We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend a week, a month!”
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Oliver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a week, a month!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you like affordable, laid back comfort that's very clean and safe, then this friendly family run "home away from home" is the right place to stay for a long while. It has great beds and pillows, quiet frig and AC, a robust shower, whimsical surroundings, and a genuinely welcoming atmosphere from the hostesses (Kate, Safari and Dania) not to mention other guests who step right in to help out. There are small spaces where you can be quiet and away from folks or, alternately, a roof top kitchen and bar to gather at and to share food and stories with like-minded travelers from spots around the world. There's a well stocked library and a dipping pool, too. Your choice. Less than 2 blocks away are wonderful white sand beaches, lively and well priced eateries, markets and more. I met lots of repeat visitors - and I intend to become one of them!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
116
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Kate and Safari have created the perfect blend of comfort, coziness, and convenience on Isla. You won't find a better bargain; a friendlier, consumer oriented management team than K & S. My stays often involve work, and I find the 2nd and 3rd floor terraces excellent locations to conduct a little business via wifi and to catch up on my reading and writing.

I've been visiting Isla since 1968! I have 2 go-to places on the island, and Las Palmas is one of them.

Hector "El Gato" G.

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor and relatively close to the street (usually a quiet locale).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Arriving by ferry at Isla Mujeres in darkness, my friend and I were soon trotting through the streets until we arrived at the welcoming door of Hotel Las Palmas and found ourselves in the inner, open-air courtyard surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. We were greeted warmly by Kate and Safari, a Canadian mother/daughter team with years of experience on the island, and ushered up a flight of stairs to discover, with relief, a simple clean room with comfortable beds, air conditioning and ceiling fan, tiled spotless en suite bathroom with hot water shower and fully functioning plumbing. Kate loves to paint and the walls of her little hotel show off her talent. She has lovingly created a small world that quickly feels like home.

Come morning on the first of ten days, we climbed another flight of stairs to the rooftop. Here guests of all ages and many countries gather for coffee, share the outdoor kitchen if that is their desire, laze in the sun, cool off in the refreshing dipping pool, enjoy Happy Hour together and share the adventures of their day. The atmosphere is friendly and inclusive. This is no wild party place though the island provides that too. At Las Palmas, soft voices murmur as the sky darkens and the stars emerge.

For those who treasure solitude, a small library can be a retreat or any one of a number of tucked away spots perfect for relaxing in a hammock with a book. Social or reclusive the choice is yours. Some like to hither and thither. Others are inclines to yawn, purr and stretch. Choices open up each day. Kate helps facilitate so the choice becomes a reality.

The island pace is slow, the size manageable. Golf carts are the favoured mode of transportation for the more distant sights. White sand beaches lie a short stroll away as does a good snorkeling lagoon. Opposite the hotel are small Mexican restaurants, a mercado where fresh squeezed orange juice and tropical fruit can be purchased. Kate and Safari are generous with their knowledge (Where can I find the most delicious flan? Rent a bicycle in good repair? Find a bar with great live music?) and will help with planning day trips too.

Ten days was far too short a stay. Immersed again in the 'fast forward' mode of my everyday life, Hotel Las Palmas is becoming a sweet dream remembered. No wonder so many guests return. It is a fine choice.

Room Tip: Most rooms open out onto the central courtyard. Rooms on the second floor seem to catch the cross b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We just returned from a 7 night stay at Las Palmas, we loved it. From the time we arrived on the island with its laid back, easy vibe to our arrival at the hotel where we met the owner Kate, it was a great experience. The hotel has a great energy to it, its funky, bohemian atmosphere rubs off on all who inhabit it. You can be social if you want or keep to yourself, the hotel has lots of nice places to do both. Our room was ground floor, clean (cleaned daily), great showers (good pressure, hot), comfortable beds, fridge and AC. The second floor has some nice outdoor spots to relax with a good book or some conversation with the other guests. The roof top was our favourite spot to relax and socialize. There is a dipping pool, washroom, full outdoor kitchen to cook if you choose and lots tables,chairs and sun beds to enjoy. The other guests we met were interesting and lots of fun, we would usually meet on the roof arond 4pm for "happy hour" which was a fun way to meet new friends and find out what adventures they had that day. The location was almost perfect, Playa Norte (beautiful beach) 1 minute down the street, and 1 block over from the main street (pedestrian) Hidalgo where all the main restaurants and shops are, across the street the 4 loncherias which were an inexpensive alternative to eat some good Mexican food. The other guests were from all over the world and the social aspect was always fun, easy and interesting. The owner Kate (she is Canadian and speaks english which can be important) was always around if you needed anything and was always kind and helpful. If you want a great place to stay on Isla the Las Palmas is definately worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Just came back from a 12 day stay at Las Palmas. It is exactly what I was looking for as a single female traveler. Not only was it safe and clean... but it offered the best beds and pillows I've found, quiet AC, my own fridge (not just the little cube sized one... the 4 ft high one), hot water, good reading light, beach towels, great owners, lots of common space to nap or socialize and a convenient and chilly dipping pool to get refreshed. I expect to make this my home away from home from now on. I can see why this was ranked as #1 when I checked it back in September.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I have visited Mexico off and on for over 25 years and have always enjoyed Isla Mujares....it is a laid-back, peaceful, and friendly island...little has changed, at least downtown, except it has grown more expensive. Since I hadn't been back to Isla in some time I checked on TA and saw that Hotel Las Palmas was rated #1 and was relatively inexpensive. I stay a couple of nites and the place is OK. Kate is a friendly and a smart hotel owner. She has taken a very typical Mexican town hotel and given it a make-over. It has a new paint-job and big potted plants in the garden area....unfortunately the rooms are still small and cave-like. It is more like a hostel with it's kitchen area on the third floor without the hostel price. The place is clean as are most hotel on this island...it has a good location but Isla is so small that every hotel, at least downtown, has a good location...if your a first-time traveler to Mexico and your looking to stay with an American surragote family than this is your place; it will be like being back home with your mom in Des Moines only with a tropical back-drop...but if you're even a mildly seasoned traveler stay at the Rocamar or Francis Arleen and enjoy the view of the Caribbean with real Mexicans...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1Kulkulcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is a great place to stay in Isla Mujeres! The owners are awesome & the staff is super. The rooms are affordable & comfortable. Hot water with pressure! You don't find that everyday in the Caribbean! We stayed on the second floor facing Guerrero Street. Plenty of room & storage space for the two of us. It's a nice place to stay for your laid back vacation in Isla!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwelborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing