We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection”
Review of Sabor

Sabor
Ranked #72 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Located at Privilege Aluxes Hotel, offering Breakfast buffet, theme nights buffet style dinner & a la carte lunch. Air Conditioning, Terrace Lounge Area, modern look, no reservation required.
Restaurant details
Description: Located at Privilege Aluxes Hotel, offering Breakfast buffet, theme nights buffet style dinner & a la carte lunch. Air Conditioning, Terrace Lounge Area, modern look, no reservation required.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good selection”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We ate breakfast here as part of our hotel plan. There was a good selection of food and you could get eggs any way you wanted at the grill. My only complaint with the restaurant was that in the evenings there was one are that served a specialty meat that really needed to have a heat element under the food not over it. The meat was always cold there although it had a very good flavor. Service was very good and the severs were attentive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kclady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    43
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Since we are staying at Privilege Aluxes Hotel, we are enjoying a free breakfast buffet at Sabor every morning and are VERY pleased with the food selection and service. We especially like the made to order omelets and the sweet bread. The fruit and juices (love the green juice) are fresh. Can't beat the price - included in the price of the room is ALWAYS good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dllrschll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great dining”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

sabor is actually quite a good restaurant to visit
service is self service buffet and it has a large and varied menu that changes each night
waiters are very friendly and will go that little bit further to please

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Improving...”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We ate at Sabor because we were staying at Privilege Aluxes on the all-inclusive plan. This was our third stay at PA so therefore our third round of meals at Sabor. This time our adult kids and their spouses came with us. We all agreed that the Saturday night Mexican buffet was our best meal we ate there. There were several tasty Mexican choices (tacos al pastor, chicken mole, chips/guacamole/pico de gallo and a few others I can't remember). Other than that dinner, we only ate breakfast at the buffet since we all preferred lunch at Cafe del Mar and dinner at Cafe del Mar or Satay.

Breakfasts had probably 30% of the choices of any other all-inclusive we've visited. That being said, there was always plenty to eat and no one went hungry. The cook-to-order egg station remains the highlight of breakfast. Other choices included sausage, potatoes, Mexican items, fruit, yogurt, toast, French toast, pastries, cold cereal, cold cuts, juice, coffee, etc. Bacon was never on the buffet but if you want it, ask the chef at the omelet station for a few pieces (he has it for the omelets).

The hot food seemed to be kept at a higher temperature than we experienced when we were there previously, a nice improvement.

Service at breakfast varied from very fast (when Jorge was there - he worked the entire room quickly and efficiently while other waiters stood around) to extremely slow.

One telling comment from our party: our daughter, who has been to at least 10 all-inclusives with her husband, said, "Breakfast is usually my favorite meal at all-inclusives and here it's my least favorite." Despite the improvements we noted, I would have to agree with her.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frugaltravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner buffet is just ok”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My family was here for dinner on a Thursday night. Not even sure if they have a menu but we were all told to go thru the buffet. Maybe they assumed we were on the All Inclusive package??? We were not staying at that hotel. Anyhow, we went thru the buffet and there were a couple nice items. The shrimp bisque was quite good. Shrimpy but not overwhelming. There was also paella, homemade pasta, fresh salmon cooked to order, fish cooked in parchment, salads, sliced meats, desserts, and many other things I've forgotten. The single best thing was the salmon. I was glad when the cook asked me how well I liked my fish done. Aside from the bisque and the salmon, nothing else was that good. I didn't pay the bill but whatever the cost was, it was not worth it. Everyone at the table felt the same and there were nearly 15 of us. There was also some misunderstanding about our reservation. We had called earlier in the day to make a reservation so they knew a large party was coming. We requested the specific area where we'd like to have our table and were told that it's no problem. When we showed up, they said they don't take reservations at all and demanded to know who we spoke with. Of course, we hadn't asked who we were speaking with but regardless, we didn't appreciate the accusatory tone and being made to feel like it's our fault. The hotel is beautiful but next time I go to Isla, I am doubtful I would eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roastduck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Sabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing