We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best hotel on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

safari and the gang are so great, i haven't been in years, but i still think of these guys all the time. the hotel makes you feel like home from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. very close to everywhere you wanna be. 2 blocks away from one of the most amazing beaches anywhere. love this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
112
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst,MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I had just spent 2 days at a "luxury" B and B on Isla and it was great....wanted to try a new place. Loved this place! If you want a laid-back atmosphere, lots of friendly people and a great location ( right across from the market), look no more. If you want fancy stuff, go elsewhere.
Rooms are nice, beds comfortable. Beach towels and yoga mats available.... roof kitchen/outside area with chairs and a "cool" tub.
I will be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for a better room.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Isla Mujeres. My adventure included a stay at 3 different hotels on the island, and by far Hotel Las Palmas was the most welcoming, fun & relaxing place that I stayed.
The roof top deck is spacious, and includes an outdoor kitchen where guests gather over morning coffee, chatting, laughing & becoming friends. There are many lounging options from tables & chairs overlooking the lively street below to a custom made soaking pool!
The first floor has a courtyard with beautiful greenery that create intimate spaces to read & relax, with a fresh water cooler a frig with soda & chocolate, and a nice library.
Kate, her daughter Safari & little Dania are the onsite owners, and have a lovely way about them that cause you to instantly relax, and be present in the moment. The rooms have special touches, excellent water pressure, and of course the beds are so comfortable (by far the best nights sleep), with mosquito netting and crisp sheets.
The beach is so close, restaurants are abundant & very good +++, you can walk to shops of all kinds, book snorkeling trips & check the internet easily while enjoying the leisurely pace.
Hotel Las Palmas is one of those rare places that you dream about finding...and know that you will return to, over & over again.
Great for solo travelers, very safe, I felt comfortable being out at night, and so happy to return to my home away from home after an excellent dinner.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and was peaceful with a nice breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noire48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I don't know what I can add to the other five star reviews. The beds are comfortable, which is important, and it's surprising how many hotel reviews don't mention the comfort level of the beds. These are quality mattresses: good support, but not hard as a rock. Decent pillows, so you won't end up with a sore neck.

All that other stuff about Kate & Safari, cleanliness and affordability are all true.

The courtyard plants and the paint job create a very cool vibe.

Room Tip: I would go for the second floor to take advantage of the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Las Palmas Isla Mujeres from the middle of January for a month. . The owners, Kate and her daughter Safari had a little difficulty understanding how pleased we were simply to be able to do very little or sometimes nothing at all! It is a delightful, slightly quirky small hotel with about 12 bedrooms (a new penthouse has been added this year) wonderfully decorated and extremely comfortable. There is a kitchen for residents on the roof where some people cook meals and most evenings the guests get together for a happy hour margarita session, but there is no pressure to join in. Pots of coffee are prepared every morning. The location is very quiet, considering it is very close to the main restaurant area, and whether you walk north, south or east, you will come to the beach within about 400 yards. The beach at Playa Norte is particularly pleasant with the crystal clear water only being waist deep and masses of fish that love to be fed. It is not possible to visualise a more delightful place for a lovely, relaxing idle holiday staying with lovely people.
Maureen and Dick
From Gloucester England

Room Tip: Rooms on the first (upper) floor seem to be a little more airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dickandmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you like affordable, laid back comfort that's very clean and safe, then this friendly family run "home away from home" is the right place to stay for a long while. It has great beds and pillows, quiet frig and AC, a robust shower, whimsical surroundings, and a genuinely welcoming atmosphere from the hostesses (Kate, Safari and Dania) not to mention other guests who step right in to help out. There are small spaces where you can be quiet and away from folks or, alternately, a roof top kitchen and bar to gather at and to share food and stories with like-minded travelers from spots around the world. There's a well stocked library and a dipping pool, too. Your choice. Less than 2 blocks away are wonderful white sand beaches, lively and well priced eateries, markets and more. I met lots of repeat visitors - and I intend to become one of them!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Kate and Safari have created the perfect blend of comfort, coziness, and convenience on Isla. You won't find a better bargain; a friendlier, consumer oriented management team than K & S. My stays often involve work, and I find the 2nd and 3rd floor terraces excellent locations to conduct a little business via wifi and to catch up on my reading and writing.

I've been visiting Isla since 1968! I have 2 go-to places on the island, and Las Palmas is one of them.

Hector "El Gato" G.

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor and relatively close to the street (usually a quiet locale).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing