We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$627
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$268
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$260
US$236
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
US$320
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maria's Kan-kin(Isla Mujeres)
US$177
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$729
US$610
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Paraiso(Isla Mujeres)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
935
381
99
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
381
99
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya norteixchel iithrough vrbothe penthousegolf cartbedroom suitefull kitchenocean frontstandard roomchairs and umbrellasbeautiful beachhot tubhidalgo streetbeach servicebest beach on the islandflat screenan umbrella
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just returned home from Isla Mujeres. We stayed in penthouse 507 & 508. While there were some small issues with the hotel, it wasn't major enough to not want to come back. The rooms were nice and clean and good in size. The roof top terrace with the hot top was amazing and the view was great. Only complaint is that only 2 of the lights were working up there. Also, we had to call the front desk to come up and turn the lights on for us because the switch was in the 3rd bedroom, which was locked. We informed them of the non working lights on the rooftop terrace, and they never returned to replace them. We have an 18 month old, so we couldn't really be up there after dark because we couldn't see much. The other complaint was that the room keys would just randomly stop working. We had to return to the front desk to have them re-activated several times. Not a big issue, just kinda annoying. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right on the beach. The pools were fantastic. One was super warm, which was great for our daughter. She had a blast in the pool. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. On the beach as well, getting us umbrellas quickly.
I highly recommend paying the extra money for the hotel shuttle service. It was a little pricey, but it was so easy!! They were very helpful, and even suggested a pick up time from the hotel for our trip home!
PLEASE READ!! VERY IMPORTANT!! THIS IS NOT A KNOCK ON THE HOTEL, BUT PLEASE IF YOU RENT A GOLF CART WITH A LUGGAGE CART ON THE BACK, YOU MUST SECURE YOUR ITEMS!! We were headed to the turtle farm and dolphin discovery for the day. We were a few miles from the hotel when a motorcycle came up next to us and ripped the bag right off the back of the golf cart! The golf cart company... comodidad y estilo luxury car rental didn't give us any warning of thieves or to make sure to secure our bags. It made for a very stressful day and a rather eventful trip to the police station.
Other than the golf cart incident, we had no other problems with theft. BUT PLEASE WATCH YOUR STUFF!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajecando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear ajecando,

Thank you for your valuable review!

Your information motivates us to keep improving the quality services that we offer, reinforcing our mission to provide the best experience for our Guests.

Above all we emphasize that any situation like the one you describe with this “golf cart thieves” is unacceptable. Nevertheless we take your input and this case as a serious matter, informing all parties involved (Municipal Authorities and Golf Cart Rentals) thus preventing that this situation may affect other future Isla Mujeres visitors.

Please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home; will always look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights. The rooms were disappointing for the price we paid. Bed is not comfortable, blanket was itchy. Sheets were not changed. TV is small. Toilets were bad and soaps were not changed. Window cannot be opened. No laundry service, washing machines ruined some of our clothes. The beach is amazing and the location is good. The drinks on the beach are low in alcohol. Service on the beach was great.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Polina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Polina G,

Thank you very much for your input.

Your information is highly valued, it will help us improve in the areas that you mentioned in your review, such as the rooms & bedding options.

Your smile is our purpose; we invite you to come back and experience these improvements, will always be looking forward to welcoming you with open arms!

All the best,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second trip to Isla and first stay at the Ixchel. As a group, there were 18 of us in all and only 4 of us had been to the island before. The hotel is beautiful, the location is great, the rooms were comfortable, and most of the staff were great.

My one major complaint has to do with food and drink tabs while sitting poolside. I understand there was a large group of us, but this occurred whether there were 12 of us or 4 of us hanging out by the pool. On more than one occasion various members of our group, including myself, were approached days after cashing out a tab being told that we owed for a drink or a bucket of beers or a shot of this or that. We were all very vigilant about paying tabs and tipping well and verifying that we were all cashed out. Numerous times staff would stop you walking around the resort or just come to your room and say you owed for something that you never even had. When we all would get together and talk about it we would find out that 3 different people in our group paid for the same thing 3 different times. I did not like feeling taken advantage of and other members of our group did not like this aspect of the stay at all and would likely not stay at the Ixchel again for that reason. Again, I understand it was a large group, but when you pay a tab and specifically ask the staff if we are all cashed out and told yes, then that should be the end of it. It is very bad business to come up to people days later asking for payment of something that you didn't even have, and it happened almost daily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclovelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear, aclovelace

Thank you for your valuable review!

Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described while your recent stay with us. Our Guests input is a powerful tool to identify immediate actions to adjust where we need to.

We accept this challenge to improve and look forward to host you back again to be witness of how your comments helped us to provide the best experineces.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We just returned from a week at the Ixchel Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres Mexico. We arranged for a 2 bedroom 3 bath ocean view room with hot tub. When we checked in the 3rd bathroom where the hot tub was located was under construction. We couldn't use hot tub at night because there were no lights available to see enough to walk up the spiral staircase. The light switch was in the bathroom that was under construction. Every day after returning back to room from a fun filled day our keys wouldn't work, so we had to go down to reservation desk to get new keys. Very frustrating. Housekeeping was adaquate and never left fresh towels and washclothes even asking every day for them.

Room Tip: Make sure you verify your room confirmation before getting to location. Higher floor had an awesome ocean view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Rita M

Thank you for your input, your information is highly valued.

Our mission is to serve with quality and commitment in order to deliver the best possible experience to our guests; therefore we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay; such as the room accommodations, room keys and towels issues.

If you may return to Isla Mujeres, please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home; always be looking forward to hosting you in the near future.

All the best,

Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I just returned from my 5th visit to Isla Mujeres and my 4th to Ixchel Beach Hotel. Our penthouse was beautiful and perfect for our girls vaca. We loved the rooftop terrace when we weren't on the beach. Arturo was our server everyday and took amazing care of us! Best server we have ever had while visiting Isla, he is a huge asset and I sure hope he is still there when we return. Lesli sells wraps on the beach and was a joy to meet and buy from, not pushy at all just a kind hard working mother of 2 working hard everyday to take care of her kids. We did have issue with the desk who would not allow us guests in our condo....only registered guests allowed in the unit. The owner has since informed me that indeed we can entertain if we so choose. I give the hotel a thumbs up for everything except front desk. Great location, clean and safe building! I don't like that they take an imprint of your credit card and put it in a folder, seems vulnerable to fraud and very primitive for an otherwise modern facility. I gave them a card that I had replaced so it was no good. I love staying at Ixchel but recommend booking through an owner and not a central reservation source. Remember request Arturo to be your server and buy from Lesli, her Mom will sew a beautiful dress for you from any wrap you choose!

Room Tip: If you book through central reservation you can not choose a location other than penthouse or ocean front. Book VRBO or other site where you can select your unit.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews