We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Hotel Villa Kiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kiin
Ranked #9 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The room was a little dark and it was a little musty too but maybe this is to be expected for a tropical setting. It was really pretty nice, especially for the price range. The part of the beach that the hotel is on though, was AMAZING. It is pretty secluded but very near to the busy part of town. I can't say how perfect the beach was. You can wade out for like a 60 yards and then there's a reef that is actually worth snorkeling. You can borrow a snorkel from the front desk and see a really decent amount of fish. It was perfect..except for the giant high-rise partially blocking the view. Still, the beach is perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be near the beach. The room was fine for sleeping but get out to that beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We used to stay at the Villa Kiin whenever we visited Isla Mujeres, however over the years we found better places to stay. While the location on Playa Secreto is first rate, the owner, Jose' Lima, is quite the opposite. We like the condos on Sunset Beach much better and are looking forward to our next trip there February, 2014.

Sorry Jose'...Maria, but your greed and lack of integrity is why we avoid your hotel now.

Room Tip: They used to have a small kitchen for guests. Not any more. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank troye577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for just one night as we are bouncing around the Maya Riviera. For the price (USD 69 after tax through hotels.com), we had a lovely little room (room 21) with a shared balcony looking onto a busy little bay at the north east edge of playa norte (looking onto the boardwalk to the Avalon resort). AC was strong (important for my husband), the bathroom was light and bright with some simple stained glass windows, a comfortable (though on the hard side) queen bed and a simple decoration throughout featuring shell lamps.

The little bay Villa Kiin is on is a favorite on the island and has more local tourists than foreign, which makes it more lively and fun and family friendly (lots of young families with little kids when were there). The Villa itself opens onto the public strip of beach but has its own garden with hammocks and palms, flowers and beachy landscaping.

The receptionistas were not warm, but they answered all of our questions in Spanish and were professional.

The breakfast was actually around the beach a bit at Bujo's which was a great low-key beach club -worth visiting even if you don't stay at Villa Kiin. Fenix was great for a drink and some tapas and we also had a drink at Avalon which has a good happy hour (we tried to go visit the King's Bath at the tip of Avalon to swim in the rocky cove with the fish -but were kicked out as we weren't guests of the hotel).

As others have said, this is not a luxury hotel but I thought the details were nicely done -again a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

During our vacation on this beautiful island, my girlfriend made a terrible fell with her bike. She broke her elbow and nose, lost half a tooth and her face was full of scratches and wounds. When we left the hospital and when we checked in this hotel again ,where we already were staying for a few days, we wanted to call our dentist in Belgium to ask if there was an urgency to fix the halfbroken tooth or if it was better to wait until we returned to Belgium 2 days after.

Because our cell phone had no reach, we asked the 2 people at the reception desk if we could use their phone. They didn't allow it, even though if we wanted to pay for it. They didn't even bother to ask what has happened with my girlfriend who was clearly suffering from a lot of pain. They were very unpolite an not helpful at all.

This was by far the worst service I have ever seen in a hotel! Just shocking!

Moreover the breakfast was rubbish and the hotel overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We chose this hotel for its location near the north shore, and location near what in our research was one of the good snorkel spots. Although there was no real snorkeling to be had nearby from shore, the location was quite charming, and the hammocks and beach access were great. However, the rooms were decrepit- our toilet barely flushed and it took 10 (yes ten!) minutes for the water to warm up- both of which belied a real plumbing problem with the hotel. The rooms are no frills, as we expected, but were in terrible disrepair- cracked/broken/peeling wood molding, tiles loose, etc. They also at the last minute said they didn't accept credit cards (though they charged my card a refundable security deposit on check-in....?) and compelled us to pay in cash, upping the exchange rate for Pesos to 13, when it was in fact 11.65 at the time. I debated with this the rude woman on duty to no avail- hence this review. As many other places in Mexico that have been hit hard by the economy, it was beyond clear that this place was trying to squeeze every last penny out of you, while skimping on needed repairs and service. Not worth it- stay someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in one of their budget rooms and it was a big mistake. The view from the window is of some water heater and their were plenty of insects keeping me up at night. The bathroom had windows that were blacked out for some reason and it was not very nice. The worst thing was they said they didn't take Visa and I had to pay in cash...then the next day they did accept my brother's payment with Visa, making me think that they kept my money without the owner knowing. A bad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chokicharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have been going to Villa Kiin for probably the past 7 or so years and it never disappoints!
We have become attached to room 26, and as usual, it was perfect for us...we even had a friend join us and the staff could not have been more accommodating...
mornings doing yoga on a spot at the end of the cove over looking the ocean was beautiful!
The swimming is as usual....divine! The cove is shallow enough for a mediocre swimmer, and the tropical fish are abundant....i feel like this is becoming my own special second home....!
I have read other reviews and am confused by people who think this is a 5 star...while you certainly share the same beach as a 5 star hotel...the price is less than half....Villa Kiin often runs discounts and we were delighted to enjoy a 15% discount on our room...the rates could not be beat.....staff are always available, accomodatng and friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriYogagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kiin

Address: Calle Zazil Ha Num 129, Mz. 30 Lote 23 | Col Centro, Isla Mujeres 97000, Mexico (Formerly Casa Maya Hotel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £51 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Kiin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa Maya hotel in Isla Mujeres was developed by owner señor Jose Lima as a Mayan town with its palm thatched bungalows around a coconut palm garden and 100 yards of beachfront. It has 22 rooms and offers a very Mexican, very Mayan atmosphere. It has a wide collection of reproductions of the best Mexican painters like Diego Rivera and his wife Frida Kahlo, a large collection of books about Mexican art, architecture, Mayan culture and history and señor Lima has now converted his hotel into a bed and breakfast hotel on the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Kiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing