We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Muchachitas!”

Women's Beading Cooperative
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go Muchachitas!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Sweet gals and lovely work. It was tricky to find but getting lost on Isla Mujeres is wonderful. We found some unusual pieces that made great gifts.
There are about 45 people in this group; 4 are fellows. Three generations of one family are beading and teaching others.
If you like leaving the tourists behind, this is for YOU.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    70
    30
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Things Just Keep Getting Better!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stopped by the bead coop on this trip to do some shopping and donate some beads to these wonderful women. I was impressed by the ongoing creative jewelry pieces and the selection just keeps increasing. I was also impressed by the ladies abilities to understand more English. Not that I think they should speak English but I am sure that many tourists with no Spanish might not take the time to check out the coop as they would not be able to communicate! I personally throw out my best (awful) Spanish, use hand gestures and write to get my point across...oh, and I smile REAL big the whole time. Anyways, my friend purchased several necklaces and a bracelet. I purchased a long beaded cord that I am going to use like a fashion scarf. I think it would also make a cute belt, if I was a belt person....I also noticed that they are now making Isla Mujeres bracelets out of seed beads which are adorable! Time to upgrade your jewelry on your next trip!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaDe070714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I respect the craft.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It's a small place that you my find something to buy, if you like this type of thing. I just didn't find it very interesting. Nice church next door to look at and say a prayer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oyam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique hRd working people”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

If you visit Isla Murejes you have to visit this area. These people art great artists who can produce some wonderful items.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Funtimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden behind carnival”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a long hot walk searching for this place, though we had good directions. Right now it's hidden behind many many carnival rides, but it's there if you know where to find it. Beautiful jewelry and lovely to see the women there making it in front of you. You'll see similar beaded items all over the Yucatan but I felt much better paying them a lot more and knowing where it came from.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Women's Beading Cooperative also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Women's Beading Cooperative? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing