We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review For Ixchel”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mixed Review For Ixchel”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed a this hotel Feb 11 thru 18,2012. Last year our hotel choice on Isla Mujeres was Privelge Aluxes,but we we wanted to try this property also. The beach is breath taking but full of people.On either side of the hotel are rent-a-umbrella companys...this attracts people from all over the island who do not stay at beach front resorts--so the beach can be four rows deep in umbrellas...if you want to see this in action go to "webcams de mexico" and click Isla Mujeres...the camera you see is on top of the hotel.The beds are rock hard---I am talking Fred Flintstone and Barney Rubble hard! The maid service is average at best and the clean towels they give to you are often stained.Everyone at the hotel is hard working and pleasant to be around.The location is very close to downtown,the beach drink service very good also.For the price this hotel is lacking in several areas-we will return to Aluxes next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byronomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the mentioned inconveniences during your recent stay. Yes, our beach is crowded mostly during this high season months. Your comment about our beds is highly appreciated and it is included in our improvements plan. We wish you to stay with us in your future trip to Isla Mujeres so you can witness the strong and positive impulse of your words. All the best!

Ixchel Beach Hotel, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    358
    90
    32
    21
See reviews for
416
593
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have traveled to Isla Mujeres over a dozen times in the last 25 years, and chose Ixchel
for our three week trip in January, 2012, because of its location to the downtown area.

Pros:

The Playa Norte beach has shrunk over the last decades due to storms and natural erosion.
The area in front of Ixchel is one of the widest remaining areas on North Beach.

The location is great because it is an easy walk to any of several great restaurants for
drinks or a meal.

Mexico can be famous for poor water pressure. The water pressure in the shower was great and we always had plenty of hot water.

The hotel amenities included the free use of beach chairs, tables, and umbrellas.

Cons:

The pool is nicely tiled, but is in the shade 90% of the time, and the pool water was very cold.

While sitting on the beach, we were CONTINUALLY hassled by people trying to get us to buy key rings, ponchos, shirts, blankets, tablecloths, iron wood statues, coconuts, jewelry, baskets, snorkeling and fishing trips, popsicles, popcorn, hair braiding, massages....you get the picture. A very polite "no thanks" would get them to walk away, but you would encounter the same person two or three more times the same day, if you stayed on the beach long enough. What was supposed to be a time of repose on one of the best beaches, turned into constantly being annoyed by people badgering you to buy something from them.

Directly at the water/beach edge, there are very large black berms several feet wide and long in front of Ixchell 2. They aren't shown on any of the hotel pictures, but are in your direct view of the water.

We have stayed at nicer places on Isla for less money. We won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim12alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the mentioned inconveniences during your recent stay. Our heaters have been adjusted to make our east wing swimming pool warmer. We have also shared your input of the beach hassle and the black berms with the local authorities. We are committed to work together in all aspects. Precisely, those berms are a temporary barrier to keep our beach wide and we do foresee for this to be removed in the future. Hope you may reconsider to stay with us again. All the best!

Ixchel Beach Hotel, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisholm, MN
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just returned from a 12 day stay at Ixchel Beach in Unit 404 Phase I. The room was absolutely wonderful and cleaned to perfection on a daily basis. We had a large balcony with a nice big table and chairs and two other chairs with table so we could just sit and take in the beautiful scenery of the water and beach when we weren't swimming or lazing around the beach. There was a beautiful pool we vowed to spend part of one day in but we simply never got around to it. The beach/water was simply too stunning. We enjoyed the condo setup so we could have drinks on the balcony, a snack in the room or just reheating leftovers from dinner the night before. What really stood out for us at this property was the friendliness of each and every person affiliated with the property. We were greeted by every single person there and you could sense it was their mission to be sure you had whatever you needed to make your stay enjoyable. This was our 7th trip to the Island but our first to Ixchel. We will definitely be returning to Ixchel.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony. If you want sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toldo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We just visited Isla Mujeres for the first time and were very impressed with the Ixchel Beach Hotel. The location is perfect, the price is great, but we were most impressed with the excellent service we received from hotel staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. One minor disappointment was that only double beds were available in the standard rooms and also the beds were not terribly comfortable. On the whole, this hotel is an excellent value and we would definitely consider staying there again. It is also very conveniently located to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Ixchel Beach Hotel was a great choice - we loved it from the moment we walked into our rooms. First, the location was excellent - it was at the end of the restaurant street, so it was an easy stroll in the evenings to find a restaurant for dinner. The views from the hotel are fantastic - you can see the highrise buildings of Cancun in the distance and nothing beats champagne sunsets on the beach or in the privacy of your balcony. The rooms are spacious and provide all necessary basics - good beds, aircon, proper shower, safe, free wifi and a kitchenette with drinking water and fridge. We had two adjacent rooms so it was basically one huge suite which was very enjoyable. The hotel beach is right there and it was clean, with lots of services available. Please note that the beach is serviced by a number of waiters, and NOT all of them work for the hotel, so if you want to charge your drinks to your hotel bill make sure you order them from the guy wearing the hotel shirt.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slarikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

First time to Isla Mujeres and Ixchel Beach Resort and absolutely love it! My husband and I love a balcony so definitely upgrade to a room with one! We stayed in room 208 in Tower 1 and loved the view and space of the room! Very close to the beach which we love! Great island with tons of delicious places to eat! We will definitely come back !!! Highly recommend Olivia's to eat!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, ND
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Ixchel about six times. I cannot say enough about the hotel, the employees, beach and accommodations.

We usually rent the ground floor unit closest to the beach, owned by Cindy and Dean. We love the way they have updated their condo with granite countertops, bowl sinks in the bathrooms and just the overall decor. A real class act.

Staying on the ground is great especially if you have children. That way they are just steps away from the pool and beach. We are able to come and go as we please with no worries. The little cafe/bar is perfect if you want to grab a cerveza or a light snack. The beach is so gorgeous, so some times it's hard to leave to search out food. Why leave when the friendly wait staff will come right to your beach chair and take all your food and drink orders? It's really nice and convenient.

Our most recent stay was about 3 weeks ago and our friends stayed in the floor unit and we rented one of the penthouse units. Although the view is amazing and the rooftop hot tub and amenities are very nice, we found going up and down the elevator and steps multiple times a day got old. We got our exercise in, or at least I did, because I took the stairs almost every time.

The staff at the front desk are always willing to go above and beyond to help. They are sweet, sweet people and we are blessed to call them our friends. Although the spa is very tiny, it packs a mighty punch! Love them! You have the option of having a massage on the beach, with it's very cool little palapa and flowing fabric curtains or inside their small massage therapy room. I've had three massages from two different people and they are amazing! Really talented people with something special about them. You feel their energy and they are good people, too. I joked with my friends that I needed a cigarette after one of the massages! hahaa

We have stayed at several hotels on the island and we have found that Ixchel is the best accommodations, service and most definitely the best stretch of beach is on the North Beach, Playa Norte. Although the tides and weather can ultimately change the size and shape of the beach, it always rejuvenates and comes back to a wonderful stretch of white, ashtray sand.

If you have never been to Isla Mujeres before, do yourself a favor and make your reservations today for Ixchel - you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Go to VRBO and look for Cindy and Dean's unit. Great to rent from. Americans who have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing