We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stand in a King Size bed!”
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Newly renovated with full size roof top patio with a view which has a wee pool to cool off after sunbathing! Run by a very friendly canadian family. Has very clean rooms . We were given such good local advise re: snorkelling from the shore, the turtle farm , the Playa Lancheros for a dip and for it´s huge serving of barbecued fish!

We had stayed elsewhere on Isla for three nights and had checked out quite a few others too but fell for this place at first sight. Unfortunately we only had time for one night . It was cool, quiet and comfortable with a great fan.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chipsliz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Palmas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2009

Although we were there only a couple of nights the entire family went out of their way to accommodate our group's impromptu stay. We found the place by accident but it was much nicer and cleaner (not to mention friendlier) than the other ½ dozen places we checked on the island. Their prices were very reasonable and its proximity to good food and the beach can barely be beat – especially for the price. It has a bit of that bohemian vibe (which we like) but the standards are on par with what you would get for a 100$ room state side. That said, it has a lot more charm. Don’t miss the roof-top lounge and dipping pool; do miss the “chicken room” (the room located outside the neighboring rooster pens) unless you mind listening to the cooing crows of roosters throughout your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocketMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the newly renovated Las Palmas. As well as being clean and wonderfully located in the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres, it is like a home away from home. The new hands-on Canadian owners hospitality makes it such a pleasant place to relax in the courtyard, bask on the rooftop and enjoy this beautiful island. There is nothing like the feeling as you come home from the beach that there is a genuine smile there to greet you and an ear to listen and share should you want it. Not a stuffy five-star resort but a place to come and hang your hat, an authentic Mexican feel, a home away from home during your stay. Comfortable and welcoming a real gem.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed at Las Palmas for 5 days in Jan. 09 and enjoyed our stay alot. The hotel has been completely renovated by the new owner (Kate) and her family. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the upper deck and dipping pool were the hilight of our stay. After cruising the streets and beaches all day it was so nice to come back to our hotel and relax with a refreshing dip and a good book. Right across the street from the local market and some very good resturants .( great prices )
It's all about the people and Kate and family were great (Canadians). Can't wait to go back!
Mel McArter and Ross Towers

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travelinfool024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

It has been two weeks now since returning from a 10 day holiday in Isla Mujeres and nine of those days we stayed at a delightful little hotel called Las Palmas. We found it by accident wandering the town at the north end of the island... we tend to equate travel as an adventure as well as a vacation so we seldom book anything beyond our flight and sometimes the first nights' hotel at the destination... It leads us to experiences that might otherwise be missed by locking into an all-inclusive or fully booked situation. Such was the case this time, we met relaxed friendly people, in the small courtyard of the Inn, from all over the world, travelers on world tours, casual vacationers like ourselves, students, seniors and families... all passed through, or like us lingered for a few days to enjoy the feeling of living in Mexico in a hotel that seemed more natural and intrinsic than the large white behemoths, 100 yards down the little lane that led to the Playa Norte... and at a fraction of the cost...Las Palmas is a Mexican style Hotel that has been totally remodeled and up-dated by the owner, Kate, and her two daughters. The plumbing is new and efficient by the country's standards, terrific showers with hot water, it has Air-conditioning, fans, wireless, new beds and mattresses with fresh new linens... such a treat when traveling... a lovely roof-top deck with potted palms and a dipping pool for cooling when the sun's rays become too intense, and nicest of all a warm and generous host in Kate and her two daughters Jasmin and Safari, offering helpful information, suggestions, and a willingness to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The beaches and restaurants are nearby, without being in the hub of the nightlife that Isla offers, it makes a perfect place to stay while visiting the rest of the islands' sites. I expect those wanting Satellite TVs and stocked bar fridges may not find it to their liking but there are plenty of those down the road at five times the price so everyone can have what they want... Isla Mujeres is a great place to visit, just 20 minutes by regular ferry from Cancun, it makes a special out of the way place to be based when visiting the Mexican Riviera, but well within reach of everything that this wonderful part of Mexico has to offer... I'm starting to sound like a PR Promo... the sun is still inside me... just want to add we are already making plans to return there in November, and yes we will be staying at Las Palmas if there is a vacancy...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank theorbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I wish I could write a positive here but Las Palmas is really not a great deal for the $$. The owners are certainly friendly.
But I would say at this point, this place has more of a hostel vibe than that of a hotel. Our room was tiny, there wasn't any table or luggage rack, and with 3 bags, that makes for a pretty cramped and awkward space. Ugly decor too. My guess is many of the positive reviews were written by family/friends. (Understandable, but deceptive)
The bathroom is tiny, plus no hot water. When we mentioned this to the owner, we were told to just keep it running..we did..for 10 minutes, still no hot water!
If you enjoy privacy, this isn't your place. You hear everything being said in the courtyard, plus one always has to interact with the owner(s) whenever walking in and out. Very public kind of space.
Decent rooftop. No bar.

I think this is a good place for people expecting hostel digs. But for the $$, there is much better value elsewhere. We regretted this choice, and moved on after a day to a nicer spot.

Stayed: February 2009
11  Thank greenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We just got back from a week-long stay at Las Palmas. This is just a fantastic little hotel. Ignore the old reviews on here, that was before it was renovated. It is now owned and run by Kate and her daughters, a wonderful Canadian family. They speak English and Spanish. They have completely renovated the hotel and live there, so their care and pride really shines though. The rooms are super clean, with comfortable beds, very quiet air conditioners, and plenty of hot water with good water pressure in the shower. In the morning, everyone congregates in the courtyard and sips on coffee that Kate has made (a donation of 10 pesos is recommended). In the afternoons, people can be found up on the rooftop deck, taking in the sun, cooling off in the dipping pool, conversing with other guests, reading, playing games. The hotel is around the corner from North Beach, and across the street from the lonchorias, where you can get the cheapest and best breakfast on Isla. I really could go on and on about this place, but you need to experience it for yourself. I've included some pictures from our trip, email me if you have any questions. If you do stay here tell Kate Megan says hi! (and be sure to make a reservation, she is filling up fast!). :)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsFordice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £37 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing