We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have taken three vacations to the Ixchel and we have loved every single one. My fiancé first found the Ixchel after traveling to Cancun and take a ferry for the day on Isla Mujeres. We fell in love with the island at first site. The suites are beautiful and we have stayed in both towers from the first floor to the penthouse. The suites on the higher floors have completely unobstructed views of the beautiful beach and water. We really enjoyed staying in the penthouse in tower 2 and having the outdoor space and hot tub. The kitchens are stocked with what you need to prepare a meal or drinks, and the Chedrauri has all the groceries you may need during your stay on the island. It is a short walk from the hotel down Hildago and you will be surrounded by restaurants and shops. We have been to Ixchel as a couple and last Christmas we took our two boys and 10 other family members. Everyone enjoyed it and their stay on the island. We are getting married on the island in July and we are having our guests stay at the Ixchel. Mauricio is fantastic and has helped us with reservations, setting up golf cart rentals, and dive trips. We love the Ixchel so much we are looking into ownership.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Jean B,

Thank you for your valuable comments!

Positive reviews motivate us to keep up the good work. We are pleased that your previous and recent stay was wonderful experiences for you and your family and now feel honored to be considered to host your Guest in such an special occasion like your Wedding.

We certainly look forward for your next visit and always be here for you.

All the best,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Every room has a fantastic view of an excellent beach. Excellent safe place for kids to swim. Great staff, easy check in and out. Walking distance to some good restaurants. Isla Mujeres is a quiet kicked back location a short ferry ride from the bustle of Cancun. We've been several times and enjoyed this hotel very much. This is a place to relax, though diving, snorkeling and fishing are available. Combine with a week in Cancun and you have a fantastic vacation. We know we've done it 4 times.

Room Tip: Any room has a view and a balcony. It is small enough that no room is more than 25 yards from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chugiak_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

That says alot...it is the best location on the island, and the best swimming beach for miles. We did have one issue though this time. We reserved penthouse 509/510 which is supposed to be the premium penthouse, and when we arrived they told us that we had to stay in building #2 in a two bedroom regular unit. We were taken over the #2 building, which we didn't want to do because our friends were staying in #1. We asked Delby, the nice lady trying to help us, and she got us penthouse 501/502 for 5 days, and another penthouse next to constant construction for the last two days, both in #1 building. They were adding on to the penthouse between this unit and the one we had rented, which they say got damaged in the storm two nights before, but when we insisted on taking a look anyway, it was obvious it had problems way before that, and way before my final payment. It was totally uninhabitable....but Milton, they guy that was supposed to be there to help us out was in Cancun, and we had him call us. He said we could either get the $140 difference back, or stay in that condo anyway. WHAT! It was all torn up with furniture stacked all over they place. And what about that phone call or email telling us this situation in the first place...and my contact Paula...she was in the dark as well I assume. That did not set well with us after being repeat guests and bringing others down to stay also! Finally after days of talking in circles, Milton gave us $245 back..Moving from one unit to another is quite the hassle since we were only there for a week...but it worked itself out. Oh, and by the way, that premium unit 509/510...not worth it..overlooks Chimbos tin roof...I prefer unit 501/502 which we stayed in last year...lesson learned.. Thank you Delby for your kindness. That being said...they don't really know what they are doing at this point as far as rentals...half are rented by Ixchel and half by owners...they don't work together well...lack of communication I suppose...anyone going down now should know that construction is going on in several condos in building #1..509, 510,506 and 301...just a heads up which I didn't have...but I will be back, and so will our friends...they need to learn to COMMUNICATE...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Akumalholic,

Thank you for your valuable review.

Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described while your recent stay with us.

Our Guests input is a powerful tool to identify immediate actions to adjust where we need to, as in this matter, improve our communication procedures.

Your smile is our purpose, and if you may return to Isla Mujeres in the future, please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home in the Mexican Caribbean, we will look to you with open arms!

Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved our stay at Ixchel. We were there for a girls weekend and rented a penthouse unit in Phase 1. It had a fabulous rooftop. Unit 501/502
The beach here is beautiful. The best location on the Island. Beach chairs and umbrellas are included. Always 2 for 1 drinks and the wait staff was great.
We rented our unit through VRBO. Many of the owners are in a rental pool. We rented with Rod Dixon. He was very helpful and gave us many tips on places to see and do in Isla Mujeres. Even helped with airport transportation.
We plan to go back again and will stay at Ixchel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flygirlIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I went back to Isla for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We went with our 2 kids and hadn't been back since our honeymoon. We had a great time at the hotel and on the Island. We knew that the best beach was at Playa Norte, so picked this hotel for the convenience of it's location. The hotel had plenty of toys for kids to use in the pool or on the beach. It was great to walk right out of the hotel and straight to the pool and beach with the kids. One of my girls had fever when we landed. The hotel was very helpful and gave us information for everything we needed.

I also liked that many restaurants on the Island would allow you to charge things to your room.

We forgot to put our camera in the safe one day. We got a note telling us to put objects of value in the safe. Nothing was ever missing.

The staff on the beach was very attentive and was always sure to check in if you needed a drink without being pushy.

The hotel was very clean, the room nice and roomy. I would go back again in a heartbeat!

A few suggestions: Buy coffee at the convenience store, the hotel coffee is terrible.
For those travelling with young kids: Bring umbrella strollers. My kids were beat by the ends of the day. Having strollers made eating out at night easier. Kids can sleep in their strollers while you finish super and you don't have to carry them back all the way back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is perfection. It has two buildings (Phases I and II) directly on Playa Norte, THE beach on the island and maybe in the entire Caribe. Two pools, a beach bar/restaurant and a free beach club with towels, lounges and umbrellas set up for you by an attentive staff. The place is spotless, well-maintained and has a friendly, knowledgable staff. We had an 1 bedroon suite that is an ocean front penthouse (709) that is like your apartment with a full kitchen (ice, water cooler, full frig, blender, coffee maker, toaster, grill and all your glasses, plates and utensils), an ocean view bay window dining room, 2 ceiling fans, comfy living room with cable TV/DVD/iPod dock, 1.5 bathrooms, a large bedroom with king bed, closet, chests of drawers, electronic safe, separate vanity and toilet/shower windows to see the ocean ... and a giant balcony, 1/2 covered - 1/2 open with chairs, tables, lounges and a giant hot tub. It is right on the beach with 270 degree views. STUNNING!

Walk one block from the beach and Hidalgo Street starts with all its, bars, clubs, restaurants, art stores, convenience stores, street performers, etc. Ixchel is perfectly located.

Room Tip: All are fine but the penthouses seems better. Phase 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at the ixchell beach hotel recently for 2 nights, me and my wife decided to go tour the town at night when we came back my phones were gone from the room which the hotel claims nobody but me had access to the room, B S , security have access to every room in the hotel , we were so worried we had the chairs behind the door for extra security , what kind of 5 star treatment is that when you feel that your privacy is being breached , what kind of vacation will you have afterwards, go elsewhere where they know that safety and customer service is first because you are not going to get it here.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Medwasfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Mr. Ahmed Wasfy,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry for any inconvenience. Above all we emphasize that any situation like the one you describe, inclusively hypothetically is absolutely reprehensible and do not follow our high standard views.

As we responded to you personally we did actioned the proper security protocols to promptly follow up your case with the staff that could have been involved in this unconfirmed situation, and with no supporting evidence gathered proving your judgment our choice is to keep this case open and under investigation.

Nevertheless we take your input and this case as a serious matter in order tighten our security checks and, (certainly with the help of our guests) to underline the usage of the safety deposit box available in all rooms.

Mr. Wasfy, once again we appreciate your time given to this matter we will certainly look forward to hosting you in the future.

Ixchel Beach Hotel
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
369 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £91 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing