We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

What a great place to stay!!! This was my 4th trip to Isla but my 1st and for sure not my last stay at Ixchel. I went this time as a girls trip and the location of Ixchel really cannot be any better. The beach was amazing and it is so close to town! I booked my rental from VRBO units 405 and 406. Rod the owner was great to work with. Oh and how can I for get about the staff at Ixchel Debi (sp?) and Mauricio where wonderful. Already planning next years trip and we will be at Ixchel again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkid37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed in penthouse #705 September 1st-6th..Perfect vacation..Wonderful amenities,
beautiful suite with jacuzzi..Awesome concierge Mauricio !! and any /all Staff eager to assist
your needs for a perfect Holiday Trip. We felt genuinly welcomed and were greeted anytime
of the day/nite by the wonderful staff as if we were "Royalty"
In May 2011, I vacationed on Isla Mujeres for the first time. I stayed at a different property
and when I saw Ixchell Beach Hotel I knew I wanted to stay there instead. I got my wish and
I am so happy to have enjoyed a perfect vacation. I am already looking forward to returning
to Ixchell Beach Hotel in November 2011 or February 2012.

Thank You All at Ixchell Beach Hotel for a perfect vacation !!!
N. Turley

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubafan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This past weekend we were at the Ixchelk hotel at Isla Mujeres, we get there by recommendation of a friend who already knew Ixchel and gave us very good references, the first thing we noticed the hotel was in a great location facing the turquoise beach was a giant saltwater pool!!!, then at the front desk we were treated very warmly by the staff, Upon reaching the room, a big surprise how spacious the suite was, kitchen with everything you need to cook, even when you don´t have to do it because the food at the restaurat and all over the island it great, the huge bedroom with king size bed, definitely the best of the room was the large balcony with view to the ocean.

The best of the weekend was the beach, lounge chairs and umbrellas were free and the waiters takes the drinks to your spot, you don´t have to move.

Definitely if you like to party you have to visit the island for "El Grito" which is like mexicans call to the party of independence this was on September 15th, THE BEST MEXICAN FIESTA EVER, music, dance, drinks and tons of fun.

I will go back to the Ixchel and Isla Mujeres soon.

Room Tip: Suite, ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jurgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Wow!! We were so impressed with the staff at this hotel. They took such good care of us! We travel a lot and have stayed at a lot of hotels, but I can't remember any hotel where the staff took better care of us than at Izchel Beach Hotel. For example, there was a independence day party at night in the restaurant near the hotel. The staff advised us early in the day that there may be noise from the party that night. Then they closed our room off with special storm windows to block the noise, they brought us ear plugs, and in the morning they paid for our taxi to the dock and transportation to the airport without us even having to ask. Throughout our stay, they consistently anticipated our needs and took care of us before we even needed to ask.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived on Isla at the beginning on Sep. 2011 Me and my friend where exploring the options on Isla when whe happened to walk by this great hotel. We asked for information at the front Desk, and the front Desk staff was so friendly and outgoing he gave us the options, and we decided to try it. Oh boy did we make the right decicion. We stayed in a suite and the room was very nice and clean. the pool at the hotel was great and we where just a few feet away from the best beach on Isla. We did get to try the restaurant that they have on site and it was great although we did end up going out to eat at the other restaurants on Hidalgo Street wich was very fun. The service at this hotel is great, staff is friendly and helpful and have no complaints all all. I definately recommend this place and will definately return in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

POSITIVES: 1. Location. Probably best beach on the island. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants in town. 2. Generally pleasant assistance. Denisse at reception is to be commended for a helpful demeanor and a beautiful smile. 3. Price – great deal on ‘standard room with partial ocean view.’

NEGATIVES: 1. ‘Standard room with partial ocean view’ has more view of other rooms than ocean. “Partial” is being generous. 2. No balcony or area to hang wet things to dry. 3. No dresser for clothing-only closet for hanging items. 4. Service is lacking: A/C is stuck on freezing. Despite requests to get it fixed, it remained 18 celsius, dipping to 16 at night. We also had to request numerous times to get hot water in the shower. It took 5 days for this to happen. I dreaded taking a shower only to get out in the ice-cold room.

Other than that: isla mujeres is a quaint island, far from the hustle and bustle of Cancun. Credit cards not greatly accepted; carry plenty of cash, especially small bills for tipping. Scuba diving is mediocre. I do not recommend Aqua Adventures Eco Divers on Calle Hidalgo. Had a few safety issues with them and intend to notify PADI. The turtle farm was interesting and, as evidenced by the number of large turtles we saw diving, quite successful. Felt sorry for the folks plying their wares on the beach, trying to make a buck.

Room Tip: standard room very basic; maybe upgrade to different room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Overall a fabulous vacation experience, in no small part because IXCHEL was a terrific base of operations.

The condo itself was beautiful, nicely appointed including full kitchen (made for quick & convenient breakfasts and occasional lunches). Housekeeping and amenities in line with any 4-star resort.

Location on North Beach is PERFECT; super convenient to town, restaurants, etc... but most important was the GREAT beach with all services (loungers, umbrellas, towels) provided by the hotel.

COUPLE of minor issues; friends had stuff stolen on beach (not us); they do caution you about this but inebvitably if you go in for a dip you will leave sunglasses, books, whatever behind. It's a risk.

Hawkers on beach can get annoying, mainly because of thh NUMBER of people selling everything from henna tatoos to har braids to jewellery. Fortunately they are NOT super aggressive or rude, and as with much of Mexico you have to feel a little bit for these people; they need to make a living!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful; saw one staffer spend most of day triyng to help one traveller stranded by Hurricane Irene.

As noted by earlier reviewer the sleeper sofas are not REALLY well suited as beds; more like a small single futon. If you need the extra beds better to upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit.

Heartily recommend to anyone travelling to Isla!

Room Tip: All rooms have great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlejandroNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £101 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing