We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Mid- Island Location with a Wonderful Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #9 of 36 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Mid- Island Location with a Wonderful Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in Casa Ixchel for 3 nights while we explored Isla Mujeres. The location for me was perfect. Only steps from the Carribean, the sound of the breaking waves drowned out any noise from the cars passing by. The staff at the Hotel and Restaurant were kind, friendly and professional. The added bonus for us was the high quality restaurant located upstairs. If you have an afternoon flight into Cancun, it is very convenient to have a good restaurant on premise because by the time you catch the ferry it'll probably be sunset.

The rooms were as promised but I thought they were a bit overpriced. We stayed in Peace. It had a kitchenette that was perfect for making coffee and chilling Cervezas. If ever lucky enough to be on Isla again, I would stay here. However, if dazzling nightlife and beach chairs are your thing, you may want to stay closer to North Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the Carribean side have the sound of the ocean and a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runswithelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    63
    24
    16
    3
See reviews for
10
118
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Md
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a WONDERFUL 5 days at Casa Ixchel. It was everything we were looking for and more.

I'll start by saying one very important thing: If you only travel once a year and/or think that your vacation dollar is best spent being waited on and catered to at a big beautiful self indulgent cookie cutter resort, stop reading and go book a vacation at an all inclusive somewhere else. The charm of Mexico and the people that live and work on Isla Mujeres will be lost on you, and you'll be miserable. If it's peace and quiet you're looking for with a beautiful back drop in which to re connect with your significant other in a charming setting, you'll be very happy with the value of this property.

I am a flight attendant, and I KNOW HOTELS. I live in them three days a week most weeks. Star ratings mean nothing...because it's a matter of personal preference. I'll give you the honest assessment:
These rooms with the exception of the apartment (as are stated in other reviews) are small. We didn't haul all of our scuba gear, so this was fine for us. There was a small closet to hang up a few items, and also a small safe to store our credit cards and passports while we were out and about. My husband and I wanted RELAXATION and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the "Love" suite. For the modest price this room has a bed, a kitchenette with a two burner gas stove, a mini fridge, and a coffee pot. There was also a HUGE soaking tub with plenty of room for two. There is nothing else in the room. No Tv (which I LOVED), NO PHONE, and no other furniture. If you're looking for a place to hang out on the couch STAY HOME. ;) The bed was uncomfortable, but we frequent Mexico, and this is typical there so we weren't surprised by that. Have a few mojitos before turning in and you'll sleep just fine! The air conditioning unit worked just fine, and we had absolutely no issues with the plumbing or hot water during our entire stay. Also, if you open the curtain, you have a view of the beautiful Caribbean right from your bed.

The on site restaurant Da Louisa is FANTASTIC, serving authentic Mexican cuisine as well as some Italian options. The staff was super friendly and eager to please, and Moy (Breakfast and lunch server) and Juve (Dinner) were delightful!!! They won't drop your check. They consider that rude in Mexico. You have to ask for it, so don't mistake that for slow service.

This is an adult oriented property. NO CHILDREN :) I am the mother of 4 boys. I love kids. But not when I'm on a quiet romantic get away with my husband, so this was one of the reasons we chose this property. The DO allow kids during school holidays (thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter) so keep that in mind. There is a nice pool which we had to ourselves for 2 of our 5 days and there is a rocky/shell filled/coral beach directly down the stairs. We are from the East Coast of the US, and are accustomed to swimming in the surf of the North Eastern Atlantic, and we swam in the sea every day but noticed we were the only ones. If you're going to get in, please make sure you have water shoes on. The bottom is stable but rocky, as this island is coral based. YOU DO NOT WANT TO ENTER WITH BARE FEET. The water was a wonderful 81 degrees!!

There is no real reason to rent a car or get suckered into a golf cart for $35 PER DAY. There is a Chedraui (like a Walmart) within walking distance (four blocks or so), and a few little mini marts along the way if you just need to pick up snacks or water. Taxis run in front of the hotel at all hours of the day, and we never had to wait more than 3 minutes to hail one. You can get to downtown in 5 minutes for about $4.

Downtown area is your typical tourist area. Lots of great bars/restaurants and of course everybody trying to sell you their junk. If you're not interested just say no thank you and keep walking. I don't know why people get so upset by the shop owners trying to sell...THAT'S THEIR JOB! They're not going to follow you home, so relax and smile. You're on vacation. And hey...you may find some great little treasure in one of these shops, so it won't kill ya to look!

So, go. Relax. Get away from reality for a steal. And to those who posted negative things about bugs if you're afraid of insects like ants...don't go to the tropics.

Have a great vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CaribbeanJunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We bought a Groupon Coupon for this hotel because the top of our bucket list was swimming with whale sharks. Casa Ixchel, named for the beautiful goddess of the island, is a hidden treasure. The front entry hides the beauty within. Our room, the Serenity, was tiny, but supplied everything we wanted, including a tiny kitchen with coffee maker and fridge. Lying in bed, we looked over our toes to the fresh-water pool, deck, and blue Caribbean beyond. The terrace upstairs, part of the in-house restaurant Da Luisa, was the perfect place for breakfast, afternoon margarita, or dreamy dinner--all delicious and served by well-trained staff with good senses of humor. The air conditioning never failed and made sleeping so easy. Drinking water was provided. Everyone associated with Casa Ixchel was professional and only too happy to help. BTW, swimming with the whale sharks and Manta rays was exciting beyond words.

Room Tip: We loved our front row room for its view but in other rooms you might hear less pool chatter. It did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindak222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

So I did not stay at Casa Ixchel but I went there a few times to eat, chat, and just lounge by the pool. It is a beautiful elegantly simple little gem on isla. The restaurant offers an incredible view and the staff is extremely kind and competent. I love love love that one can eat, dip in the pool, or hot tub (hot tub in mexico. different than hot tub in the US) or walk on the beach.
It's my zen place. I go there to connect with girlfriends, write in my journal or just appreciate the jewel that is Isla. I had tuna ceviche there for the first time and I've only had it there since. Yup. :-)
I highly highly recommend spending an afternoon at Casa Ixchel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AubadeWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We became aware of this small boutique hotel because of a Groupon deal and were very glad to have landed there. It's located away from the main touristy north point where the beach and resorts are (just $2 taxicab ride away) so it proved to be quiet and relaxing. A gem. We could enjoy the Caribbean water view (amazing) from our suite "Abundance"--glass doors opening on to pool area, facing the ocean. The staff was so helpful, balancing being available to book things for us, answer questions but also leaving us alone, too. We enjoyed the suite's roominess since we were traveling with our two young teenage kids. The accommodations are not swanky--this is definitely not a place for someone wanting to experience a 5-star hotel. Instead, this boutique hotel seems to exhibit the soul of the island-- a bit earthy and simple, allowing the gorgeous location to speak for itself. Furthermore, we heartily recommend the adjoining roof-top restaurant, Da Luisa. We did have some water issues (shower) as well as general toilet/plumbing issues, but we learned that this is par for the course on the island and the hotel staff was quick to respond with our needs. We found it a peaceful place and would go back in a second! Thank you Casa Ixchel!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 525kathryns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Ixchel for four nights in July 2013. We got a deal through booking.com and so the room was much cheaper than the usual rate. We were very happy with the room and the hotel in general, the bed was huge, the little kitchen was useful and the pool was great to cool off in. We especially enjoyed the free yoga! There is a gorgeous upstairs deck where we did yoga in the mornings and had sundowners in the evening.

The hotel is far from downtown Isla, especially in the heat, but that being said we never hired a golf cart or moped so it couldn't have been too far! We found the food in the restaurant to be really excellent, however it was much more expensive than other spots we ate at on Isla Mujeres. We would definitely recommend Casa Ixchel, but it is worth getting a golf cart or moped to get around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaCawdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Ixchel in May and couldn't have been happier. The staff was friendly and helpful and our room Peace was perfect for us. The room was clean and well-appointed (including a small kitchenette) and so quiet that you could hear the waves hitting the coral beach from bed which is just a fantastic way to wake up every morning!

The hotel also has an incredible restaurant on its roof--hands down the best dinner we had on the island. We also started our days with breakfast on the deck overlooking the beach. We'd finish our days with a beer by the pool which was well maintained and never too crowded.

While the main tourist drag can't be more than a mile or two from the hotel, the staff helped us reserve golf carts so getting there and everywhere else on the island didn't take long at all. The staff also helped us confirm that our taxi would be waiting for us in Puerto Juarez on our return. Finally, they gave us excellent dining recommendations for fresh ceviche and to some of the better restaurants in the tourist district.

This was my second stay at Casa Ixchel and I can say that I will definitely be back for a third!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briancnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Property: Casa Ixchel
Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing