We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Ixchel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$285
US$236
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel D'Gomar(Isla Mujeres)
US$74
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Kinich(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maria's Kan-kin(Isla Mujeres)
US$177
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$729
US$610
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
92
64
26
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
64
26
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watergolf cartdoor separatingbirthday weekendtourist zoneplaya norteocean soundspeso cab rideprivate patioa lovely stayliving roomnice breezeoverlooking the oceanexplore the islandrelaxing vacationyogamoi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Casa Ixchel is a lovely boutique hotel, with a great location. We were a short ride to anywhere on the island. My husband and I stayed in the Abundance Suite. This accommodation included a separate bedroom, bath/shower, full kitchen with dining area, living room, private patio, all with ocean view. There were many extra amenities including plush bath towels, beach towels, and a Murphy bed for extra guests, Located near our suite was a lovely pool and jacuzzi facing the ocean. Currently under renovation is a palapa-covered roof-top restaurant from which you will be able to view both the sunrise and sunset! Miguel, the hotel manager, and the staff of Casa Ixchel were very friendly and accommodating. This hotel is a quiet, get-away place that you will want to return to! This was our first visit to Isla Mujeres and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I love this hotelito.
Althoug rooms are not that big,but they nice and clean.
We were living in 2 different rooms-Love and Harmony.We liked the Harmony more,becourse of the view.The Love has a hanging bed,which was a problem for my husband (it made him seasick)
First 2 days the water in shower was cold,but after that was fixed.
We did swimm in front of the hotel-it's a lot of fun to catch the waves,but you need a special water shoes.My advice-bring it,or you would miss a lot of fan.
Trip to downtown is still $2(as at 05/2008).Once we even had a ride from the local on the golf cart.
Even i think the price for the rooms could be lower,nothing can beat brekfast,or late tea under the palapa on the second floor.Sometimes we thought that it was our private villa-so piecefull and quiet .We saw our neighbors only couple times in 6 days.
Manadger Miguel was nice and helpfull.
We rented a golf cart in firs day-that was great expirience-you can ride and look at the map and looking around at the same time.We went around island,visited Punta Sur,discovered downtown.
I advice you to take golf cart for 24 hours-it's better deal,but make sure to check everything-brakes,lights,parking pedal(ours wasn't work,so we were need to find a big stone every time when we wantet to park our cart)
Don't go to Garafon Park-it's waste of money.The reef is dead,and there are almost no fish,so-there is no interest to do a snorkeling over there.Better choice-go for snorkeling on the Farrolito(lighthouse) or to Isla Contoy(go with capitan Tony Garsia-you can easily find his house at Matamoro street.)
And one more thing-when you go to eat don't be affraid of simple atmosphere of the place-it's rather the sign of tasty food.
I'll recomend: El Viradero(near the lagoon), Miguels'Moonlight, Pock Chuck,Picus.
So enjoy your stay at the Casa Ixchel and at the Isla Mujeres

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KissLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This was our first trip to Cancun and we definitely wanted to experience the laid-back side of Isla Mujeres. Casa Ixchel was memorable, not because they're a 3 or 4 star accommodation but mainly because the service provided by the staff was remarkable.

Location
We wanted to get away from the crowd, so Casa Ixchel fits perfectly to our taste as it is about 5-minutes away from the ferry terminal (by taxi). It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the town center from the hotelito, and we really enjoyed it due to the proximity to the water. Be forewarned that even though this hotel is on the beach, facing the Caribbean, the beach is rocky and you need to watch your step. According to the manager, Miguel, one could use the snorkel equipment (provided by the hotel) at your own risk. Unfortunately, the only sandy beach area that we liked was the in front of Zazil-Ha on Playa Norte. Avalon has a man-made beach area, which is opposite from Zazil-Ha.

Service
We booked Contemplation but since the air conditioning unit in this room was broken, we were placed in Bliss. The room was nice (we live in NYC and are used to small rooms), it had a breakfast nook with a coffee machine. Bliss only had a standing shower. Since the room was booked by someone else the next day, we asked for another room that is vacant for our entire stay and we willing to pay for the difference. Miguel was gracious enough to upgrade us to Grace 2 (facing the street), with two rooms, huge bathroom that had a shower and bathtub! The rooms were very clean and well taken care.

In the morning, the cafe on the balcony serves breakfast (not included with the room rates). They serve simple breakfast fares like eggs, pancakes, coffee in case you don't feel like walking downtown to get food. The food was tasty and fresh.

Amenities
As a small hotel, this place lacks the basic amenities you expect to get at larger chains (e.g. hairdryer, shampoo, lotion) but they do provide a bar of hand-made soap - emphasis on basic.

The pool is nice, and the whirlpool and karma pools were great after a long day of walking around. We didn't try the sauna, so can't tell you much about it.

Casa Ixchel has several bicycles that you can use (for free) throughout your stay, with locks included. It's very safe to cycle around the island if you are up to it.

Overall
To sum up, we truly enjoyed our stay here and are so touched by the generosity of the staff of Casa Ixchel. We had the opportunity to mingle with the locals and learned about their culture and lifestyle. I definitely recommend Casa Ixchel if you plan on staying on Isla Mujeres and want to get away from all the hassle and bustle of life.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank acimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Casa Ixchel is as charming in an idiosyncratic way as Isla Mujeres itself is. If you're attracted to the peaceful simplicity of Isla Mujeres, you'll be attracted to the elegant, peaceful simplicity of Casa Ixchel.

I stayed at Ixchel toward the end of the low season when it was still quite warm. As a result, i was the only guest of casa Ixchel for five days of my seven day visit.

There was some construction going on at the hotel during the day, as the hotel was preparing for the beginning of it's high season. Miguel was kind enough to offer to upgrade me to a suite due to the day to day noise of the work that was being done.

As noted, the rooms are small. But, the beds are extremely comfortable with their air dried 300 thread count cotton sheets. The air conditioner worked splendidly during the hot season and I took full advantage of the bikes that the hotel keeps on hand to explore this fascinating little island.

However, it was hard to resist spending a few hours by the beautiful, cool waters of the hotel's lovely pool during my stay.

It should be noted that there is no television in the hotel. If you're a reader, be sure to bring a few books with you as there are only a few options for buying |English books on the island.

The manager, Miguel is a great host who is eager to educate his guests about the fascinating local culture that exists on the Island. It was his recommendation of the late night taco stand at the town baseball stadium that produced one of the greatest and most economical meals that I had during my visit. Everyone visiting Isla Mujeres must try Tacos del Beisbol for at least one meal.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WKP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We booked directly at the hotel and due to low season, we got a good nightly rate. This place is splendid and gave us the relaxing one week vacation that we need. The rooms have different themes and I wanted a room with a kitchen so we went with the Grace 1 for 4 nights and Abundance for our last night. Both rooms were huge with a living room, full kitchen and a large bedroom. Rooms have air conditioning that works really well. The beds had white sheets, soft and comfy. I love the mosquito nets that surround the bed, very mystical and romantic. The only gripe would be in Grace 1, there's only a large tub and no shower and the toilet is separated by a cloth but if this is a concern, there's a toilet to the left of the front door near the steps to the first floor. There's no TV and no radio (bring your own) so you will get to truly unwind with your books and if you are a music buff like me, your IPOD. The staff are wonderful, friendly, personable and never intrusive. Miguel runs the place and he gives awesome recommendations on what to do, places to eat etc and he goes out of his way to make our stay comfortable. When we complained about the lack of shower in Grace 1, he kindly let us use the shower in another adjacent room as it was vacant. This was such a nice gesture and everytime we walked by the front office or a staff member walk by, often you will hear a friendly 'hola'. There is a full ocean view from this suite and steps out the front door are huge outdoor beds where you can place your towel, plop a pillow down, beer on the side, good book and you're good to go. We often nap outside even with the strong breeze. It was utterly relaxing. Even though there were other guests, we rarely see them and like other reviewers said, often you feel like you have the entire place to yourself. Casa Ixchel is also really close to town, you can bike there, walk 20 mins into town or a mere $2 gets you into a cab ride into town. I love Isla Mujeres more than any other place in Mexico now and cannot rave enuf about how amazing this place yet. It is the most laid back place I know in Mexico, the seafood here is amazing, one can dine like a king or a queen for a song. A whole fish made anyway you want for $10, yep $10 and beers go for $1.80, this is unheard of and I love it. Oh back to Casa Ixchel, the kitchen has a nice stove so we used it to make quick lunches or heat something up. The refrigerator was huge and we were able to stock up beer, drinks, pop, breakfast stuff and other staples. There is housekeeping service everyday. I cannot say how much I love this place and would return again in a heartbeat, everyone who work here made it special for us. Thanks Miguel and staff for everything! Casa Ixchel rules!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sgtoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews