We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenverde

Greenverde
Ranked #8 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This restaurant is decorated with reused and recycled materials, could be an example of that can do useful things with materials for some people is rubbish. Es el primer restaurante en Isla Mujeres hecho con materiales reciclados ademas de que cuenta con un menu exquisito de comida mexicana.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Once again, you have to go here more than once to try what's on the menu. The service is great and the food, even better. But if there's one thing you must order it's their Mango Margarita. Don't want to sound cliche, but it is what all mango margaritas want to be. Salud!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Unkl_Nutzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    145
    42
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great flavors, fun evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a great dinner at Green Verde. The mole enchiladas - we ordered one of each type - had great, complex flavors, each one very different from the others. They had a really fresh salad with grilled chicken strips, berries, nuts and goat cheese that was amazing and the kids were very happy with steak and chicken burritos (naturally, in green wrappers). We loved our margs (mango and regular) and the kids tried tamarind water and hibiscus water. Service was excellent and really friendly. We ate outside in the little courtyard but there are a few tables inside too where you can admire the handmade surroundings. Prices are reasonable and lower than other comparable places. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great service. Good margaritas. Chicken tacos and beans and rice were flavor full. Green sauce was good. Off of the north beach but neat place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabeandcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican (Mexico City), fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am on Isla right now. I ate here Friday night and it was really good! I had the beef arrachera burrito. It comes wrapped in a green flour tortilla and it's lightly grilled. You can actually pick it up and eat it if you want- they make some of their items to work 'to-go' as they have a pick-up counter outside. This is one of those items. The beef was really flavorful and cooked just right. Served wrapped with a fresh slice of Oaxacan cheese (fresca) and a crisp slice of lettuce. I dipped it in the accompanying green verde sauce that is soooo good. The burrito is served with beans and rice, both of which are served in little edible corn tortilla bowls- love it!

You are served a small complimentary portion of fresh chips and homemade even verde salsa when you arrive. One of he reviewers said below they were not fresh. That is just not the case! They make the chips fresh daily. Sometimes I get one or two chips that are maybe overcooked, such is life when you make fresh chips. I appreciate the non-mass marketed appeal of this place. Not all of the chips are uniform or perfect in color. So what!

The entrees are simple and straightforward. No grease-bombs here! No smearing of red sauce on the side of the plate which is so common for meal presentations on Isla. Personally, I think it's tacky and overdone anyhow. I washed my meal down with not one but two mango margaritas. They are served in tin cups (think camping coffee mugs), which do an incredible job of keeping the drinks cold! This is an intentional and brilliant idea! The margs are large and very fresh- I won't complain of the giant chunks of mango getting stuck in my straw. It's a very sweet cocktail so instead of dessert I had two margs.

I have been here before and was served their mole trio dish- also simple in presentation but oh so delicious. Lovers of mole will surely appreciate his dish though it is an acquired taste for many.

I am not sure what others are expecting when they visit here. It's not prime season so many restaurants ARE slow this time of year. It doesn't mean it's a bad place. Not at all!

Considering it is 'slow' season for many of the restaurants not on the tourist strip that is Hidalgo, I was happy to see a few other diners when I arrived. Still, I'd like to see them attain more business. I think a slightly lower price for some meals (all dinner entrees are currently $130 pesos), and a few more months of getting the word out will help, as well as increasing their menu offerings.

Free wifi that is speedy. I appreciate no children's menu. The dining room is very small (though beautiful), and I could see how one rowdy child could easily ruin dinner for every other customer in the restaurant. Plenty of other places to go with kids on Isla... The service here is incredible. Attentive, not intrusive, they speak good English.

Try it once to experience regional cuisine from Mexico City. Nothing on Isla is perfect to everyone except the sunsets. I think this is a wonderful addition to Isla. Have a marg and enjoy the homemade furniture and recycled products. One of the co-owners created most everything in the restaurant by hand, including the tables and chairs.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xajiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The chips were a bit stale & when asked for fresh ones, they told me that what I was eating was fresh....oh well, entrees are what we were there for. Our mole entrees seemed to have been reheated in the microwave, not made to order. Disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenverde also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Greenverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing