We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #9 of 37 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

First the good things: Amazing coral beach; not much for laying on, but for a beachcomber it's jaw-dropping. The bed is good, and the linens and towels are great quality. Our room, Harmony, had several nice decorative accents, including a giant bathtub with a conch shell faucet. The sundeck is on the water and guests enjoy a variety of sunbathing options. The pool area and hot tub are lit blue at night and are beautiful against the ocean waves in the evening. Yoga is currently being offered. Being a distance from the urban hub was not an issue; we stood on the side of the road in front of the hotel and never waited more than a minute for a cab to pick us up. Most fees ranged from 20-30 pesos one-way - ask first.

Now the not-so-good. Wide-angle lenses are handy for taking in the scope of a room, but they can be very misleading in terms of space (unless a glimpse of a 3 ft wide toilet rings a warning bell). In this case the photos we saw prior to booking looked a lot different than the reality. In truth, no more than a few feet stood between the bed and walls. The usable floor space in the bathroom was under 5 sq ft. The cold knob on the tub/shower was frozen shut. The water was either extremely hot, or completely unheated for the duration of our stay. The tub is mounted in such a fashion that water can pour out onto the floor during showers. During my first shower I unknowingly flooded the room and got my suitcase and other items wet. You may need all those nice big towels.
The pool and hot tub were unheated and very cold. The sauna was a locked storage area. By local standards, the housekeeping could be better. In general terms, things are slightly run-down for the price. It was more quiet than staying on Hidalgo, but not without noise; there is a connecting road just south of the hotel where trucks can be loud as they stop and turn.
In summary: There is no place that is not beautiful on this coast, and no place that cannot be made perfect by the attitude of the inhabitants, but given all the other choices, I would keep looking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pareolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    63
    24
    16
    3
See reviews for
10
119
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here in December of 2012 for Christmas. We did a lot of research before our trip, and we knew what to expect as far as water goes (its an island - it will not be as consistent as the mainland) so we were able to fully laugh off the fact that I had nice warm water for every shower the whole week, and my fiance had only cold ones!

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was lovely waking up every morning to our garden view - there were always lizards sunning themselves, and we were mere steps from the pool and ocean.

My favorite place on the property is the open air rooftop restaurant. The view is amazing, the staff is wonderful, and the food is incredible!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something peaceful. It doesn't have the fussy amenities that a large hotel has, but that is why we love it!

We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong - just make sure you wake up early to see a sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tajaroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We got the 'Abundance' room for 4 nights.The room is equipped with a small kitchen 2 beds, sofas, and there's plenty of space. The room was perfect for us overlooking the sea. Right on the water. Beautiful. Must wake up to see the sunrise. We had some plumping problems in the room. It was problematic to flush The toilet twice if u wanted and we didn't had hot water for 2 days. The staff was very nice and tried to help with everything. We got a night discount for the hassle. Must take A golf cart and explore the island. Overall it was a bit expensive considering no swimming beach and a drive away from both sides of the island. If u want to try different restaurant u have to drive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely. Beautiful room although a little small- we stayed in the love room. The pool side and ocean views are wonderful.
Restaurant food upstairs wa also lovely.
The location is a little out of town a good 30 min walk but bikes/golf carts can be hired in town if u prefer not to walk. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank channii70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

room "karma" (the cheapest) towards busy street (earplugs needed).
mid of the island, about 6km from beach. ok rooftop-restaurant attached.
breakfast in restaurant not included, but ok (coffee is like water though).
yoga-lady has been on vacation, no replacement and hasnt been announced on homepage.

couple on a roundtrip through yucatan. isla mujeres wasnt our favorite in total. better place for peace-loving individuals might be holbox.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ina9181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaIxchel, Manager at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. We only wish you had spoken up while you were here so we could address your concerns. As you say, you chose the ”cheapest” room, which is close to the street. However, we have other rooms that are on the ocean-side and quite a bit more quiet. We hope you can come back and experience the sound of the surf outside of your every window! Yoga is offered three times each week, and we are sorry if you missed it. When you do return please ask for an espresso or cappuccino which may be more to your taste. Until then, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Fantastic visit, we couldn't have asked for more. If you need a little more action in your vacation, this isn't the place for you. If it's peace and relaxation, and some really friendly people, these are the kind of hotels you should be looking for. I really got the feeling of staying at a friends home during our stay. We did have one of the smallest rooms at the hotel, but I don't agree with the other review that found it to be a negative. We actually got used to it very quickly and found it very comforting(there are also larger rooms available) While it may not have the amenities of the big hotels, the restaurant upstairs with open air dining was definitely a big surprise for us. The food was incredible and the staff was second to none. We came an hour early for breakfast because our cell phone didn't update, and we got sat and served with no questions asked. Awesome... I felt really bad later and apologized :) We got to know Moy in the restaurant. Super nice guy, and he was a huge help in getting us set up with a snorkling tour with a friend that turned out to be a fantastic day. And don't leave without having him make you a Moygerita :) We never returned to a messy room, the cleaning staff was right on top of it. And I found the hotel manager, Nadia, to be a really sweet girl, and very helpful with our needs during our stay.
Over all, a really nice experience. Cute hotel, good food, good people, and I'll never forget waking to the sound of the ocean. Can't beat that. I'm already checking flights and hoping I can return for another stay soon. Oh, and the yoga on the deck was a really cool treat too.

Room Tip: If you can pay a little extra, there are rooms that walk right out to the deck or pool. They have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Casa Ixchel was a great place for us to stay in Isla Mujeres. Most of our time was spent at the beach and exploring the island so this was much just a place for us to sleep at night.

We stayed in the Love room and although the room was a little small then most American hotel rooms, it was fine for us because we didn't spend much time in it. I would recommend a larger room if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was clean. The view from this little hotelito is incredible and you can't beat waking up to the sun and ocean sounds. I got up so early every day and absolutely loved it!

This is a no frills place. It's not fancy but it's clean and it's a wonderful place to stay with incredible ocean views and sea breezes. I would definitely stay here for the convenience, price and service we had.

Also, definitely eat at Da Luisa for breakfast and dinner. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed getting to know Moy over the past few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Property: Casa Ixchel
Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing