We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#1”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“#1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I love this hotel. I have lots of great memories here. Every time I think about my visits to Hotel Las Palmas, I have a big smile on my face and a warm feeling in my heart. I have stayed here a few times and I will keep coming back. You can't keep me away.

The welcoming feeling of the hotel is very authentic and real than those larger mega hotels in Cancun. You couldn't ask for a better location on the island. You are close to the downtown strip and the beach. The facilities and the hotel cleanliness is top notch. But by far the best thing about this place is the lovely staff. Katie, Safari and Dania are the most amazing people. They make you feel right home in their hotel. They are helpful, kind, and the most wonderful family. You won't be disappointed in your stay at Hotel Las Palmas, Isla Mujeres. I would recommend Las Palmas to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingwilbury1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
116
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I’ve stayed here 3 years in a row now and for me it is perfect! Las Palmas has everything I am looking for when I am decompressing on Isla Mujeres. If you are looking for a private hotel with marble floors a large pool and flat screen tv’s, this is not the place for you. Las Palmas has none of those upscale attributes; however what it does have is what most travelers are looking for when they come to Isla Mujeres. The hotel is inexpensive, has a social atmosphere, is in a great location and best of all has friendly/caring owners.

The rooms are very clean and modestly decorated. The hotel has about 20 rooms that surround a warmly inviting common area located in the middle of the hotel. The owners have also added a new rooftop area that is wonderful and fun to hang out at during the daily “Happy hours” and in the evening.

Tables, couches, palm trees and plants decorate the entire hotel and this makes you feel more like you are staying at a home than a hotel.

I have stayed at numerous hotels all around the Island, and Las Palmas is my favorite. What more can I say? I can’t wait till I get back there in January 2013.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottymex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Peabody and Sherman's review gives a great description of the layout of the hotel. Their review is incredibly detailed. :-)

I had booked the king balcony room on the 2nd floor but when I got there, there was a problem with the electrics so Safari kindly offered me the penthouse suite instead. This suite is on the roof top and is bright (lots of windows) and clean..I had thoughts of Ikea when I opened the door..lol. There is a bed, 2 night tables, chair, a small table and chairs to eat at, mini fridge and shelves for you to put your things. One thing that I suggested, is, that the shower window needs to have an opaque covering (at least the lower 1/2 of the window) as you are staring out at people on a balcony across from you.

Location..heading north you can get to the beach (Chimbo's, Tarzan) in 5 minutes or so. Chairs cost 100 pesos at the beach for 2 loungers, 1 table and 1 umbrella. Across the street is the market and the wonderful 4 loncherias. Hidalo is around the corner in a matter of minutes. There's a store steps away that sells pop and beer.

I'm happy that I stayed here as I was curious about it. :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was our second stay at the hotel and we stayed for two weeks this time. What a wonderful place to stay. The hotel is squeaky clean, quiet and air-conditioned if you really need it. Since last year, they've built a large new room on the roof and also a large outdoor kitchen with any appliance that you might need. The hotel is within a block or two of just about everything. I'd say it's a two minute walk to reach 20-30 restaurants and maybe 4-5 minutes to the beach. This has to be one of the best hotels on the island and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We like room #1 since it gets good airflow. The new Dream room should also catch good breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I love hotel Las Palmas! Everyone there is very welcoming! I loved my room, felt like my own. The owners were always friendly. There is 3 levels to this hotel. I LOVED how there are hammocks everywhere. If I felt like getting away, there was a place on every floor for me to get comfortable. LOCATION IS AMAZING! It's right behind Hidalgo street which is where you go get dinner n it's right in front of the market where you can get freshly squeezed Orange juice! I love this place. Definitely will be coming back and I definitely suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzramirez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

After a two month trip through Mexico and Belize this last January and February, I'm sitting here in rainy Oregon dreaming about going back to Isla Mujeres. What an amazing place! We enjoyed our time, almost two weeks, at Las Palmas. It is such a relaxed place, with an interior courtyard full of green plants, bright flowers and colorful curtains blowing in the breeze. The owners are awesome and constantly making improvements to the hotel. Our kids, ages 6 & 8, LOVED this hotel. They loved exploring and finding little nooks to sit in, they loved chatting and playing with everyone up on the top deck, they loved the hotel dog and they enjoyed the cooling pool upstairs. We liked how close we were to everything there, the best snorkeling beach just a 5 min walk away, the completely charming main foodie street filled with more restaurants than we had time to sample just around the corner, and the outdoor kitchen upstairs, which was in frequent use during our stay and a fun social gathering spot. The hotel also has a nice library with lots of reading materials, including guidebooks and maps, as well as games. There are several good laundries within a block each way of the hotel and the golf cart rental store just up the street from the hotel is one of the best in town. There is a place in the market across the street where you can buy freshly made tortillas very inexpensively, and if you are lucky you can also buy some delicious slow roasted pork there and put together a fabulous meal very affordably. My daughter and I enjoyed getting up early and sitting up on the top deck overlooking the street watching as the day and the market slowly began. The island itself has such a nice atmosphere. At the post office across the street, the clerk took his time carefully fashioning a box for me out of cardboard from scratch to make sure my ceramic souvenirs would make it home without breaking. (They did!) On our way out of town we ran into one of the hotel maids and the hairdresser down the street who waved goodbye and called our daughter by name. Everyone was so friendly. I highly recommend both Las Palmas and Isla Mujeres. If you are travelling with kids, check out Rolandi's, a great restaurant with personal size pizzas, kid sized spaghetti, a fun atmosphere and lots of great adult food options too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
point roberts, washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Back in 2004 I stayed at Hotel Las Palmas and had problems with the cleaners at the hotel taking my money while I was not there. A few years ago the hotel was sold to an amazing canadian and ever since it is a peasure to see how wonderful the hotel is and how happy the guests are. Kudos to the Hotel Las Palmas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing