We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always comfy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always comfy and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've stayed here about 5 times! We love the setting in town and never far to walk anywhere! Beach breakfast or beer only 5 min away at the most! We love the street side. Music never a bother! We love sitting out on the deck and watch the world go by!!! Wifi was actually better this year than last too! See ya in 2015!

Room Tip: Light sleepers need the inside rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    95
    44
    10
    11
See reviews for
45
124
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel and we have loved it every time. You are in the center of everything. The town the beach and rentals such as scooters or golf carts. The front desk is friendly and accomidating. It's a small hotel with a small pool in the center. We never used the pool as the ocean was outstanding in it's swim friendly way. We had an upstairs street room which we requested as it's relaxing to us to sit and watch the town wake up in the morning and have a drink before heading out to dinner. We turned in our key to the front desk when going out so we didn't have to worry about it. We will do that again. It can get loud from Kokonuts the bar so I think next time we will try to request an upstairs room not directly across from it. Still, for us even with this slight problem we like the upstairs. If you had little ones or are noise sensitive I'm sure the poolside would be fantastic.
Food on Isle is outstanding. Renee Renee - Good Cuban Sandwich, Poc Chuc- Excellent breakfast and lunch didn't try dinner great prices, A wonderful Cuban Restraunt on rough side of the ocean on the walkway..sorry forgot the name. Also a pita taco around the corner from the grocerystore is to die for. Taco stand across from basketball court yum. On Hildago upstairs from icecream store on the corner by the basketball court is a good fish taco place.Rolandi's is always good. When coming out of the hotel to your right is an excellent Mex resturaunt. Los C....sorry. It had the best chili rellenos and chicken mole. We often get the shaved meat tacos across from the hotel also. We sometimes get a roasted chicken on the way to the beach. You'll see them. It comes with runny beans and rice. Ask for plates and forks. Pepitos on the beach from the people selling on the beach is a good snack. Beer etc is as cheap across the street as anywhere else. Lots of live music also for after dinner.
It's also worth taking a cab or on your golf cart trip to go further down the island to the main grocery store. Kinda Walmarty. We got bread and jelly and hooch there. Also a wonderful Jalepeno cheese bread thing from the bakery. They have nice veggies fruit etc for your room.
So this is my favorite place, happy to share. Keep it nice for our return. This was our third time although definitly not the last. It's low key and not for the wild ones. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvgoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Right in the middle of things on the Bar / Restaurant street Hidalgo. Perfect location 2 blocks from the best beach (Playa Norte) near town. If you are very sensitive to street noise, you should have a romm facing the pool. We had a room with a nice balcony, facing the street and loved it. Nice to wach the street life and have a drink from the fridge (!!) in the evening sun on the balcony. The noise was not bad with the balcony door closed, and didn't bother us at all. The room was good sized, comfotable and clean, nice bathroom with a good shower. A good fridge and some basic kithcen items like knife, fork cups, plates makes it possible to make your own breakfast, or walk a couple of minutes to a restaurant (no breakfast is served at the hotel). Free internet (wi-fi or use one of the 2 computers) in the reception aeria.
The staff was friendly and helpful when approached, but didn't look up or greet you when you passed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wi.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

After spending a week in Playa Del Carmen with our adult kids {who we parted ways with at the airport} we arrived on the island Jan 22nd for a week stay. We knew where it was located but we were quite early for check-in, so we stopped for a few adult beverages along the way. When we arrived check-in was easy, we had booked and pre-paid through Isla Beckons. Our room {#6} was exactly as pictured on the hotels web-site. We had a ground floor interior garden room, we felt it was ideal for us as we weren't interested in the late nite activities of Hidalgo Street. We always had fresh crisp bed linens, towels and a spotless room. We had a full-sized coffee maker, we carried instant coffee from home to use. We always had plenty of hot water, and a room safe. Never used the air as we felt the over head fan was enough. The free wifi was a plus as we were able to correspond with family right from our patio. The hotel does have 2 computers in the lobby for their guests to use as well. We enjoyed visiting with our neighbors around the center atrium. There is a tienda directly across the street for your water, snacks and of course cervasa needs. Grocery store is at the south end of Hidalgo, it carries most anything you should need. Many varied eating and drinking establishments only a stone throw away, and you're only a 5 min. walk to the beach. Beach towels are handed out at the front desk, 1 per person per day. Very friendly staff. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay,and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We checked our room key at the front desk each time we left the hotel as we felt it was less to poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you want to feel relaxed and be right in the middle of everything.....This is the place ! Great taco bar right across the street and the beer store next door. Great people and a nice pool for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaboPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

we have stayed at Hotel Plaza 3 times and will be returning for a 4th time next month. the rooms have everything that we need for a 2 week stay. the rooms are always clean and the staff are all amazing! we love the option of lazing by the pool some days instead of the beach. the location is perfect as everything is only steps away.

Room Tip: we like staying upstairs facing the courtyard so we don't hear any of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikotelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My third trip to the Isla, really enjoyed Plaza Almendros. You are never too far away from anything on Isla Mujeres, but this is in the middle of everything. Rooms are nice and clean, of course the beds are hard (every bed I've ever slept on in Mexico or Central America is hard), but after a day at the one of the white sand beaches, snorkeling, and a big dinner it doesn't matter. FYI gelato shop right next door to the hotel! The little pool in the very pretty courtyard is nice. We had a friendly little cat that would come and say hi to us on our patio overlooking the pool. I would stay here anytime! Friendly staff, Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, everything you need to relax and feel like one of the locals on the Isla.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Hildago street for good, free entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Othomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Almendros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Almendros

Property: Hotel Plaza Almendros
Address: Av. Hidalgo Lote 14, Sm 1, Mz. 18, Isla Mujeres 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza Almendros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Almendros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Almendros Hotel
Plaza Almendros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing