We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“agree with mixed bag”
Review of Punta Piedra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punta Piedra
British Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“agree with mixed bag”
Reviewed 14 March 2006

Stayed in January 2006 and agree with mixed bag post.
Also, not alot of privacy inside your rooms. Because the beds are real close to the slideing glass door which leads to the common pool area, you cannot open the door for a breeze and fresh air without everyone being able to see right in your room. The plastic verticle blinds bang and rattle when the glass is open if they are not pulled right back. No opening the window for breeze unless you want to risk someone staring at you in your bed early in the morning. Something to think about if privacy is an issue to you. If you are comfortable with the group that is in the other rooms and sharing the pool area with you plus the caretakers that are walking around early in the morning this probably won't bother you.
As said though, good value for your buck otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lauralye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 March 2006

Any review of PP needs to detail the bad with the good; to do otherwise is misleading and unfair to people spending their money to take a trip to Isla.
Punta Piedra itself is a nice house with great service and great value. Bottom line is that you are getting good accomodation for the price. The suites are clean and spacious with handy amenities (fridge, sink, TV, utensils etc.), and they open up onto a small but very nice pool with hammocks and a (close) view of the ocean. It is pleasant for sure.
The problem with PP is its location. You aren't in the town close to the good beaches and amenities, yet you aren't in a quiet, calm, "enclosed" or serine part of the island. You can walk to town, but it is a good 20 minute walk in the heat that you probably won't be into several times a day. In addition, you are right in the middle of a built up part of the island with almost no vegetation and a lot of concrete. At the moment either side of PP is a building site, and I imagine it will be some years before the "strip" where PP is found becomes a finished area that is generally pleasant to stay in. There is a lot of trash on the road and in the area, and a major neighbourhood is located very close to the building. The ocean in front of PP is very pretty, but probably too rough to swim in, something else to consider. There is a bit of sand in front, and that was nice, but the excellent views down the coastline expose an extremely barren, tree-free environment in this particular part of the island- something to consider if you are hoping for shady palms and foliage.
A tour around Isla will give you a very different impression of the island. The southern quarter or so is less developed, greener, and looks far more pleasant to stay in. The west coast in particular has accomodation in shady, green areas that front nice beaches with calm water. We checked out Mar y Sol, another Mornings in Mexico property, and it looked to be everything we wanted from PP- basic but tucked away amongst the trees in a pretty and serene setting. If I was going again I would either stay in this area or in the town itself, which is a fantastic place to walk around or eat in. The hotels lining North Beach on the northern tip look nice but the beachfront environs, aside from the perfect beach and water, are not very appealing, again with a lot of concrete and generally unattractive beachfront development. Obviously the hurricane did a number of the island, but the quiet south and west coast are best bets that should guarantee you get the best of Isla in terms of that vacation environment most are looking for. Cheers.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 February 2006

We loved Isla Mujeres on the whole and knew we would not have a beach at Punta Piedra, being on the eastern side of the island. But we had hoped to at least be able to go swimming near home, but the water was way too rough and dangerous. The closest beach was a 30 minute walk away or a 20 peso taxi ride (plus tip, which they seemed to expect). The room was clean and Amy was great with advice. We felt that if they built high fences to block out major construction on both sides we would have enjoyed staying here much more. It would create a serene, relaxing environment. But because of the loud banging and unsightly construction sites littering the entire island (except for the town) we would not return for at least 3 years.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2005

My family had a wonderful stay at Casa Punta Piedra up until we were evacuated from the island due to Hurricane Wilma. It is (was) a fantastic place to stay. The night before we left the roof of the balcony blew off piece by piece. I am sure the damage was extensive as the house sits on Carb. side of the island very close to the water. I am sure Amy and Luis will rebuild/ repair as soon as possible.
Any of the Punta Piedra accomodations are a great deal - the best on the island. Very clean, ocean views and a pool. A few things to consider: it is a 15 - 20 min walk to town or a taxi ride. The beach is very rocky and you cannot easily walk on it. The water is very rough on this side of the island and swimming is not recommended. If you have a small child all of the accomodations have a pool right outside without any gate/fence to stop a child from going in. Casa Punta Piedra has a construction site right next to it. They start work at 7 A.M. The crew is not very loud, but workers are there all day so it does limit some privacy.
If we ever make it back to Isla we will definitly stay at Punta Piedra.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Retrodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

More bang for your buck! Where else can you wake up in the morning to have the cool, crisp spray of the Carribean entering your suite? For those who don't need to be pampered, yet have clean sheets, clean towels, a pool and an awesome view, Punta Piedra is the place for you! Next time we're trying the house! Thanks Luis and Amy! You're awesome....

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank iloveisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview,Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2005

Amy & Luis were wonderful,even the dogs are friendly.So Cozy with all the comforts of home..Very relaxed vacation to remember with a view every morning you just Didn't want to leave.Can't wait to return to Punta Piedra for a vacation like paradise.The Sisters fell in love!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DirtDobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 March 2005

Our visit to Isla Mujeres and Punta Piedra was the most wonderful, relaxing ever!! Punta Piedra and it's owners, Amy & Luis, are the greatest. Rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need. The price is very affordable and the view and soothing sounds of the Carribean outside make it well worth the price. I simply can't imagine going to Isla and staying anywhere else!!! Thanks for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.1 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Piedra

Property: Punta Piedra
Address: Prolongacion Aeropuerto, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Punta Piedra Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing