We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice for Isla Mujeres”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Metepec, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Choice for Isla Mujeres”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have been visiting Isla Mujeres for years and it is the best value for your money here. I always come back. Everything is within walking distance: Restaurants, Dock, Bars, and the famous Playa Norte. Isla Mujeres is also the perfect spot to go see the amazing Whale Sharks and excellent scuba diving spots. All rooms include a fridge, microwave, coffe machine, toaster and a complete set of plates and glasses. Of course Air conditioning.

Room Tip: Rooms down stairs face the swimming pool. Rooms upstairs are roomier. The hotel distribution is simi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabriel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    96
    44
    10
    11
See reviews for
48
127
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and I must say that the location is great, right on the street with all the restaurants, bars and shopping. And the best part was that you heard nothing from the bars inside the hotel area at night.
Refrigerator, coffee maker and toaster was great to make a simple breakfast and to make snacks for the beach. Beautiful Playa Norte was only 6-7 minutes walk from the hotel.

We had a few issues though; when we checked in we found really badly stained bed sheets and had to ask them to be changed, some of the towels were also very stained...looked like drops of rust on the towels...
And the other issue was that there was no water pressure in the shower and that the cold water didn't work, which meant only boiling water. When we complained we got keys to another room to shower in but no one was sent to our room to check the problem until the third day of complaining over the same problem.

Other than that it was a very pleasant stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from 8 days at Plaza Almendros. The location is right on Avenue Hidalgo, about a block and a half from Playa Norte, very easy walk. It was great to be right in the middle of all the shops, bars and restaurants. Even though we were right there, the noise was never an issue. We had an upstairs, interior room overlooking the pool, and only occasionally heard faint music from outside.

Thank goodness the AC was working and working well, as it was incredibly hot. Ceiling fan was also good. The room was larger than we thought it would be, and the hotel is good. Nice sized closet too.

Only two drawbacks: There is no dresser in the room and the bed is hard as anything. The mattress is on a concrete slab, so after a week, we were ready for our own beds. We had to get creative with storing clothes on the closet shelf, so it would have been nice to have a small dresser.

That said, the room more than makes up for it with cleanliness and location. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. So if you get a second floor room, you will go up and down stairs, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the hotel was very clean and my housekeeper was totally awesome, the only negative was the shower water pressure. the air conditioner was cold and so was the ceiling fan. I had a room on the second floor the balcony was huge overlooking the court yard with swimming pool. the rates were very inexpensive so I stayed for 18 days. I was on the main strip the beach was two short blocks away and the eateries were plentiful the food and drinks were awesome!!!the next time I go it will be in feb-march I hit the rainy session which was the beginning of june.

Room Tip: top floor back of hotel over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pokermistress51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bemidji minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My daughter and I just returned from a lovely week on Isla Mujeres, staying at the Hotel Plaza Almendros. We had requested ground floor and got room 13, a corner unit which is slightly larger than the others. Great AC which was pretty important this past week. I'm not used to traveling when it is as humid as it was. We were often relieved to get back into our air conditioning! Beds were comfy enough. I don't mind a hard bed but they also put a little pad on the bed. I slept well every night. Great water pressure in the shower, hot water all the time and no trouble with the toilet. All good things! :)

The pool area is nice. We didn't really use it as much as we thought we would because the water is pretty warm this time of year. When we flew over Isla as we were departing, it was fun to see the Plaza Almendros pool. It is round, so it was clearly recognizable from the air.

The hotel staff is pleasant when greeted, but really I don't believe we were ever greeted first. Not a big deal but I am surprised management hasn't encouraged them to try to greet their guests. It wasn't a busy time on Isla so the hotel was really mostly empty. We felt very comfortable there and would definitely stay again. :)

Room Tip: I don't know if all rooms are quiet but our room #13 was very quiet. Perhaps if people were noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNhasSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort frances
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 10 days in Feb 2012 and are looking forward to returning in Feb 2015! Staff at front desk as well as the hardworking cleaning ladies were awesome, we had a room in back near pool which was nice and quiet and the kitchentte suited our purpose perfectly! wifi was great sitting outside the room which was lovely ( a little hit and miss inside ) Great place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I think of Plaza Almendros as my Isla Mujeres second home. You can't beat the convenient location. The manager, Polo. and the desk staff go out of their way to keep you happy. The cleaning ladies do an A1 job, cleaning and caring for your belongings. I hope to make it number #8 next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gilbro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#17 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Almendros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Almendros

Property: Hotel Plaza Almendros
Address: Av. Hidalgo Lote 14, Sm 1, Mz. 18, Isla Mujeres 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza Almendros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Almendros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Almendros Hotel
Plaza Almendros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing