We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isla Independence Weekend”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Tulum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Isla Independence Weekend”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This past weekend we were at the Ixchelk hotel at Isla Mujeres, we get there by recommendation of a friend who already knew Ixchel and gave us very good references, the first thing we noticed the hotel was in a great location facing the turquoise beach was a giant saltwater pool!!!, then at the front desk we were treated very warmly by the staff, Upon reaching the room, a big surprise how spacious the suite was, kitchen with everything you need to cook, even when you don´t have to do it because the food at the restaurat and all over the island it great, the huge bedroom with king size bed, definitely the best of the room was the large balcony with view to the ocean.

The best of the weekend was the beach, lounge chairs and umbrellas were free and the waiters takes the drinks to your spot, you don´t have to move.

Definitely if you like to party you have to visit the island for "El Grito" which is like mexicans call to the party of independence this was on September 15th, THE BEST MEXICAN FIESTA EVER, music, dance, drinks and tons of fun.

I will go back to the Ixchel and Isla Mujeres soon.

Room Tip: Suite, ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    350
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
408
576
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas - Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Wow!! We were so impressed with the staff at this hotel. They took such good care of us! We travel a lot and have stayed at a lot of hotels, but I can't remember any hotel where the staff took better care of us than at Izchel Beach Hotel. For example, there was a independence day party at night in the restaurant near the hotel. The staff advised us early in the day that there may be noise from the party that night. Then they closed our room off with special storm windows to block the noise, they brought us ear plugs, and in the morning they paid for our taxi to the dock and transportation to the airport without us even having to ask. Throughout our stay, they consistently anticipated our needs and took care of us before we even needed to ask.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived on Isla at the beginning on Sep. 2011 Me and my friend where exploring the options on Isla when whe happened to walk by this great hotel. We asked for information at the front Desk, and the front Desk staff was so friendly and outgoing he gave us the options, and we decided to try it. Oh boy did we make the right decicion. We stayed in a suite and the room was very nice and clean. the pool at the hotel was great and we where just a few feet away from the best beach on Isla. We did get to try the restaurant that they have on site and it was great although we did end up going out to eat at the other restaurants on Hidalgo Street wich was very fun. The service at this hotel is great, staff is friendly and helpful and have no complaints all all. I definately recommend this place and will definately return in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

POSITIVES: 1. Location. Probably best beach on the island. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants in town. 2. Generally pleasant assistance. Denisse at reception is to be commended for a helpful demeanor and a beautiful smile. 3. Price – great deal on ‘standard room with partial ocean view.’

NEGATIVES: 1. ‘Standard room with partial ocean view’ has more view of other rooms than ocean. “Partial” is being generous. 2. No balcony or area to hang wet things to dry. 3. No dresser for clothing-only closet for hanging items. 4. Service is lacking: A/C is stuck on freezing. Despite requests to get it fixed, it remained 18 celsius, dipping to 16 at night. We also had to request numerous times to get hot water in the shower. It took 5 days for this to happen. I dreaded taking a shower only to get out in the ice-cold room.

Other than that: isla mujeres is a quaint island, far from the hustle and bustle of Cancun. Credit cards not greatly accepted; carry plenty of cash, especially small bills for tipping. Scuba diving is mediocre. I do not recommend Aqua Adventures Eco Divers on Calle Hidalgo. Had a few safety issues with them and intend to notify PADI. The turtle farm was interesting and, as evidenced by the number of large turtles we saw diving, quite successful. Felt sorry for the folks plying their wares on the beach, trying to make a buck.

Room Tip: standard room very basic; maybe upgrade to different room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Overall a fabulous vacation experience, in no small part because IXCHEL was a terrific base of operations.

The condo itself was beautiful, nicely appointed including full kitchen (made for quick & convenient breakfasts and occasional lunches). Housekeeping and amenities in line with any 4-star resort.

Location on North Beach is PERFECT; super convenient to town, restaurants, etc... but most important was the GREAT beach with all services (loungers, umbrellas, towels) provided by the hotel.

COUPLE of minor issues; friends had stuff stolen on beach (not us); they do caution you about this but inebvitably if you go in for a dip you will leave sunglasses, books, whatever behind. It's a risk.

Hawkers on beach can get annoying, mainly because of thh NUMBER of people selling everything from henna tatoos to har braids to jewellery. Fortunately they are NOT super aggressive or rude, and as with much of Mexico you have to feel a little bit for these people; they need to make a living!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful; saw one staffer spend most of day triyng to help one traveller stranded by Hurricane Irene.

As noted by earlier reviewer the sleeper sofas are not REALLY well suited as beds; more like a small single futon. If you need the extra beds better to upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit.

Heartily recommend to anyone travelling to Isla!

Room Tip: All rooms have great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We got back from Isla Mujeres today, after a 5 day stay at the Ixchel Beach Hotel. We stayed in room 2701, the southernmost penthouse in the west building. The room was very nice, clean with tasteful furnishings and a very nice hot tub and deck furniture. The views from the penthouse are top-notch, you can see the entire island from one side, and the ocean from the other.
Overall, we enjoyed staying here. There were a few minor issues, but nothing that would make me recommend against the hotel. Water to our room was cut off twice during our stay for short periods, and once we lost some of the power (breakers tripped overnight and the AC went out in the bedroom). Apparently they are working on the main water supply to the island and it was not a problem at the hotel that caused the water issues. All of our concerns were addressed quickly.
The location next to Playa Norte and the restaurants and shops at the northern end of the island can't be beat. There is so much within walking distance that you hardly need to leave the area.
We ate one time at the hotel restaurant the night we arrived. It is very small, really just some chairs on the patio next to the pool. The food we tried was pretty good, but it's not somewhere you would want to eat every night with all the great restaurants in town.
The staff was helpful and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our time in Isla Mujeres very much.

Room Tip: You won't regret splurging on the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiedoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at Ixchel for 7 seven days (Aug 2-9th) as part of our 30 yr honeymoon treat. Our experience from start to finish was simply fabulous. The staff were very accomodating, always smiling and always willing to put up with our less then stellar Spanish. The front staff, Richey and Juabes (sp?) were very proffesional. Richey in particular, went out of his way to make us feel very welcome and to suggest activities we might want to take in. Our room (garden view/kitchenette) was very spacious and was cleaned daily. The view (2nd floor) overlooked the beach and the sunsets were gorgeous. The only thing to remember is that the beds in Mexico are traditionally very hard , but we did not find it too bad.

The concierge, Mauricio, was the greatest. He recommended and then set up some of our adventures, including the Whale Shark tour, which we highly recommend. Mauricio was very knowledgeable about Isla Mujeres history and was able to send us to some hidden jewels (Garrafon Castilla) that we otherwise may have overlooked. If you go to this hotel I recommend you call on Mauricio to help you set up or make recommendations around outside activities. I'm not sure if Mauricio slept at the hotel, but he certainly always seemed to be there.

The hotel is located near the north end of the island and is situated next to the beach. The hotel provided beach chairs and towels and staff were present to set up your umbrella and bring your food and drinks. The sand was white and the water was blue, what more can I say. We toured the whole island several times and I can say that this beach was definitely one of the best.

The other thing we loved about this hotel was the fact they were affiliated with several local restaurants, which allowed you to charge meals to your room. The hotel is also within walking distance of the grocery store and general merchandise vendors.

The only thing to remember is that you should be tipping your service providers (including your hotel maid) as they generally don't make a lot of money and of course they always seem to work a little harder for you.

We definitely plan on coming back and will be bringing the family with us. If your looking for a clean, friendly, quiet and relaxed atmosphere, then Ixchel is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John154929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing