only has 6 rooms so it's private and intimate. The location is great as well as the B&B overlooks the ocean and is mid island so a cab ride to either end is between 20 and 30 pesos.
The breakfasts were delicious and huge as you've read from other guests. Some mornings pastries were served in addition to the breakfast from local panaderia. Yum!
The staff was fantastic as well-Luis, Francisco and Ernesto always made sure we were comfortable. The pina coladas are a must. They are made from scratch and topped with shredded coconut. The best drink ever! It's about the small touches here too. Every afternoon we were given a cold hand towel(scented with orange extract)to wipe our hands, faces and other sticky body parts. Amazing!
We made some wonderful friends here too who we will stay in touch with for sure!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADeckerCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing