We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach to find fun friends to play with”
Review of Playa Norte

Playa Norte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$188.00*
and up
Whale Shark Snorkeling Adventure in Isla Contoy with Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect beach to find fun friends to play with”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Perfect white sand, turquoise water, calm waves, shallow for meters and meters! North beach is definitely the most popular beach on the island so I recommend getting there early if you want to find/buy shade. Lots of people come for the day from Cancun, including the friends I met. I was a little hesitant to play in the water without being attached to my parents, but then I saw all the other kids having such a great time in the water and on the beach and I wanted to join in. Before I knew it the waves (which were very small, but so am I) didn't even phase me. We were all singing and dancing in the water and then making sand castles on the beach. I didn't want to leave but believe it or not, I don't get everything I want.

Review written in the perspective of 14 month old- Stella.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,096
    998
    263
    46
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lived Up to Expectations”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was by far one of the best beaches I have been to. The water was clear, calm and wonderful to swim in or simply float. Next time we visit Isla Mujeres we will stay closer to this beach so we can enjoy it more often.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFiveTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
215 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Privileges next door to Playa Norte and were here every day. This beach (and ours included in it) is the most stunning beach I have ever seen. White sand, turquoise water drinks and sun, you can't get any better than that.Sit and relax under a palm tree or in a cabana or get a massage on the beach. Laid back and relaxed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelewelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The beach of your tropical dreams”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Playa Norte is the beach of your tropical dreams... Fine white sand, palm trees lined, calm clean waters, easy to swim in, electric turquoise waters light it up in the morning, and pinks and oranges paint the sky at sunset. You can spend all day here hanging out, nibbling on delicious guacamole or ceviche served by the beach side bars/restaurants, enjoying cold tropical drinks brought to your beach chair. Best nibbles and drinks of what I have tried so far are from Zazil Ha at Nabalam hotel. But Buho's, Tarzan, Sunset Grill, Chi-Chis will do as well. Some even hang their hammocks between palm trees to take a nap. If you visit Isla, you will Playa Norte! I will be dreaming to going back...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CariocaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msp
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice beach”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

nice beach, each area of lounges has different prices, be sure to barter with them. :)
Service is spotty, but friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zaneeta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Norte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
 

Been to Playa Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing