We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, Beach and Downtown”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here for a week during my sons spring break from college. We went to IM for fishing and diving and the Ixchel was a great base of operations. Its an easy walk to downtown and the beach is amazing, the best location for Playa Norte. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view and the balcony was a great spot to enjoy a drink at sundown or have coffee in the morning. The room was made up very nicely every day and the staff was friendly. The pool is a bit small but with the beach I didn't use it much. Definately rent a golf cart and tool around the island, lots of fun. Compared to some of the other highly ranked resorts the location is a big plus. Being next to downtown was fun for dinner or barhopping. My sons went out on their own and had a good time, a good atmosphere wih some good local flavor unlike Cancun which appears to be Myrtle Beach in Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachmaster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

My husband and I have stayed in Penthouse 709 consecutively for two years. This is a big deal to us as we could have spent that money anywhere else in the world and we chose Ixchel Beach Hotel - Penthouse 709 in particular. For those who travel to a warm place from a very cold place like us (reaching - 40 in Winnipeg, MB, Canada in the winter) we highly recommend visiting this amazing and very relaxing spot of the world. We met several people that are completely hooked to visiting Isla and now we are included in that group.

The staff at the Ixchel is tremendous, especially Giovanni who was very kind and generous with his time. Additionally, the cleaning staff did a great job and always had a smile on their face. For such poor people, it certainly humbles you.

Penthouse 709 has the most remarkable view of the island. The room is extremely private and has direct access, from your beautiful and large wrap around deck, to the sunsets. It almost felt like we could touch the sunsets...it was majestic! The remainder of the room feels like a home and not a hotel. It's warmly decorated and the owners are friendly and eager to assist with questions. They provided maps of the island and recommendations on where to eat (and there are SO MANY wonderful places to eat). There are little things the owners provide that increased our happiness with the stay such as shot glasses, comfortable pillows, cooler bag, change jars, internet booster cable, etc. These little things combined with the privacy and the captivating sunsets creates a warm and comfortable place to stay.

My husband and I have stayed in two other penthouses for a short period of time (not by choice, waiting to get into 709) and believe me when I say, Penthouse 709 is truly the best option! You simply cannot stay anywhere else but if you have to Ixchel is an overall charming and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Ixchel Beach Hotel is a great place. We stayed in two units and couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a week of vacation. The pools and grounds are very clean, the staff is very helpful and polite, the beach is beautiful and the beds are comfortable.
A++

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I've stayed on Isla Mujeres since the mid-90's and been from one end of the spectrum i.e. $20 a nite at Hotel Berny all the way to Villa Rolandi. Ixchel hits everything on the list I want. Nice, spacious accommodations, right on North Beach, great restaurant on site, 1/2 block from Hidalgo, nice spa, great staff. I will stay at Ixchel from now on!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

From the moment you walk in you are the most important person to them. The condos are new and all furnished slightly differently because they are personally owned. Each unit is a 2br/2bath condo but can be rented seperate as a room with two double beds or 1BR suite with balcony. We definately recommend the 1br suite with balcony - beautiful sunsets and views of the beach. The beach outside the hotel is the best around and the pool is also nice. The restaurant has good service and the food is very good. This is a top five on our list and we have traveled all over central america. Five stars all the way!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK4EVRNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We just returned, and loved the Ixchel. We had a delux two bedroom on the 5th floor, 501/502 which was huge. Four of us had load of room, and two complete bedroom/bathroom suites. The kitchen was adequete for making breakfast and cocktails, but not for a big meal. The lenai was wonderful as were the huge doors that opened up to the sea.
The staff was so helpful and friendly, and the beach was spotless. We would go down early, secure our spots with a nice tip, and return to our rooms for breakfast, knowing our chairs and umbrellas were waiting for us.
The location is the best thing, on Playa Norte, and a block from town. We walked everywhere. Those were the best 5 days we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I'm not a beachy sort of person, but we stayed here for four nights for a bit of R&R after a busy three week small group tour of Mexico.
Used TA to find it and found the cheapest way to book was direct with the Hotel which worked very efficiently. The hotel consists of a series of (privately owned) two bed, two bath units, which can be divided into a one bed suite and a "standard" room (which we had). I'm always nervous about the noise coming through interconnecting doors, but it was no problem here, because the interconnecting door was in the corridor leading to the bedroom, which has its own door from the corridor. The best location would be in Ixchel I (which catches the sunset) and at the beach end of the building - we had 405, which was fine - 407 or 409 might have been even better. All of the rooms have individually secured free wi-fi. The very quiet room was good sized and had a small fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker and our own 20 litre purified water dispenser. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower room very plush - with a large and powerful shower . The hand basin (and hair dryer) is located outside the shower room, which facilitated two people getting ready at the same time. The daily room service was very efficient and unobtrusive. One (very minor) gripe is that in the room is only one twin power socket (with extension and a multi adaptor) which sometimes meant jugglig plugs around.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English (certainly better than my Spanish!). The hotel is situated directly on the best part of the best beach on the island and the beach staff were very helpful in moving chairs, putting up umbrellas etc.
The other great plus is that the Ixchel is in a very quiet location, yet only a moment's walk from Avenida Hidalgo, the pedestrianised street with lots of shops cafes and restaurants. We walked to and from the ferry - about 15 minutes with our wheeled suitcases, but there are taxis.
A shared transfer ($9 US each) from the Cancun side of the ferry took us to the airport in 45 minutes to end our perfect stay at the end of a memorable trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
369 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £91 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing