We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third visit and it just keeps getting better”
Review of Hotel Secreto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Secreto
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My husband and I just returned from our third stay at Hotel Secreto. We love the location and laid back feeling of this small, intimate hotel. The staff are warm and welcoming and make you feel pampered without hovering. Our March break is our "vacation" as opposed to a "trip" and we want to do nothing but sit by the pool, walk to town and North Beach and have occasional conversations with other guests. The hotel seems to attract a crowd that is 50's and up or late 20's and 30's. Despite the age differences, everyone is looking for the same thing, relaxation, beautiful views and classy accommodations. The rooms have comfortable king beds with cozy comforters, a sitting area and amazing outdoor bed and sitting area. The views are spectacular from the rooms and the outdoor beds are perfect for lounging around in the fresh, white bathrobes provided every day. The breakfasts are now brought to your room or the pool each day. I did get a bit tired of fruit and croissants and felt that a little more variety would have been good. I might suggest buying yogurt or other breakfast foods at the market to mix it up a bit. We had lunch delivered to us most days and that was great. Victor was always ready to take your cerveca or mixed drink order and seemed to magically appear if you wanted another one. We LOVE Hotel Secreto !

That all said, it is not a hotel or location for everyone. Isla Mujeres is somewhat gritty and more tourist filled than I typically like. There are the typical tourist shops and beach vendors, but they are always respectful and can be lots of fun to talk with if you have the right attitude. Be prepared for the big unfinished condo complex that abuts the hotel's property. It is an eyesore, but we just tell ourselves that is is another "Mexican ruin" The road leading up to Secreto and Playa Media Luna is rutted and looks a little scary, but it is perfectly safe.

The restaurants are another reason we keep coming back to Isla Mujeres. My husband loves ceviche and has it every day for lunch...the best is at Brisa, next to the ferry. Try Picus and Valezquez for the whole fried fish, El Patio on Hidalgo and Argentinian Grill ( I think that's what it's called) We never spent more than $30 n hd great meals with drinks. Have fun...enjoy Isla Mujeres ....and relax and enjoy the vies at hotel Secreto. Oh, I amost t forgot to mention the new hot tub...it's awesome !

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieQ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2010

My husband and i were on the island for the first time 3/1/10 through 3/6/10. It was wonderful. We stayed at Hotel Secreto. We were very pleased with the location of our hotel. Quick walk to many restaurants and the beach. The staff were very friendly and took care of all our requests. Simple...relaxing...peaceful.

We enjoyed the food at Amigo's, Rolandi's downtown, Cubano's, and BallyHoo's. Very inexpensive dining.

We will definitely be vacationing here again!

1  Thank Lib2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Hotel Secreto is minutes away and a world apart from downtown Isla. If you are looking for a full-service hotel, then Secreto is not for you. But if you appreciate excellent architectural design, delightful and hospitable people and a wonderful view - this is your place. My friend and I stayed on the bottom floor - the only rooms with two beds - and felt that the pool area was our own swank beach house patio. (With three rooms per floor and a total of four floors there are not a lot of other people around so it's easy to feel that it's all yours.) The staff are delightful and are only too happy to bring by a drink or some food while lazing on the pool or to your room with a phone call. The bathroom is adequate and worked well for two women with all their stuff. i won't repeat other amenities that have been outlined in earlier reviews. Bottom line, it's not the Four Seasons, but it's also not $750 a night. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mairzydoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed at Secreto for three fabulous nights in early February. Walking into the lobby we knew we were in for a great stay. The glass and white decor is beautiful, serene, and minimalist.

The room on the fourth floor had a perfect view of the pool, the beach and sunrises. We enjoyed naps on the open-air porch in the afternoons. Although there is no restaurant in Secreto, the staff can order in food and they make delicious drinks, which they deliver to you at the pool, in your room, or on the beach. We think the pina coladas were the best we've ever tasted!

The highlights of Secreto are the hotel's proximity to the downtown area and Avenue Hidalgo, and the easy beach access. We walked from Secreto's beach all the way around the top of the island to Playa Norte within 10 minutes.

The heat was not turned on in the pool during our stay (we received a discounted rate on the room, though), so the water in the infinity pool was a bit cold. The large hot tub was nice and warm. We loved having our continental breakfast by the pool each morning. They brought a lovely breakfast of croissants, good coffee, fresh juice and fresh fruit. A single red rose way placed on the breakfast tray - nice touch!

We were very impressed with the staff, especially Rogelio. He met us at the desk the first day and was there every time we needed something (even when we locked the safe and couldn't get it open, and couldn't figure out how the door key worked!). Rogelio is the consumate host - always ready to help with anything we needed. He and the rest of the staff made our visit extra special.

Others have written about the lack of sun at Secreto. The way the hotel is positioned, the sun hit the beach until about 4:00 (during our visit). The pool area had less "sun time", but if you sit out by the hot tub you're fine.

We found the hotel to be a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeyeinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

If you decided to travel as far as Isla Mujeres, Secreto is definitely the best place to stay.
The exclusive, fantastic rooms and view. The breakfast is very simple.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advisor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

have just returned from a six night stay at the secreto hotel on isla mujeres and wanted to make a review from a hoteliers perspective, having worked in the hospitality industry for over 20 years.

The island: Is stunning - we loved the village area of the island where you will find lots of tourist shops, plenty of fabulous mexican restaurants and coffee shops and along the beach front some of the best seafood we have eaten. Superb.

The beaches are spectacular, beautiful blue sea - and very windy when we were there,

Hotel Secreto sits on the north of the island so the down side is the beach is not the best point of the island and as it is north facing - no sun hits the front of the rooms all day.

First impressions when you arrive at the hotel is its like a small miami beach house, 11 rooms in total - and the web site is pretty impressive, had plenty of great pr from conde naste - claiming to be the best boutique hotel in mexico for under 200 $.

Clearly it is so successful it can no longer live up to this claim - as we paid 235 USD a night plus taxes, which I though having stayed there 6 nights - was outrageously expensive - when really all this hotel is - is a bed and breakfast - nothing more nothing less.

The rooms are all very stylish and the beds are rather like sofitel my beds or starwoods heavenly beds, for anyone that has stayed in these brands.

the hotel for sure is boutique, but really over and above the room there is no other service in the hotel.

The gym - which is quite an impressive array of machinery - absolutely stunk when we stayed there - the generator was in the back of the gym, the door was open most of the time we were there, so the toxic smell coming from this - meant we couldnt use the gym - it literally ripped the back off your throat.

the pool was freezing you had to be pretty hard core to try and get in this - but the hot tub at the end of the pool overlooking the ocean was nice.

There is no bar, no restaurant - which to be fair is not a problem as you can walk 10 minutes and have plenty of choices, but I really felt for the price we were paying for the rooms, there should of been better services available.

Breakfast - was a real disappointment, if you are staying for 6 nights - cereal, orange juice, coffee and dry croissants every single day is boring to say the least and again for the price, really not acceptable.

Secreto is a cool hotel, I would recommend it for a one or two night stay - but really for anything longer, the facilities do not warrant the price they are charging - and frankly they need to change their web site, as is now not reflective of what the hotel is charging,

Not so sure I would return, but if you want a cool b and b - and are not expecting anything more than just a room then this is your place.

Staff are all very lovely and friendly as a final point.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank StevensonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We booked the Hotel Secreto for our five year anniversary. I found the hotel (on trip advisor) and my husband made all the reservations.
We took a taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel (which is located on the other side of the small island). The hotel is located on a dirt road behind some kind of town activity center. During check in we were greeted with some cold mimosas. Our room was not ready, so we left our luggage to have some lunch down the street on the beach.
Our room was ready after lunch and our room was located on the 3rd floor. The rooms are very spacious with a king size bed (our room). The bathroom is large with a large massage shower. The room has a safe, docking station for your ipod, blow dryer, iron & iron board, TV, DVD player and all the regular toiletries. The room came with 2 robes too! The bed was comfortable (not your regular hard Mexican bed that most hotels have), but the best thing of the room was the view with the bed on the balcony (where we took a nap every day). You could hear the ocean! We were there during the construction work around the pool deck area (I am sure that it is complete by now).
We did get to sit out by the pool on our last day (we were diving the other days) and there was a wedding next door so the construction stopped during the ceremony (very nice of them). I did go into the pool and it was cold (November), but I did swim to the end and loved the view. They are putting in a hot tub at the end of the pool. While you are on the deck the hotel staff will offer you drinks. There is no restaurant on the premises, but they do have a breakfast. It offered toast, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, fruit and cereal. Which was fine for us, but if you want a big breakfast there are plenty of places in walking distance. They also had trays available so that you could have breakfast in your room (which is what we did every day).
The hotel is quiet and is located at a great location. We were able to walk to our dive shop (right around the corner), Sea Hawk Divers and the beach. The main shopping street was only a 10 minute walk. We rented a golf cart and were able to see the entire Island is about 3 hours (that included a stop at the turtle farm).
The staff was very friendly and even set up our anniversary dinner at the Sunset Grill. If we get back to Isla Mujeres we will stay here! The best kept secret in Mexico.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,430 reviews
2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Secreto

Address: Seccion Rocas Lote 11 | Punta Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £197 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Secreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler's 50 Best New Hotels in the World. Hotel Secreto is a sleek nine-room hideaway - Santorini-meets-Schrager style. Constantly upgrading, the hotel was renovated in 2005 to include a 20 meter lap pool and an all junior suite lay-out. Designed by an award-winning architect, the hotel looks more like a slick private beach house. Modern touches such as WI-FI and pre-loaded iPods are part of an enhanced poolside service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Secreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secreto Hotel Isla Mujeres
Secreto Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing