We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, wonderful people”
Review of Casitas del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casitas del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful place, wonderful people”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Bob and Joyce are exceptional and the Casitas are super clean and well maintained. Amazing view and it seems to attract lovely people. It is so nice to have friendly neighbours to say hello to at the beginning and end of your day. Return clients seem to be a large part of the business so book early! I really appreciated being close to local life, businesses and restaurants, not just the tourist locations. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
137
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our first trip to Isla:-) and one great week at the Casitas. WOW! what can we say but very sad to leave. Our friends stayed downtown, Centro. But being a little different we decided to stay with Joyce&Bob at the Casitas del Mar. Absolutely the best decision we made. We always enjoy meeting the neighbours, and this location is ideally suited as a social setting. Sitting outside on your patio with your coffee, sharing stories, experiences and tips. The ocean waves, hypnotic and therapeutic. On our first day we spotted dolphins jumping offshore. A good omen. A taxi to town is inexpensive, just 26pesos one way for a couple. You can't beat that. And for those more adventurous types you have many options and locations to rent a golf-cart. Bicycles and scooters are also available at various locations. We're already planning our return trip!!!! Can't wait......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plamondon, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our first visit to the island. We stayed at Casitas del Mar from Jan 23 to Feb 6. From the moment we got there we were welcomed by Joyce and Bob. Joyce showed us the Casita and welcomed us with a beer from the fridge,We were given an overview of the island with map and description of the points of interest close to the Casitas. The Casitas are outstanding, clean fully equipped and the bed is very comfortable just like home. The area is quiet and relaxing with a view of the ocean. The Casitas are in a very central location, walking distance to many different restaurants grocery store and beach clubs, to get to downtown it is about a $3 taxi ride. We ate close to home most of the time and we always had a great meal. There are many restaurants close and very easy to find, sometimes finding a restaurant not on the list is part of the adventure. The breeze that comes off the ocean is cooling at night and makes sleeping comfortable. The best part of the casitas is the small and close atmosphere of the place, to wake up in the morning, to look out over the ocean and share a coffee with the other guests and share the experiences of each others day and to plan a new experience for the day and come home at night and have a drink with friends. The rooms are kept in perfect condition by Lita and are always welcomed to a clean room when you arrive back home for the night. I would definitely stay there again, from the beachcombing right in front of the casita, the views of the ocean with the chance to see dolphins in the distance and schools of fish. Meeting new friends. Great food

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallery59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We picked the Casitas del Mar because of the positive reviews and comments on the web and are very glad we did. It is located on an ideal spot on the island about 1/2 way down the Caribbean side. There is always a lovely breeze off the water on the Caribbean side that is so nice. You have marvellous views out over the sea that will never be blocked. Sitting with coffee in the am and a cerveza at night under the cabanas and soaking up the view and local atmosphere is very relaxing. Reminded us of the same kind of relaxation we get sitting on the deck of our cottage in Canada looking at the lake and enjoying the scenery. You can get very laid back here.
The location works well because you have such easy access to everything you need (markets, express grocery, good restaurants, etc.) and wonderful sand beaches on the Cancun side are within easy walking distance. And it is only a 30 peso cab ride to Centro for different restaurants and beaches. But after spending time downtown with the Cancun daily crowds, we truly appreciated getting back to our quiet casita.
Joyce and Bob are so accessible and provided such great information and advice that it was easy to move in and get organized. The casita has a very workable layout and was well stocked with the basics needed, such as salt, pepper, spices, lots of cutlery, cooking pots, dishes and even two cervezas in the fridge to get us started. And we really came to appreciate that after leaving Isla Mujeres and going to a "fully" stocked condo in Puerto Morelos that had none of the basics that Joyce and Bob have made sure are in their casitas.
And for you North Americans, you will certainly appreciate the fact that they have a pressurized plumbing system... No worries about the "delicate" plumbing issues that you encounter in most other places in Mexico.
And the other service that is included is Leti going through and cleaning your room about every second day and changing the sheets about every 5 days. That service usually costs extra in other facilities (IE it was $25us for the condo in PM).
Of all the places we ate, two that Joyce recommended really stand out. Velasquez on the beach in Centro is wonderful for their seafood and relaxing location. A nice family run setup. Olivia's just off the main street in Centro served us the most wonderful meal we had for our entire time in Mexico. It is Mediterranean/Morrocan style and the food is amazing. But you need to reserve unless you get there early.

Room Tip: Casita 4 is on the street corner and as such if you like to leave your side windows open for air cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDaveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We showed up to Isla Mujeres without any idea of where we were going to stay. A little research pointed us here, and although there was no immediate availability, Joyce was extremely helpful with our making alternative arrangements til we there was a free room at Casitas.

The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable, each with a well-equipped kitchen. Definitely pick up some fruit at the nearby farmer's market. It's also just a short walk from a good supermarket and the beach, so you're basically set to spend your whole day hanging out on the beach, and occasionally cooking up some good fresh food. Bob & Joyce are really friendly and accessible, and they also have a wonderful guide to the island. Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our first trip to the Isla Mujeres. What a beautiful place! Casitas del Mar is a perfect place to stay if you are looking to wake up every morning to a peaceful, beautiful view of the Caribbean. The Casitas is on the south side of the Island and is out of the way of the crowd of tourists. Our room was nice, cozy, clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. Air condition was ice cold!! The owners Joyce and Bob were more than gracious and helpful!

My hubby had to work a little during our stay on the Isla. Brought his laptop but forgot the cord. Thankfully Joyce and Bob were able to help him out by letting him borrow theirs. After our stay at the Casitas, we had three more days booked somewhere else on the Island, they graciously let him leave his computer there overnight to charge and he worked from their home the next morning. Thanks a bunch...what a couple of lifesavers!!

Golf cart rental or Moped is a must if you want to explore the Island at your own pace. Taxis are always readily available but you have to know where you want to go for that method of transportation. We truly enjoyed our stay and will return in the future!!

My husband and I are from St Louis, MO and currently live in Akumal, Mexico. After visiting the Isla Mujeres, we would love for that to be our next move! :)

Thanks again for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: My husband thinks that the casita closest to the street may not be the room to be in due to the fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We travelled Dec 24 to 31st. Joyce and Bob are always so welcoming and Leti ensures that your home away from home is very clean. We keep returning to Casitas Del Mar because of the location, the fact that they have everything you could want in a vacation spot, they are clean (again, thanks Leti) and we feel very safe there and "at home." They are within walking distance to some pretty phenomenal restaurants so you don't really have to leave the area if you don't want to. Close to the Mercado for Sunday Conchita Pibil, near El Charco, Bastos, La Bruja, Limon, Mango Café, Monchis and more great places to enjoy wonderful meals and close to a grocery store. We have been to Isla 6 times in 2.5 years. Only once did we NOT stay at Casitas Del Mar as we booked late and they were full. We can say that Joyce and Bob are exceptional hosts and "landlords." We have some place else to compare to. IF there is an issue, it is rectified quickly and any recommendations that have been left by us or other past guests have been implemented (just read the journals in each of the casitas). We have stayed in all of the casitas now and they all are great. Where casita 1 is a bit larger than the rest, we do prefer 2, 3 and 4 because of their natural light and patio doors. Thanks again for another incredible holiday and we look forward to our return trip in February.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.9 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,318 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas del Mar

Property: Casitas del Mar
Address: Avenida Perimetral Oriente | Corner of Calle Lizeta, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sound of waves and a clear view of the sun rising over the Caribbean. Nestled in a local neighborhood of Isla Mujeres known as La Gloria, you will find yourself in a friendly residential area surrounded by locals, both Mexicans and foreigners. Collect beautiful shells and sea glass as you stroll along the rocky and sandy shore or relax on the patio as you watch the world, and perhaps a few dolphins, go by. Newly-constructed and tastefully decorated, Casitas del Mar has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your hosts, Joyce and Bob, will provide local knowledge and recommendations to help make your Isla vacation unforgettable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing