We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't WANT to write this review!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I would love more than anything to keep this my quiet little secret but that would be a dis-service to Hotel Bucaneros. First of all, you have to understand where I'm coming from in order to make an educated decision as to whether this place is for you. I've BEEN to boutique hotels and I've BEEN to resorts where you pay too much money to be pampered in the confines of such places. They are generic, you can find them everywhere around the world and they certainly exist on Isla Mujeres. When I travel, I travel to experience new cultures. I want to stay in places that, hopefully, give me a better feel as to what the area is like. Hotel Bucaneros had everything I had hoped for. It's a romantic, charming old hotel that couldn't be better situated. Everyone was wonderful an unjaded by horrible tourists who expect all the modern conveniences of home. If you want the modern conveniences of home, then for God's sake, do us all a favor and STAY HOME or go to one of these characterless resorts I previously mentioned! This place makes you feel like you're in an old black and white movie. It could not have more charm and character and right now I am looking for the next opportunity to return. "Thank you" to the owners and staff of Hotel Bucaneros! See you again, soon, I hope!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are not for those looking to get to sleep early. This was not the case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Delightful no-frills hotel in the heart of Isla Mujeres on the main pedestrian shopping street. Excellent breakfast. Squeaky clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Many of the guests I met had returned over and over, and I can see why.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SevenSeas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My family including my two children stayed at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in #202. Large rooms with deck overlooking the night life. This room had all the amenities you needed including a great compliment breakfast each morning which we enjoyed. Great staff! The only thing that I would suggest is that if you are a lite sleeper avoid a room on this side as it was quite noisy in the evenings. Otherwise for the good price we paid we liked it here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1345C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel Bucaneros is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Isla Mujeres. It is minutes away from North Beach, which is one of the best in the world. The rooms are clean and have a nice balcony--perfect for a evening drink or people watching. The staff are friendly, which is evident by the regular return guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

we had a great 9 night stay at bucaneros - we had originally booked another hotel on the island that had double booked when we arrived. we found bucaneros only intending to stay one night and ended up staying for our entire stay.

all the staff are friendly, we stayed in the new courtyard room at the back and it was the best room we had during our 7 week stay in mexico - clean, spacious, well appointed, peaceful (despite the hotel being in the busiest place on the island) and reasonably priced.

heartily recommended

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the 2 new rooms on the ground floor off the rear courtyard - they were quiet, pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joewscannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I lived here for one week and loved it. I say lived here because I was provided an awesome breakfast included and met wonderful people who introduced me around isla mujeres that come to isla mujeres every year and live here for several months. The kitchen is nice and I enjoyed cooking and the coffee was soooo good from the local store. I thought my bed was great and the air conditioning was cold.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We ate supper two different nights here. Garlic fish with slices of garlic clove on it was delicious. As was the grilled chicken breast. Very friendly attentive waiters. Would highly recommend, also a less expensive option

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites

Address: Av. Hidalgo # 11, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £44 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres on Avenida Hidalgo, the main pedestrian street, lies the Bucaneros Hotel & Suites. The hotel was created in 1989 by Mrs. Hilda Pérez Villalba, since then, this family run business offers which started with 4 rooms, (now has 17 enchanting rooms), all nicely decorated in a relaxing caribbean style & colours which will help you feel your vacation come true. You will be only 8 walking minutes away from the turquoise waters and white sands of famous North Beach. You'll have the best location on the island, very close to all shops, restaurants, cafés, internets, pharmacies, supermarket, mainsquare, jewelries, etc... A personal and professional attention from the owner family is most important to us to make you feel safe, appreciated and at home on Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucaneros Hotel Isla Mujeres
Bucaneros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing