We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach”
Review of Playa Norte

Playa Norte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$188.00*
and up
Whale Shark Snorkeling Adventure in Isla Contoy with Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The beach here is gorgeous - white sand, clear waters, and shallow calm tides. You can just go and find a spot on the beach, but we like to pick a restaurant/bar that has chairs/umbrellas and stay there for the day. Sometimes they charge about $20 with drinks included or other places just require a minimum purchase throughout the day (usually $20). We like the beach near the Mia resort because it has a sort of lagoon and is beautiful. Snorkeling is good there too, especially if you venture farther out toward the reef near Mia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLbaqtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,017
    980
    259
    46
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The wife and I took a day trip here. We took the Ultramarine ferry for $19 each round trip from the mainland at km6.5 and then paid $12 for two loungers and an umbrella. You an rent golf arts for $40-60 dollars if you want to explor the small island or you can walk 5 min from the ferry dock to Playa Norte. It was the prettiest beach we have personally seen. Palm tree lined with perfectly still and clear water. Cozumel if you want snorkeling/diving, Isla Mujeres if you want gorgeous lounging beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beach clubs, turquoise sea and sandy beaches”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We came to Isla Mujeres just for a day, to swim in the sea. The ferry ride took something like 20-30 minutes and we were already on the island. We went straight to Playa Norte, and stayed at one of the beach clubs, where we enjoyed drinks and a light lunch. Overall we had a great day-trip and enjoyed ourselves, but I don't know how it is to stay here overnight. Would definitely suggest for a couple of hours in the sun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver,Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful,relaxing”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We made this our last stop on our vacation. It was wonderful. The fact that you could walk 1/4 mile out into the ocean and still only be chest high. The clear turquoise water. Beautiful and relaxing. The water is so buoyant and no current. Great for floating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank neazea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My Husband and I took a tour of the island of Isla Mujeres in May 2013. We absolutely loved this spot on the island. We stopped at a local tiki hut and got a beer and sat by the beautiful ocean for the remainder of the time. The water is crystal clear and stunning at first glance. Loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennahope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Norte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
 

Been to Playa Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing