We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arturo is the best Beach server!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arturo is the best Beach server!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just arrived back from a great 8 day stay at Ixchel Beach Hotel. Our room was lovely and the staff were very responsive to our needs. On the beach Arturo made sure we were all well looked after and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    353
    90
    32
    21
See reviews for
411
581
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Family just back from a week in Isla Mujeres. The hotel was great, we stayed in phase I room 310 and 309, which made a suite. The furniture was real comfortable. The view from the room suite was partially obstructed from palm trees, but the side was great (wrap around porch). I would have liked to be one story higher. The hotel staff was excellent. We visited the spa and very pleased. The on-site restaurant was just okay. I would recommend walking into town. The location of the hotel was perfect. Great white sand beaches, pool and plenty of lounge chairs. Walkable into centro (downtown), which was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetandKevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here last week with our two kids (11 and 7) and the location is fantastic. Gorgeous area of the beach and easy walking to restaurants/town. We added on their transportation service from Cancun airport with AGI and it was easy/reliable. They were waiting for us, brought us to the ferry, and then after the ferry another AGI representative picked us up and brought us to Ixchel. We stayed in a standard room with two doubles and it was clean, with a mini fridge, a safe (we kept our passports in it) and drinking water. There was a complimentary bottle of wine as well (though I didn't know it was complimentary until check out so we didn't drink it. LOL!) The beach is FANTASTIC. You go out and get your towels for the day and they have loungers and umbrellas. The water is amazing, shallow until really far out (great for kids!!) and no strong waves. Easy swimming for kids or those who are not strong swimmers. Their restaurant will serve drinks to you right on the beach (2 margaritas for 90 pesos, good deal!) It's handy that you can just charge them to your room so you don't have to bring money to the beach. The Kalak restaurant onsite is not great food but the service is great. All the staff at Ixchel were very friendly. The maid saw that we had kids and made my daughter an elephant out of a towel, complete with eyes, which we thought was very cute. You can rent a golf cart from the hotel and drive around the island. The view was beautiful, even from our standard room. The kids liked the pool (no one was ever in it) but we mostly made them go to the beach instead, we have pools at home. ;) If you arrive in the dark like we did, don't be scared to walk out on the street (hidalgo) and go straight....it will take you to the restaurants. There is a bank (CI Banco) if you take a right (past the cemetery) and then an immediate left on the main beach road (down a couple blocks.) It has an ATM open after hours. A supermarket is also within easy walking distance if you want to go grab a few beers for your mini fridge in your room. We will definitely be back and we will DEFINITELY stay at Ixchel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Desiree1234

Thank you for your visit and sharing your experience!

Your review motivates us to keep providing and improving the quality services that we offer.

How great to hear about your wonderful time at Ixchel Beach Hotel, we certainly look forward to your next visit so please consider us as your home in the Mexican Caribbean; we will look to you with open arms.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We were just here in May and we needed our ixchel fix so for hubby's bday I booked our October trip. I knew our friends Scott n Mary would be there so we landed, flew thru customs and over to ferry. So happy to return. Love the staff, always so welcoming and remember returning guests. The guys on the beach were great. We discovered more food. Couple of rainy days just helped us explore more to pass the time. We have made our next year plans and will stay 28 days part in 5th floor ocean front and large portion in penthouse. Count down is on!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear infogal

Thank you for your valuable review!

Your comments motivates us to keep providing and improving the quality services that we offer and we are pleased to know that your recent stay was a wonderful experience.

We will certainly look forward to hosting you for your next visit should you consider us when visiting Isla Mujeres.

Best regards,
Customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First of all, it's absolutely worth getting away from the "strip" in Cancun and taking the ferry to the quiet, laid back island of Isla Mujeres. Once there, check into this gem, which is a stone's throw from the clear blue waters of the Caribbean. They also have partnerships with some restaurants (all of which seem to be within walking distance)... which is good, since the hours at the bar/restaurant are limited. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byronium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have taken three vacations to the Ixchel and we have loved every single one. My fiancé first found the Ixchel after traveling to Cancun and take a ferry for the day on Isla Mujeres. We fell in love with the island at first site. The suites are beautiful and we have stayed in both towers from the first floor to the penthouse. The suites on the higher floors have completely unobstructed views of the beautiful beach and water. We really enjoyed staying in the penthouse in tower 2 and having the outdoor space and hot tub. The kitchens are stocked with what you need to prepare a meal or drinks, and the Chedrauri has all the groceries you may need during your stay on the island. It is a short walk from the hotel down Hildago and you will be surrounded by restaurants and shops. We have been to Ixchel as a couple and last Christmas we took our two boys and 10 other family members. Everyone enjoyed it and their stay on the island. We are getting married on the island in July and we are having our guests stay at the Ixchel. Mauricio is fantastic and has helped us with reservations, setting up golf cart rentals, and dive trips. We love the Ixchel so much we are looking into ownership.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Jean B,

Thank you for your valuable comments!

Positive reviews motivate us to keep up the good work. We are pleased that your previous and recent stay was wonderful experiences for you and your family and now feel honored to be considered to host your Guest in such an special occasion like your Wedding.

We certainly look forward for your next visit and always be here for you.

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Every room has a fantastic view of an excellent beach. Excellent safe place for kids to swim. Great staff, easy check in and out. Walking distance to some good restaurants. Isla Mujeres is a quiet kicked back location a short ferry ride from the bustle of Cancun. We've been several times and enjoyed this hotel very much. This is a place to relax, though diving, snorkeling and fishing are available. Combine with a week in Cancun and you have a fantastic vacation. We know we've done it 4 times.

Room Tip: Any room has a view and a balcony. It is small enough that no room is more than 25 yards from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chugiak_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
702 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing