We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was our first stay on Isla Mujeres and this hotel was a great introduction. We will definitely go back to this place. In fact, we are already planning our next trip and hope to bring family as well.

We had flight problems and got to the hotel at 11:30 PM instead of mid-afternoon as intended. We had been able to stay in touch with the owner by email during our flight and she kindly waited up for us. We were surprised to find that the room had air-conditioning. We did not use/need it the rest of the week, but it sure was welcome that first night. After she showed us the room and explained everything, she disappeared for a couple minutes and then returned with water and COLD BEER. We knew right away that we were in the right place.

The owners speak English as their native language which was helpful. The room and indeed, the entire hotel were very well kept - looked almost new. The roof had a number of lounge chairs and even a dipping pool which we used daily. When we sat outside our room on a comfortable couch to read late at night, their quiet dog kept guard over us.

The hotel was just a short block away from the main drag. Far enough to avoid the noise, and close enough to get there in a minute or two. We were a short 4-5 minute walk from a stunning beach. You could walk out a football field's length and still only have water up to your chest. Lots of fish bumping into your legs. And the food service on the beach was great.

The hotel has free wi-fi service. Be assured that the pictures on the hotel's web-site do not do it justice. It is even better than the web pictures.

This is certainly the best place to stay on the island. Quiet friendly service, spotless rooms and facilities, access to everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
112
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

So, let me start by saying that any review wouldn't do this place justice - it's really that great. Travelling with a 21 month old has its challenges, but we couldn't have picked a better spot to spend 5 nights on Isla. From the play pen supplied by the hosts, to the microwave and fridge in our suite, to the resident canine, Cachito, who never tired of playing fetch with our little guy, everything was spot on perfect. We felt so secure and comfortable that after a few days we'd go chill on the roof, leaving the little guy sleeping in our suite, then come down and check on him periodically. As most reviewers have pointed out the location is superb. We ate quite a few fabulous meals across the street at the loncherias. You only need go next door for ice cold Modelos from the tienda (about a buck a bottle). The beach is so close. Well, actually, everything you need is within a few minutes walk. For me, the best part of our stay was probably hearing my wife say how relaxed she felt. After all, that’s one of the main reasons to go on vacation – to relax. Kate and Safari have created a warm island vibe that you can’t help but soak up. I do harbour a slight grudge against them though, as I've been home for over a month now and still haven’t readjusted to life without a shade deck and a hammock. To Kate and Safari, a thousand Thank Yous. Til next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

You may not want to leave this place! We intended on staying a night or 2 at Las Palmas but ended up rearranging our plans so we could stay. Kate and Safari run the place like clockwork, there to chat and give advice if wanted and if not you'd never know they were there. The new roof terrace is perfect for a nice beer while watching the sunset - one of the only places in Mexico you get a sunset! The location is perfect, 2 minutes from the beach and town centre. We are coming to the end of our trip around Mexico and are already looking forward to going back to Isla Mujeres in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank greyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed for just under a week and loved it - the perfect introduction to Mexico for two first-timers. Clean, friendly, and perfectly located. But the best thing about Las Palmas was our hosts - we wished we could have taken Kate & Safari with us for their advice and good humour for the rest of our holiday. Everything they recommended was great, from dive shops to mainland trips. Kate said Isla was best experienced by staying a month - I hope to take her advice soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TroisVerres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Kate, Safari & Dania are now considered good friends, and even more, extended family. It was our 3rd time staying @ LasPalmas, and I'm not sure what I was more excited about, seeing them, or being on the beautiful Island.
The hotel is very clean and with comfortable beds and great surroundings, but there is more. It is what these people radiate, warmth & kindness and making you feel welcome and at home. They listen to each of their guests with interest & much needed patience, at times.
The guests return to Las Palmas for the feeling...meeting new & old friends...While we were there, there were 5 couples staying at LasPalmas, that we had met before. And because we had such a positive stay, we continue to see, some of the friends that we have made @ LasPalmas, in Canada. We have something in common...Las Palmas, & Isla & an interest in people.
I lift my "Marguarita" to Kate & Safari, you have created a place to remember, and a place that you always want to return. Nancy (kisses to Dania)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewBrunswickJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

What a fantastic, warm and friendly hotel! Kate and Safari were very hospitable and I found this to be the perfect place for my first solo vacation. I have traveled to Isla once before but this was my first time staying at Las Palmas.

The rooms were very basic, but clean and had what you needed. The general set-up of the hotel was great; there is a courtyard area on the ground floor, a small shaded sitting area on the second floor and a beautiful roof-top deck with a small dipping pool. Before I came, I didn't think I would utilize much of this, but I ended up using all of it!

Another wonderful thing about Las Palmas is location, location, location.....Hotel Las Palmas is located 1 block away from Playa Norte and 1 block away from Avenida Hidalgo. It's so close to everything, but far enough that you don't hear any of the street noise at night. (Not that Isla is loud at night, but you don't hear a lot of cars or people, etc.).

If you're looking for a super luxurious, all inclusive type hotel, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a basic, affordable hotel with very friendly and knowledgable owners, stay here! This was the perfect atmosphere for my first solo vacation and I met so many wonderful people while I was there. I'm already planning my next trip back to this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This hotel was the perfect choice for a solo female traveller. It is well situated in a safe location just a block away from Isla's spectacular beaches and the central shopping and restaurant area, as well as directly across the street from affordable and tasty breakfast and lunch options at the local loncherias.

Kate and Safari are wonderful hosts and make their guests feel totally at home. My room was basic, comfortable and clean, but it was really the extra personal touches that make Las Palmas a place I look forward to returning to.

The decor is cheerful and creative, and the rooftop patio is a great place should you need a break from the beach with a plunge pool, loungers, hammock, sunbed, and ample space for a little yoga if the mood strikes you.

The interior courtyard serves as a bit of a meeting place where guests interact over coffee each morning and throughout the day. This was a great feature for a solo traveller wanting to meet and socialize with new people.

The owners also have extensive knowledge of the island and are happy to provide advice and recommendations for dining, sightseeing, activities and travel arrangements.

Overall Las Palmas was a great base for a relaxed, laid back holiday on Isla.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NB_Chrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing