We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Loved the location, right on north beach, with the best swimming location! Price of stay includes beach chairs, umbrellas, food and drinks are extra. Service was great! Beautiful sand beach and views. These are condo units that they rent out and all are different. Ours was a one bedroom that had an old tv in the bedroom, and none in the living room. Definately needed a bit of work done to it. Bed was hard. We had our own private roof top with a hot tub. Area was huge! View was great! Walk to everywhere! I would stay here again but I do have to say that if there was a party going on, it was very noisy! Sound seems to echo around quite a bit.

Room Tip: Each room has a good view, and we didnt really use the roof top alot so you can save your self the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0sie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    349
    89
    31
    21
See reviews for
405
573
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

great staff, clean rooms, close to the beach, clean pool, a little pricey on their drinks and food, internet service sucks on the 6th floor, they do ask for credit card when u check in, so becareful when u buy stuff because they will charge it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maicco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We are a family of four. We try to avoid touristy stuff. We love the beach, sun, and water. We love to have access to local sites, a village, and the authentic convenience that you can find on a small island. This hotel and Isla met and often exceeded our expectations. Had not been for some inconsistent housekeeping, this would be have been a five star review. The service on the beach was outstanding, the food, drinks, etc. were are excellent. Everything simple but well-appointed. This was not a luxurious compound resort but a very beautiful, comfortable small-ish hotel with a great chill and relaxed vibe.

We stayed in #705, with 180^ of water views, sweet jacuzzi, large deck, and all very comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Highly recommend top floor, either phase 1 (north side) or phase 2 (south side). Phase 2 has one mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kehsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is our 5th visit to Isla Mujeres and we love it so much. We booked through www.casasirenamexico.com for room #2501 or #2502. It's a HUGE 2 bedroom condo (or rents as 1 bedroom + studio separately) both master suites are on opposite ends of the condo so it's very private. The bed was very comfortable, everything really clean, modern decor, great staff. We loved having coffee every morning on the outdoor patio (again... HUGE patio) overlooking the ocean. 1 minute walk to Hidalgo street restaurants and shops. Beach is right there, free chairs and umbrella, we saved lots of money by bringing our own food and drinks from the room.

My favourite part is if you book through Casa Sirena (awesome hotel too!) then you are invited to owner Steven's 'sunset for the fun set' happy hour every night for friends and guests on his hotel rooftop patio. We learned more about the best places to eat and visit on the Island from the happy hour guests than any guide books. We have even kept in touch with other guests and returned at the same time the following years. Can't say enough about this place...love love love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Wonderful & friendly staff, especially Gerson at front desk. Exceptionally clean facilities and room. Easy access to beach and great pool, never too crowded. Loved the location of hotel, few minutes walk to downtown area with plentiful dining and shopping. Unforgettable trip at Ixchel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Jp a;

We highly appreciate your kind comments, and we are glad to know about your wonderful experience at Ixchel Beach Hotel.

We invite you to come back to let us make your next stay unforgettable.

Warm regards.

Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Super friendly staff, clean hotel and rooms. Right on the beach and close to town. The Hotel is easy to get to from the ferry. We walked but cabs are easily available. There are 2 pools and mostly empty as the majority of people used the beach when we were there.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrockny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Ixchel beach is an outstanding place. It is ran in the most professional way with the nicest people you can imagine!!
The concierges are very helpful and friendly. Mauricio and Edgar are the heart of the hotel and everyone loves them.
The staff are always smiling and willing to accommodate you with requests 24/7.
Checking in is fast and they Explain everything that you need. They charge in pesos but on your bank statement it converts to dollars.
The pool is heated until mid march and Is beautiful. There ls a lovely out door restaurant right beside the pool. Very handy.
The hotel is situated right on the beach. The ocean front suites have an amazing view and the sunsets are breathtaking. The ocean and garden view rooms are nice too. The bottom rooms all have walk out patios and is easy access to the pool and beach.
The beach is beautiful and everything you could dream of. Service is class "a". The cabana boys wait on you hand and foot. They set your provided chairs for you with a big umbrella and side table for drinks. There are beach towels provided right on the beach! And if you run out of sunscreen that's provided too.
The massages are so good and its on the beach if u want or inside on cool or rainy days. I really can't say enough about Ixchel Beach hotel!! Go experience this dream place for yourself :). The Island is heaven on earth!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your review and for share your experience. We highly appreciate all direct comments of our Customers. Like yours, positive reviews reinforce our mission to provide the best experience for our Guests and help us to keep up the good work!

Best Regards.

Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing