We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just got home from a week in Isla. We've been going once or twice a year for 9 years. Last minute decisions caused us to look for new accomidations! Only tip I would add is that if you have children ask for the ground level. Without children the 2nd floor is perfect. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: See above. Children with parents :) will enjoy the pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    95
    43
    10
    11
See reviews for
45
123
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
308 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

A hawker guided us to this place. Told it,was $700 pesos. Not quite correct, but the place was as good as they come for the money. Good rooms with good cable TV. Decent pool and sleeping was quiet. The night time street was ablaze with light and action, but the sound did not come into the rooms. Street traffic kept off the front road. A couple doors north (?) was Valentina's place. Good chow! Decent place to stay. We were not tempted to move. Anything less money is a dive. Anything more is WAY more money.

Room Tip: T o find a better room, get out your wallet. Any room in this place is good. Decent standard America...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for four nights and had a great time. Especially the kitchenette in the room was a huge hit after travelling in three weeks with small kids and many restaurants visits. We lovede to be able to buy some basic things in the supermarked and have some quite mornings and lunch breaks alone. The pool is small, clean and nice. Warmly recommed this place

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rejseklaraltid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Everything worked. Helpful. Best value not on the beach. We liked central location.

Room Tip: Request poolside room, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ambd3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have stayed on Isla Mujeres on two seperate occasions both being at Plaza Almendros.
What a great place. If you were walking down the street you would not have any idea you walked passed it. This hotel is a hidden gem located in the back of local resturants and busnisses.
The entrance is a hallway between two busnisses. Once through the hallway you enter into a lobby and a courtyard which has a great outdoor pool surrounded by palm trees. Around the pool area are ground level rooms with your own outside sitting area. The rooms are nothing spectacular but have everything you need micro,fridge etc. and full baths with queen beds ( a little firmer than I liked ) and airconditioning.
Economical? You bet. My wife and I stayed there for two weeks. We ate out every night at some very good resturants and in the end found it was cheaper than staying one week at an all enclusive.
The last I saw, room rates were $85.00 per night and well worth the value.
I would highly recommend this place as you are right in the town's excitment, close to the beautifll north beach and great food. DO IT.
We will be back on the island this Janurary but have desided to rent a house with two other couples so I will keep you posted as to what our experience was like later on.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool area where not reno'ed when we were there but comfortable. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Only possible complaint some may have(not me) is that mattress is too hard. Convenient Hidalgo location puts one in Centro's center.Just a short distance to the beach. I understand there are king beds up stairs. Our choice is 2 beds on the first level. Upstairs rooms maybe noisy in high season. We opt for a room away from Hidalgo.
Rooms are clean and are kept in good condition. Pool is cleaned daily. Staff is helpful.
Currently I am 76 years old, and if I and my wife remain healthy, I'll make a reservation and be here next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Just returned from my third stay at this sweet little hotel and it's as good as ever. Polo and Nahim are kind and helpful, as are all of the staff. We love the location (just a block and a half from Playa Norte, and right in the heart of all the great eating & drinking on Hidalgo). We really enjoy walking out the front door and being right on Hidalgo; but once you step into the peaceful and relaxing central courtyard (with pool), you'd never guess you were so close to all the hustle and bustle of Centro.

The pool is the perfect size and set-up - a deeper area for the adults, and a small, shallow section for kids. It is well-maintained and clean.

Rooms have everything you need: kitchenette (has toaster, coffee maker, microwave, dishes & cutlery, sink, mini-fridge that's actually cold), small table with two chairs, large closet with room safe and plenty of hangers, TV, phone, quiet and effective mini-split A/C, etc. We always stay on the second floor overlooking the pool and really enjoy the size and privacy of the balconies. Some prefer the first-floor poolside rooms, which are also nice - they work well for families as kids can enjoy the pool while parents relax on the patio. I have detailed info on specific room numbers, so please feel welcome to send me a PM if you'd like that information. This stay and the previous one, we stayed in room 102 - it is a second-floor room with 2 double beds, overlooking the pool.

One thing I will really emphasize is how clean the hotel is - spotless, on all three visits. Everything is in good repair and if you do have a problem, Polo will take care of it very quickly. We had some trouble with no hot water one day and he had it fixed in less than half an hour.

There is free Wifi throughout the hotel, as well as two free internet kiosks in the lobby.

While our room rate for this trip was quoted at $76USD when we booked, we received a 15% promotional discount upon checkout...so only paid about $65USD per night. We contact the hotel directly by email or phone to make our reservations.

We have stayed at many budget properties throughout Latin America and Europe, and Plaza Almendros is one of our favourites. Already looking forward to our next stay, and highly recommend it to those looking for simple, clean, friendly accommodations in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AllAtOnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Almendros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Almendros

Property: Hotel Plaza Almendros
Address: Av. Hidalgo Lote 14, Sm 1, Mz. 18, Isla Mujeres 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza Almendros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Almendros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Almendros Hotel
Plaza Almendros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing