We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Marcianito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marcianito
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good hotel, good location”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in a double room in this hotel- it was big, clean, with a nice clean ensuite and a fan (no air conditioning so it did get a bit hot but not too bad). The only thing is that they didn't serve breakfast- but we bought our own from a local shop which was very cheap so it wasn't a problem. The island is very small so there isn't really a 'bad' location but I thought this was well located- surrounded by little shops and restaurants, a two minute walk to the main strip of bars and about 10 minutes walk to the end of the amazing white sandy beach. Stay on this island for twice as long as you think you want to stay- it is so beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisewitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    67
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
12
74
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed one night in this hotel with my girlfriend in a private ensuite double room.
Great location, very clean with nice furniture and safe box. Comfy mattress (very important!), friendly staff. The only down side is that there is no air con, only a roof fan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulio1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel is a great price, location and property. Beds are decent, staff are great. Gabriel was amazing in accomodating a surprise for us. Nice to have the option to pay with credit card at the other hotel (was not able to once becuase of the credit card machine). Will stay here again for sure. Safe and Friendly. No AC however.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iheartisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice. It's well located and within easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops, bars, and the port where you take the ferry to and from the mainland. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable enough. We visited in December and February so the temperature is quite comfortable. The only real downside is that it can be noisy at night. Bring earplugs. This hotel is very small and very simple. The staff are friendly and courteous but they speak little English. Keep in mind that you're in Mexico and they speak Spanish. Overall, this is a good place to stay in Isla Mujeres and a very good value. We only paid US$35 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Clean. TV with many channels. No wifi but internet cafe next door. Nice hardworking people. Great views from top floor to downtown street. 300 pesos for darker downstairs, 350 upstairs.

Room Tip: top floor front recommended for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Marcianito earlier this month. The hotel was clean, and although there was only a fan, the rooms were still pretty cool at night. I would recommend being on the upper 2 floors though, because the breeze was a huge asset.
We got a mini fridge brought into the room . ($15 MEX/ day) which was great as it provided a cool place to keep cervesas etc...
My only complaints during our 1 week stay were...
-It is pretty noisy until 12 am.... being so close to Ave,. Hidalgo was great, but it was noisy...
Also, at checkout, there was some errors in their billing.. significant enough to notice.. if booking online and making a paypal deposit or something,.... be sure to bring the emails/ paperwork.. or else they may try and charge you for everything.... it was a bit of a let down after our great/ amazing stay.
this may have been because of communication errors within the family staff...
The family running the hotel was friendly. and i would return. :)

Room Tip: Room 12 was great.. go for floor 2 or 3..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tech_Zilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Location - Excellent location right in the middle of downtown Isla Mujeres. Only a 5 minute walk to the main swimming beach, Playa Norte. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, also a small supermarket is quite close as well (HSBC bank machine can be found here). Lots of scooter/moped and golf cart hire places nearby as well (we recommend Pepe's on Hidalgo for mopeds).

Room - Small room, but we had no expectation of anything larger. At the end of the day, it is a budget hotel. Bathroom was small, but no complaints at all. Room was cleaned every day. Overall, very clean room. Other reviews have said it was noisy, but we didn't have a problem with it at all.

Service - Very friendly and helpful. Didn't speak english, but this wasn't a problem for us (and we know no Spanish). You can't use a credit card to pay for your room. We didn't have any cash on us when we arrived, and they let us check into our room and pay later.

Other/Extra - We would recommend hiring a scooter/moped and going to see the entire island. Isla Mujeres is a great place for a relaxing holiday, and this little hotel suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJandDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#32 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcianito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcianito

Property: Hotel Marcianito
Address: Calle Abasolo 10, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Marcianito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marcianito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcianito Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing