We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious chicken”

Rosticeria La Mexicana
Ranked #63 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Another great place to either eat in or take home. Can't beat the price, or quality of the food. The pickled onions are great. We often stopped after a day at the beach for a late lunch/early supper. Have been going there for years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have been here on both of our visits to Isla Mujeres and both times the food was perfect. You can't beat the prices or quality of food here. Excellent service too.


Closes at 5pm or earlier if they run out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect example of good Mexican food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Loved it...had the half chicken with spaghetti one day and half chicken with rice another...loved the pickled onions...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Chicken!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Fresh chicken, rubbed with mild spices, cooked slow on a rotisserie, what more do you need?
Located on the north end of Hildago Street in El Centro.
Picked up a chicken one afternoon and glad we did. We were looking for a simple meal for our room that night and this place hit the spot. We did a carry out order and for $8 we walked out with a tender, tasty whole chicken(cut up for us), black bean puree, pickled onions, rice, salsa picante(not too spicy)and a stack of fresh made tortillas! All for $8!! We ate on it for two days! I don't know what how they grow their chickens in that region but every chicken dish we ate was tender, juicy and full of flavor. This one was no exception! Highly recommend this place. Simple and delicious!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious street dining! Perfect lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided on this little spot at the north end if Hidalgo. Best choice we made since arriving on the island. We split a half chicken for lunch and it was the perfect amount. Delicious food and stellar prices... 100 pesos for food and 2 cokes. We'll definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurraah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosticeria La Mexicana also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rosticeria La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing