We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our R & R Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casitas del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casitas del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our R & R Getaway”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from 7 days at the Casitas. Just what we were looking for. Tired of the "All Inclusives" and just wanted to try something different where we could cook if we chose or try different restaurants. There were no surprises, everything was as we expected when looking on the internet. Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable and our hosts were excellent!! The best part of Isla is that each side of the island gives a different feel for the traveller. We would definately come back as this was our first time, and you can't say enough about Joyce & Bob. The view was beautiful and we enjoyed the authenticity of the locals who were very friendly and we always felt very safe. Overall good central location, close to restaurants and groceries.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
135
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bothell, wa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our fourth trip to Isla Mujeres and our first time at Casitas del Mar. We will never stay anywhere else on the island! Joyce and Bob are simply wonderful hosts and full of helpful information and advice. We stayed for two weeks in Casita #4 and loved how clean and comfortable the casita was. Facing the ocean, we could wake up to the sight and sound of ocean waves was romantic and relaxing. The furnishings were all in great condition and the kitchen was very well stocked even including a salad spinner! We regularly had breakfast and some dinners at the casitas and it was so convenient to have the Super Xpress just two blocks away. It was also wonderful to walk and bicycle around the neighborhood and visit local shops and sightsee. There are SO many places you are missing if you spend all your time in Playa Norte!
We did lose power for 48 hours while staying there - a transformer blew out which was not Bob or Joyce's problem but they offered to let us use their shower and anything else needed during that time. And as soon as they found out about the power issue they did everything they could to help speed up a transformer replacement (which had to come over on the ferry!).
I can't say anything about the tv in the room since we not once turned it on in 2 weeks on Isla - that's the sign of a great vacation! I still miss my morning tea and breakfast on the outdoor patio facing the ocean and watching the iguanas wake up and crawl into the sunshine. I hope you find as much joy there as we did! If you have any other specific questions please feel free to contact me at: barbara@glassgardensnw.com

Room Tip: We loved our casita but all seemed similarly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barb3073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Four one-bedroom villas by the sea. Clean, equipped with small kitchenettes and fridge allow for easy preparation of some or all meals depending on your preference. The places are designed for one or two adults. The beds are very comfortable, which is unusual in Mexico. We found the units to be clean, bathrooms modern, and plenty of hot water for showers. The patios have small palapas with tables and chairs. They face out to the ocean, which is easily accessible. The shoreline is a bit rocky and not great for swimming, dependent on the surf. The small road runs between the casitas and the ocean, and the traffic is local, providing lots of interesting viewing of bikes and golf carts which are the main mode of transit. Cabs are inexpensive. The casitas are mid island, away from the busy tourist hotels at playa Norte. Nearby stores and restaurants mean that you can get inexpensive and wholesome food easily. The units are daily cleaned by the maid who lives across the street. One of the best things about this place is the fact that Joyce and Bob, owners, live nearby and are hosts to invaluable information about restaurants and the Island in general. The only downside is that there is occasional traffic noise from the nearby road. The units area air-conditioned and the whole island feels safe and friendly. This is a great spot to enjoy this wonderful island. We could have stayed for a much longer time than we had planned.

Room Tip: Probably should request room away from side street if noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 404Jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

What can we say. We just returned from Isla Mujeres after spending 8 wonderful days at Casitas del Mar. What a great experience. Everything was perfect...the weather, the accomodations, the islanders and our hosts Joyce and Bob.
This was the first time we had ever tried a vacation that was "outside the box". It wasn't all inclusive so that meant we had to fend for ourselves at local restaurants without speaking the language and without knowing where to go. Along came Joyce with her 12 page "bible" and we had at our finger tips a list of where to go for the type of food we wanted. And every one of her recommendations were bang on. Soon we were full of confidence and acting like we had ben around for weeks!
The area around the Casitas was very safe. We could walk after dark without any fear of being bothered. The local people are all friendly and helpful whenever we looked lost or puzzled.
It is one of the nicest vacations we have ever had and look forward to going back next year. But this time it will be for 2 weeks or more.

Patricia & Gary Wood
London, ON, CANADA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keewatin, ON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our 4th stay with Joyce & Bob. We have spent 3 vacations in the Casitas and one in the house they have for rent. Everything about Casitas del Mar is perfect. They are clean, well-maintained and one could not ask for a better view. Joyce & Bob are the best hosts ever! They go out of their way to ensure that your stay on Isla is perfect. Each Casita has a well-equipped kitchen, a safe, hot & cold running water, comfortable bed and the decor is excellent. Just about anything you need is close at hand and if you wish to venture further, taxis are always available and inexpensive. We are already making plans for next year's stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keewatinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Upon our arrival at Casitas del Mar we discovered that were missing some personal effects. Joyce and Bob bent over backwards to help us track them down and turn our trip around from something very stressful to a completely relaxing vacation.

Prior to our arrival, Joyce sent us all kinds of information about the island and the best places to eat. Every recommended restaurant we tried was great! Casitas also attracts great people - we really enjoyed watching the ocean and chatting with our fellow guests.

The rooms are lovely; well-kept, clean, and well equipped. As a cook I was thrilled to discover a sharp knife in the kitchen that made easy work of dicing tomatoes for Pico de Gallo. The location as terrific - right on the ocean and just a 15 minute walk to a delightful beach at Captain Dulce, just a block from a taqueria, fresh juice and a few short blocks from several other delicious eateries.

We look forward to going be back - maybe even to see the whale sharks!

Room Tip: If you like windows on two sides, ask for #1 or 2. We stayed in #3, which was lovely as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scblime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was the fifth time my wife and I have stayed at the Casitas. It's a sure thing when you are looking for the ultimate in a relaxing vacation. Joyce and Bob always have excellent recommendations on local restaurants, and they take care of the little touches like stocking your fridge with champagne on New Years Eve. Since I last visited, there are even more great restaurants within walking distance of the Casitas. There's no need to stay downtown when La Gloria has so much to offer. It's the perfect spot on the island to enjoy the views without dealing with the busy downtown tourist district. And a taxi ride is always available when you're ready to visit Playa Norte or Zama beach club. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Our favorite is Casita #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceannaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.9 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
2,006 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas del Mar

Property: Casitas del Mar
Address: Avenida Perimetral Oriente | Corner of Calle Lizeta, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sound of waves and a clear view of the sun rising over the Caribbean. Nestled in a local neighborhood of Isla Mujeres known as La Gloria, you will find yourself in a friendly residential area surrounded by locals, both Mexicans and foreigners. Collect beautiful shells and sea glass as you stroll along the rocky and sandy shore or relax on the patio as you watch the world, and perhaps a few dolphins, go by. Newly-constructed and tastefully decorated, Casitas del Mar has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your hosts, Joyce and Bob, will provide local knowledge and recommendations to help make your Isla vacation unforgettable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing