We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at VLB for a mother-daughter vacation. From the moment we made our initial contact with Ashley until we left with Curtis and Ashley waving good-bye, everything was perfect and could not have been easier. VLB is a beautiful, peaceful, special place perched on the cliffs above the sea. The rooms are comfortable, everything is immaculate, the decor is fun, the entire staff is friendly and helpful and life is easy. Curtis's breakfast is an amazing way to start the day and VLB is perfect for relaxing or exploring the island, with great tips from Curtis and Ashley for places to eat and explore. There are several local restaurants that will deliver to VLB so you never have to leave this oasis! If you are looking for a friendly, quiet retreat this is the place to be. Thank you Curtis and Ashley for such a magical place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewaterdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
511
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa La Bella for seven days this past month, and we absolutely plan to go back. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a small (6 rooms) boutique hotel. Their villa is absolutely charming and the ocean view is spectacular. The rooms we stayed in (palapa one and the honeymoon suite) were spacious, clean and romantic. The hosts/owners Ashley and Curtis were wonderful, professional and very helpful in orienting us to the island and it's wonderful food. Speaking of food, Curtis cooks a homemade hot breakfast every day which is delicious and included in the cost. The homemade margarita's and pina colada's are extra - but WELL worth it! Like I said, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoinFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was our second trip to Isla Mujeres and Vill La Bella and both were just as wonderful as before.It is an experience very different from the all inclusive resort where you spend your days and nights behind closed doors ,distanced from reality.Here you enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Ashley and Curtis(the famed breakfast creator) and enjoy the lovely amenities of their fabulous place and spend your nights listening to the crashing waves as you are right beside the ocean.The rooms are beautiful with many personal little touches and the location is wonderful if you enjoy walking and exploring the island on foot _ if not golf carts are available for rent and taxis are inexpensive.It is also a great place for exploring some of the wonderful restaurants that are located on the island and for little interactions with some of the friendly island people .Go, you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I have traveled a fair amount and can say that this is the best trip so far! I was on Isla Feb 2010 on a day visit and fell in love with the quaint little island. Villa la Bella was recommended to us by others from the island. What a recommendation! My husband and I traveled with two other couples.
Ashley and Curtis were as helpful as it comes to assisting with transportation from the airport to the island, how best to maneuver on the island and where to eat, shop, drink and what to see! They greeted us upon arrival even at 10pm. The homemade breakfasts are lovely!
The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely equipped with a small fridge with filtered water to drink and a small safe. The way the rooms are situated the sun wakes you in the morning from the many windows. Each of our rooms had equally nice accommodations but the palapa rooms on the second story have rope beds. Which have been mentioned in previous reviews as uncomfortable however I quite liked it. It was easier than previously reported to get in and out of and with the ocean in the background was nicely relaxing.
The staff was amazingly helpful and polite. We got to know our bartenders well and they assisted us with our spanish while we assisted with (midwest) english! :) Thanks so much to Ernesto and Francisco for being so accommodating!!
The view from the bar is lovely, the grounds are quaint and private. You feel much more at home and cozy than at a more public hotel or resort. It is just off the beaten path enough to be comfy but not so much that you feel like you're missing anything. The internet is available with a laptop/netbook in the living room area and although it was a bit of an open area, it was just fine, you are not there to check email!
A taxi ride in is a quick 5-7 minute ride $3.00) to el centro for the nightlife. But you are also walking distance to yummy places to eat and drink for breakfast and dinner. And there is a great mini mart just a block away for unique regional snacks.
Ashley and Curtis made us so comfortable and we loved visiting with their kitties and dog, Bella. I just can't say enough great things about this little oasis. We really hated to leave....really!
The only complaint I will have is when everyone finds Ashley and Curtis and I won't be able to get a reservation anymore! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We spent Christmas and New Years on Isla Mujeres with Curtis and Ashley at VillaLaBella. Just a short 5 minutes outside of town, VillaLaBella rests beautifully on a little cliff overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Complete eye candy - the place is gorgeous. Unlike a big hotel or all inclusive (yuck), the place boasts just 6 rooms - all lovely - and has a quiet, quaintness to it that beckons your return. The rooms and grounds are immaculate. Many little seating areas to lay in the sun, read a book, enjoy the breeze, bask in the beauty of that turqoise blue sea. Curtis fashioned this after his boyhood fantasy of Gilligans Island style living! The Villa is made up of many artisan features (much of the work done by Curtis himself), from the conch-shell shower heads, shell & stone inlays, to the very lay-out and design of the Villa & it's grounds. The swings at the bar and the gorgeous painting on the ceiling in the eating area, the coconuts hanging from the palapa-style table umbrellas - all completely delightful. We got a peek at the honeymoon suite above the bar - exquisite. Curtis and Ashley treat you as family and offer a level of service that is selfless and inspiring. When laying in the sun, Curtis brought out cold washcloths to lay across our neck one time. He cooks a glorious breakfast each morning and tries to work around any dietary issues you may have. Ashley is the epitome of Southern hospitality - constant joy and there to help with whatever you may need. Her email correspondence and thorough explanation of details made our trip there so easy. She brings flowers for the women's hair at breakfast and quite reminds me of a delightful Disney character - a gorgeous little blonde that carries herself with grace and whimsey. Curtis is a beautiful compliment to her - a bit of a rugged beach boy with a lovely broad smile. And we must mention their staff. The guys at the bar, the gals that care for the rooms - all fabulous with such hearts of servitude. And, being in an unknown place, we felt "protected". Curtis & Ashley give such care to their guests...from sensible suggestions to arranging transportation and sight-seeing adventures, to the way they run their business. They monitor who comes and goes and really protect their guests privacy. Anyone is welcome to enjoy a drink at their bar and sit at a table. But the rest of the grounds are for the Villa's guests and that is made very clear.
Rarely do we think we'd actually like to return somewhere - we like to try new places. But, traveling is much about "people" for us, so this will be our spot for Mexico. They're just so freakin' nice! We can't wait to go back and just "be" with them! Not to mention the island of Isla - a restful delight. Good eats include Vivian's "Qubana" in town and "Mangoes" just down the street from VillaLaBella. Oh...and be sure to check out Richard's Plastic Floating Island.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I cannot say enough how wonderful of a time we had at Villa La Bella and on Isla. This was one of the most carefree and relaxing vacations we have ever had. A lot of that was due to Ashley and Curtis, and the staff at VLB. They really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, providing suggestions on restaurants and things to do on the island. They also arranged for a private driver to take us to Chichen Itza for the day-what a treat! From the breakfasts to the pool and grounds, not to mention the fantastic pina coladas and margaritas our stay was heaven on earth. Thanks, VLB!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

My boyfriend and I have visited Isla several times over the last few years, and have stayed at another B&B that we thought ideal and perfect - until now. Clearly, we didn't know any better! VLB is simply THE place to stay on Isla Mujeres. From the moment we walked in, Ashley & Curtis made us feel like family. They were helpful, giving us advice on everything from where to rent our bikes (Hotel Carmelina) to where to get the best mojito on the island (Varadero's, truly a gem). They were engaging, friendly, warm and ready take care of our every need. I mentioned to Ashley that I had forgotten to pack shampoo & conditioner and needed to find a pharmacy to get some - then she disappeared, only to show up moments later with ruthlessly organized Ziploc bags containing tons of little bottles for me to choose from (without ever mentioning that she was charging me for it). Little details like that really make VLB stand out.

The B&B itself is gorgeous - cool, open and breezy, with plenty of spots to simply stretch out, relax and watch the day pass by. My boyfriend and I are explorers and generally don't spend too much time at the hotels we stay in, but this time we made an exception. I spent several hours swinging in a hammock - reading, sunbathing and having yummy, cold drinks brought to me by the most attentive staff I've ever seen. The guys are young and playful, but are incredibly hard workers who (quite literally) pay the utmost attention to every single detail. I wish I were enjoying one of Pancho's perfect, homemade pina coladas or margaritas right now! The bar tab is convenient - you don't have to worry about pulling out money whenever you get a drink - and reasonable. After four days and well, a lot of drinks, I think our bar tab was around $65. Not too shabby at all.

We stayed in Palapa 2 and we loved it. While it has no air conditioning (which may or may not be a problem in say, August), January on Isla really doesn't require it - in fact, the room was actually a bit cold at night. Good thing the room was stocked with extra blankets for just that! The swinging bed was awesome and whimsical - although I understand it may not be for everyone, we certainly loved it. Loved the spacious room, the conch shell shower head, the BREEZE. Simply divine.

And the breakfasts. Oooh, the breakfasts. Included in the rate, Curtis makes a specific dish each morning (except, I think, Mondays) and it is DELICIOUS. They mainly consisted of egg casseroles (one he described as "breakfast lasagna" was stacked with the best chorizo we've ever had), but one day we had his breakfast enchiladas and I literally wanted to lick the plate. Embarrassing, but true. The coffee is also indescribably good, with hints of chickory and a bit of a spice note. They also provide Mexican sweetbreads to go along with coffee, and we devoured them every time. Juices during breakfast are also complimentary - we particularly loved the pineapple and mango.

Wireless internet in the living for those nerd geeks (like us!) who can't tear themselves away TOO much from reality. You can take your beach towels with you to tour the island, which was very convenient. The quiet hours (from 11PM - 8:30AM) are strictly adhered to, so you don't have to worry about being woken up by loud guests in the middle of the night. The cleaning staff is unobtrusive (you don't notice they've been in your room until you smell your fresh, clean towels). Location is convenient, away from the hub of the "centro," but only a $2 cab ride away from it, and within very close walking distance of Ronco's Mini Super and a few great restaurants (Cafe Mango). And - NO KIDS. Need I say more?

In short, VLB was the perfect place to return to after a long day of exploring the island. Our every need was catered to and we felt completely relaxed and at peace. I was actually incredibly sad to wave goodbye to Curtis & Ashley as we left, but we promised we'd be back soon - and we will.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeespoons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing