We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ixchel Revies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ixchel Revies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The only way we could have been happier with our visit is if we had been given a room with a balcony. The room we had was large, clean, and well maintained.
The staff was great, especially the concierge. The two gentlemen that man the concierge desk were so helpful. They made sure that we had all of the information we needed, then took care of our travel needs.
This is not a reflection on the hotel, but not knowing that the restaurant at the palapa caused us to get ripped off by the wait staff. Two beers and an order of quasadillas shouldn't have cost $35.
Other than that, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom suite. It would be well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    349
    89
    31
    21
See reviews for
405
573
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Coteau, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our trip begin with a ride to the isla the water on the beach was so awesome and clean, we swim every day,the rooms were great ,the staff was very helpful and courteous, the weather was very nice and the scenery of the isla was so beautiful Will be back again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra61712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Ok shorter trip of 9 days. Room 701. We had met the owners last year. So remodeled and no jacuzzi for a pent house. However weather great so no jacuzzi, no problem. Great kitchen, beautiful counter tops, wine fridge, ice maker. Living room really nice. Bathrooms with cool bowl sinks. The bed was real comfy. Plenty of closet and drawer space. We met some really great people from California close to us that we will visit. We already want to go back soon to this unit. We fished, went to contoy and had some really great food. I would recommend this unit. We were in 703 last year and there is a difference in units owned. We went to key west after Mexico and they do not compare. I miss the beach. I am working on next trip hopefully this year. Can't wait. Live isla.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

One thing I look for in a hotel is a nice bed and pillow. The rooms were nice but the beds and pillows were hard. It was very hard to get a good night sleep. Luckily the massage place down the street is fantastic so they could work out on the aches :). I highly recommend the massage place down the street vs. the one on the beach at the resort. The prices are much better and the massage was the best!!! (Just for reference we did not get a massage at the one on the beach, due to the one down the street being half the price we just went there.).

It seems all the rooms had good views. We stayed in Fase 2 on the 5th floor in the back overlooking the pool and the beach. We really enjoyed the views from our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Greetings Nicki H:

Thank you for your review. Your input is highly valuable to us. Based on your comments we would like to take this opportunity to mention that recently Ixchel Beach Hotel updated beds and pillows based on all input received from reviewers and visitors, following our goal on constantly providing the best possible experience for our guests.

We invite you to give us the honor to visit us again in order to experience these improvements.

Regards,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Ixchel Beach Hotel is an excellent choice in Isla Mujeres. We had a ocean front room with kitchen and balconies with a full view of the ocean. You are steps to the ocean with complete wait staff for food and drinks. The staff is wonderful and can arrange activities and moped/golf cart rentals. Having a full kitchen, you can hit the grocery store and stock up your room. They even have a large jug of filtered water. The town is right there and has many great choices for dining. The hotel provides recommendations for dining that are spot on. It was a truly perfect vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKNicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We just got back from our wedding on Isla Mujeres where we had 100+ people on the small island. Many of our guests stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel. The rooms are comfortable and large. Our penthouse was an older model, but many others were updated to a more contemporary feel. The staff was very courteous. They spoke English. The gym was sufficient (at least they had one.) The food was great, although service is quite slow. Being an avid traveler, I'm used to 'Island Time.' Isla was no different. Ixchel is very accessible to all the restaurants. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Many of the privately owned villas are listed on VRBO.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiggeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our best vacation yet. We stayed in the
newly remodeled unit #610. Nicely funished, full kitchen, end unit with the balcony on 2 sides offering beautiful views including sunrise & sunset. The cleanest beach on the island is right outside the hotel. Dining, shopping, and any activity you desire is within a few blocks. This is our 2nd time to Ixchel and won't be the last!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smudgie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing